We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st trip to Fenway w/the kids”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st trip to Fenway w/the kids”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was my kids 1st trip up to Fenway Park so I wanted it to be kind of special for them. Well it even exceeded my expectations.. We got there about an hour early before check-in and was hoping to get in a little rest before the game. We were greeted by Erica at the front desk and she told us a room was ready on the top floor and that it even over-looked Fenway!! The kids loved it. After a little while in the room, there was a knock at the door, the maintenance people brought up two chairs from Fenway Park which I thought was pretty cool. This went above and beyond any place that I had ever stayed at before. We went to the game, ( an 18-3 trouncing by the Texas Rangers). When we got back to the room I was pleasantly suprised to find out that room service was still available even after 11:00pm!! Beds were great, very comfortable. Everything was great, but the service was superb. Thanks again for the seats Erica!! my kids won't forget their 1st trip to Boston/Fenway.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,414
    681
    140
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,374
1,249
200
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Commonwealth. Our room was gorgeous and comfortable, the staff were welcoming and consistently friendly and helpful. Great location with subway entrance almost next door, trolley tour stop nearby, easy walk to many areas of interest (eg Fenway Park, Boston public library etc and good bars and restaurants nearby (and the two on the premises were great). We would recommend this hotel without reservation.
Also, Boston itself was beautiful: trees were blossoming and bulbs blooming along the streets (early April).
Finally, we travelled from Australia to watch the Celtics play and they won in overtime so a great trip overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Commonwealth for the Fenway 100 year celebration. My dad is one of the alumni for the Red Sox. The manager, Jeff, and all of the staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. My dad uses a walker and they were there for any assistance he needed with luggage, the room, at the restaurant, getting in and out of transportation going to the stadium and the airport, absolutely awesome service!! My kids also came and with that came a 3 yr. old and a 6 wk. old. Everything was there just like we asked, crib for the baby, refrigerator for baby necessities, did not have to ask twice. Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable!!

Room Tip: Very short walk to Fenway, the stadium was the view from our room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are going to a game at Fenway, or simply want an excellent hotel in a great neighborhood, and next to the T, this is the hotel to choose.

But, if you are a fan of Fenway, this is the Only hotel to choose. Make sure to get a window facing the park.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybercpa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston RI
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I cant describe how pleased I was with the service, the room and the whole atmosphere of the area! Easily the best Hotel I have ever stayed at in my life!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Beach, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Commonwealth Hotel. Nestled in the heart of Kenmore Square it's just a few blocks from Fenway Park, but it's the friendly staff more than the location that makes this hotel so special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Co CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I love this hotel, its the only place I will stay when in Boston, friendly staff, the rooms are gorgeous and have all the convinces I need while away from home. all this and a block away from Fenway park what more could you ask for, I was surprised when they knew my name when i checked in, now that's service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,169 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing