We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Clean, but it is no 3 star hotel”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Clean, but it is no 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel was booked after BookIT.com cancelled the 3 times confirmed reservation with hotel Buckminister at really good price. The cancellation came less than 3 days before my departure for Boston. Although BookIT.com placed me in an impossible situation, they refused to adjust $150 in charges due to THEIR cancellation of the room that could not be cancelled according to their own policies. In fact, having wasted around 20 hrs of my time, they simply stopped answering my emails. Have never received the name and fax number of their CEO. No answer to my question as of why they advertised Hotel 140 as a 3 star hotel with outrageous daily rates. So, one suggestion I have is that you do not book anything via that despicable web site

As for the Hotel 140, it is a no star hotel, masquerading as a 3 star boutique hotel. It is located on a few floors of the YWCA building, in the very heart of Boston, seconds away from Copley Square. The location is unbeatable. The rest leaves much to be desired. Some of the rooms are quite adequate, while other have no closets or bedside tables, or anything other than a bed. The bathrooms are nice and clean and look like they have been recently remodeled. There are working telephones, small coffeemakers, some rooms have small refrigerators. WI-FI works well. The halls and elevators are singularly unpleasant.

The building has a few floors for low income housing and 3 floors they call "hotel 140".
The laundry machines and snack/drink machines are located at the 5-th floor - the low income housing residences, with predictable consequences - strange looking and acting persons, unpleasant smells, not clean machines. Nothing wrong with any of this, except for the fact of a clearly intended deception. It is no 3 star boutique hotel.

The elevators are working poorly, because they require the room key card. So, going from the 8-th floor to the 5-th floor is a never ending problem.The keys get demagnetized. The "hotel" has no bell boys - one front desk person operates the Hotel floors and the YWCA resident floors.The "hotel" provides NO services. They promise quarters and detergent for the laundry, but do not deliver even that. THREE DAYS in a raw - no quarters, no detergent, promises to have everything the next day, nothing the next day, no apologies. The "restaurant" on the first floor is a take out sandwich place with AWFUL food, overpriced 25 times over, and AWFUL service.

The "hotel" advertises their "unique" rooms, whose uniqueness consists in the presence or absence of mirrors, closets,and the space. My first room was a pencil box size and had no closet and no place to put clothes. It had no space around the double bed. AND IT WAS IMPOSSIBLY HOT. The second room was quite OK. but certainly had nothing to do with a 3 star hotel.

Some of the staff are more helpful than others.Israel was very helpful. If you need any help, look for the Property Manager or the Hotel Manager, try to bypass the floor/Assistant manager. .

It is OK to stay there for a 1-3 nights, if you get an OK rate for a normal size room, and if you do not have to go to the 5-th floor. Do not eat in that "restaurant" at the 1-st floor, if you do not want to get sick, as I did on the day of my flight.

THEIR RATES ARE SIMPLY OUTRAGEOUS FOR MIXED HOUSING "HOTEL". THAT CANNOT HAVE ANY STARS.

The location is very good, of course. And the rooms themselves are very clean

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movingtoEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Miss MovingtoEquador,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel 140 and 40 Berkeley on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to hear that BookIt.com, which is a completely separate 3rd party vendor, experienced some confusion with your stay. That having been said, we are delighted we were able to help accommodate part of your stay, especially during such a busy time in Boston when most hotels had been booked well in advance. Please let me know if you would like me to reach out to Bookit.com on your behalf. I believe you already have my email address from our communication.

We are proud of our Trip Advisor Star rating, which is produced by Expedia and not manipulated by the Hotel at all. We also JUST received our AAA Star rating for 2012. These ratings are standardized across the US and based on anything from amenities to rates to square footage of guest rooms to guest reviews. Also included in the Star-Rating is that each room has some storage options for clothing, all rooms have refrigerators and coffee makers and the excellent security provided by needing your guest room key to operate the elevator.

I am delighted that you enjoyed us so much that you wanted to extend your visit with us. I am so sorry were completely sold out, as we truly would have loved to accommodate your entire visit to Boston.

Warmest Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    851
    326
    122
    71
See reviews for
371
822
213
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights in Hotel 140. It was inexpensive for such a good location.Staff at Reception were friendly and helpful. Lots of memorabilia on view to support its heritage .We loved the photos. Our room was on the 8th floor.We were aware that the rooms were small. But ,that did not upset us. The bathroom was generous,clean and recently renovated.Fresh linen,towels daily. Now, the carpets are of the hardwearing, everlasting kind..so bring your slippers! We asked about a small safe deposit box in the bedroom for storing any valuables,and were told that there was a safe deposit service available at Reception.OK,but we would recommend they put one in each room. Heritage Building-yes but that does not stop the interior design team from having a look at paint colours, and carpets that could transform the look, and step up to boutique standard, and maintain the heritage appeal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABERNADETTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel 140 for 3 nights, purchased our rooms direct and got reasonable prices. The clerk when we arrived was Israel and he was very knowledgeable of the area, recommended some great eats and sights. The rooms are small but very nice, I was there to sleep and shower. A great location for walking to the Boston Commons, Freedom Trail, Shopping on Newberry St, The Theater District or to take in a baseball game.
.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Guest Service Representative at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Traveler ,
I wanted to thank you personally for your most recent stay with us at Hotel 140 in March , 2012. Thanks also for the kind comments made about our hotel and service. We strive every day to provide the service and experience you encountered while visiting Hotel 140. Thanks again for your kind comments and may you have many more happy travels.

Best
Israel Bordoy Jr.
Guest Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the 140 during the "Back Bay Blackout". We were one of the first hotels to get our power back. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of many restaurants or only about 500 yards from a T station if you don't want to walk. The rooms are small but very clean. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it. In fact we have already recommended it to friends going to Boston this summer.

Room Tip: We got a corner room and had more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Wendy B,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am happy to hear that our responsive team helped you feel comfortable and enjoy Boston; despite the Back Bay Black-out. The response of our team members certainly was a testament to their professionalism and dedication to our guests.

We hope to see you again soon!
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I spend a couple of days at the 140; it's great value for its low fares. The hotel seems recently renovated, although everything is simple -no thrills. Staff is friendly and helpful.

My room was very small but had a nice window; the bathroom is also small but quite comfortable for its size. Everything was reasonably clean.

The location is very good, close to Copley Square, the malls and the shops at Boylston and Newbury streets. Complimentary wi fi works fine.

I have no complais for this hotel and think it's a good alternative in Boston considering its price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinAdrogué
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to provide insight on your visit with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting your future visits to Boston.

Warmest Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord NH
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The building appeared to be a former YWCA and had some very cool historic pictures around the hotel. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfertable to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel 140 for five nights when we were in Boston at an academic conference. The staff was courteous, the hotel was clean, and it was much more affordable than other places in the area. We also didn't have to pay in advance to get the low rates, which was our primary reason for booking here. They gave us a free Queen upgrade when we checked in (I'm starting to wonder if they even have full beds there--it seems like the upgrade is standard) and didn't charge for our mini-fridge even though it was supposed to be $25 extra. The hotel was also only a block away from the Back Bay MBTA stop on the Orange Line, which made getting around the city fairly easy.

Unfortunately, we couldn't get wifi on the 8th floor in the evenings (presumably when everyone got back to their room and logged on at the same time) and our ethernet jack didn't work even though they sent up two 'technicians' to look at it. This was a major detractor for us, as it severely limited our ability to work during our stay. There were also some issues with the elevator and our key cards were mysteriously demagnetized every day or two even though we made sure not to keep them next to our cell phones. There also weren't any workout facilities in the hotel (although they're up-front about that on the web site), although we took advantage of a 3-day free pass at the Wang YMCA one MBTA stop over.

All in all, if you don't mind paying twice as much for a hotel (or paying in full a month before your stay), you might want to keep looking. But if you're traveling on a budget and want a friendly, clean place to stay in a decent neighborhood fairly close to everything, Hotel 140 is a decent choice.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor to get a better wifi signal in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riskofdefects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and positive feedback. I am thrilled we were able to provide you a complimentary upgrade and you enjoyed the close proximity to train station and all the fun things in Back Bay. I am also happy you found our staff to be courteous and our rates competitive.

We are committed to continue to provide free internet access to our guests. I am sorry to hear that you had some difficulty with the Wi-Fi and can assure you that this is not a consistent challenge.

Knowing that our guests are very busy, we are always tickled when they take the time to share their experience with other travelers. We hope to welcome you back soon. Please feel free to reach out to me personally for any assistance with your accommodations on your return to Hotel 140.

Sincerely,
Emily A.
eantonelli@maloneyproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,757 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing