We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,568)
Filter reviews
1,568 results
Traveller rating
763
527
180
71
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
527
180
71
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews td garden ruby room the north end portland street faneuil hall quincy market wine hour celtics game boston garden yoga mat the penthouse wine reception complimentary wine walking distance rooms are small government center mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 1,568 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2015

I am conflicted by these boutique hotels. This one was well priced, in a great location coming from the airport (meaning it's a short trip into the city without a lot of headache). Walking distance to Boston's North End and all the great dining there. But the rooms are so small and every flat surface has stuff on it. I have to collect the stuff (glasses/silly pillow with a slogan, etc), find a corner to plop it in order to open my suitcase. The office chair in the room (the only chair) stuck into the very limited walking space, a real tripping hazard. I moved to the only space available, in front of the door. What a mess if I needed an emergency exit! The closet was too small to be functional. Did that tiny room really need a 40+" TV?

It was quiet during our stay, but front desk did say it's much different on weekends.

If I had this trip to do over again, I'd have cabbed to this hotel and rented my car the next day (we were touring New England). Parking rates here were outrageous.

Tip: A very nice restaurant is less than a half mile walk: Grotto. While we didn't eat here this trip, we did last year, and it's excellent. Make reservations, it's tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plumeria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

PlumeriaD

Thank you for the review! Glad to hear you enjoyed our great location. We appreciate the feedback.

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2015

This is a small boutique hotel, been here for 4 days of conference meetings, rooms are nicely deco, beds are comfy, amenities are great, service is good, breakfast is good, location is pretty good, walking distance to all main attractions in downtwon, It will be better if less pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Ellen C,

Thank you for the review! We hope you will visit us again soon!

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2015

This hotel is within walking distance to the TD Garden if you are in town for an event and it is also very close to the North End! The rooms are very nice and modern.. Overall had a great stay. They also offered a cocktail happy hour in the lobby which was nice way to meet new people.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MG3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

MG3030,

Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our great location and wine reception. We appreciate the feedback.

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

We had a very nice stay Saturday night. The rate was expensive because there was a concert at the TD Garden around the corner. The decor and design is great - playful and smart, although the room size is on the small end. Our biggest frustration with space came in the bathroom, where there isn’t enough shelf space. But there was an excellent magnifying mirror, which I always appreciate!
The hotel has two bicycles to borrow, which is a great option since the location is a bit away from most destinations. As noted by others, the valet can take awhile to fetch the car, so call ahead when possible. We enjoyed the complimentary wine upon arrival.
Note that the windows don’t open at all in the guest rooms.
The staff we encountered were all excellent in their attitudes and training. We ate in the lobby “restaurant” although it’s tiny, and a bit crowded. More of a bar and lounge than a proper restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6Continents2toGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

5Continents3toGo,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our decor and design as well as our bicycle program! Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again.

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

I decided to stay at hotel Onyx due to the popularity of the Kimpton Brand. I had never stayed with a Kimpton Hotel before and I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small but very comfortable and unique. I liked the idea of having pumps in the shower to dispense shampoo, conditioner and soap rather than having to ask to be replenished. The onyx is in a good location 5 minutes to the north end 20 min walk to downtown quicker if you take taxi or subway. The only issue I faced was I ordered a IRD order after midnight and after about 45 min I called down looking for it. There was some sort of miscommunication but it was delivered right away being in the industry I understand how these things happen. I would recommend this hotel to anybody here on business or leisure travel I know I will be back.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Traveler02111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Traveler02111,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, great location and bathroom amenities. We hope to see you again!

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews