We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Urban Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Ranked #74 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Urban Visit”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you wish to see a City full of Architecture, Art, Museums, ride the T to almost all places and walk through the snow this is a good developing site; the development is of the shopping park and local work places, frequented by cats in the giant yards and seagulls still looking for the Port of the Tea Party. The best T however was the train sub, near to Andrew T and with its own bus to the station this Hotel reaches most of Boston, ill supplied with maps and tea in the rooms and decent Planning but filled with built form of each sort of an Architect's dreams, without coordination, but the Big Dig made Boston walkable apart from the tree roots and some of the paved brick that has come apart. Watch your feet for the pieces of metal sticking in the paving in odd places and the litter. Boston needs a Big Vacuum on a large mechanized machine. Machines are large in Boston, that alone makes it a good Boys visit, the white line crossings need care, but if they turn in and run you down as a bookshop lady complained at lunchtime they are liable. The Hotel was large also, the room great, the bed giant, the bathroom well maintained, the plumber very pleasant although we blocked his toilet late Saturday night, the desk people were great, the help in Boston is good, the books and people working charity for children superb. The coffee was American!, the tea absent except in the main concourse, plenty of it, the Hazelnut Milk is great in coffee. Internet OK, relaxation and the Jacuzzi and swim small but very welcome and well maintained. The staff would talk with us that made it great. Very accommodating, I think we were not the easiest customers as first English to land from Somerset ? with questions on simple matters. Breakfast here is booked at table but was great. Wife made and filled herself with Waffle, not her usual trend! This site is fairly new it will become better as companies take over empty sites, the traditional housing around was good, we also saw some coastal and old town, very pretty in summer I expect, we were snowed and poured upon, so felt the pain of cotton millers, but when it was shut for commercial reasons they were earning a much better pay than UK equivalent, so hard work long hours and dangerous to health but in the hey day of USA it would have been high living. However what Union workers actually get from company one knows not. The place is still colonial and very well run by the Mexican and Caribbean work force, African American Indian features are common so one is not completely overrun by Boston finance and high rise, streets wide except in old brick paved. The Hotel was a mine of information of a helpful nature and always there to help with a good smile. However if you go inside Spring Winter take Clothing or Visit Macy's the hotel was well heated but you cannot escape Boston winds and it is dry and desiccating for West Coast English, so after landing buy hand cream, lip salve, plenty to drink, everything is bulk and the rental would be good as they will not allow the wonderful fish slab cooking in the rooms. But stick rigidly with the rules on travel and accommodation, the TSA took the lock off my case, I thought I had been robbed, then left a courteous note inside of a routine check, so I was glad there was no dirty washing, as you can wash everything at this hotel or send it out if you prefer. I took too much but was very glad of the woollens and coat, hats you need hats and gloves, Great visit, thank you. Never saw a Beaver, they obvioulsy have more sense than us English in winter and deserts as the saying goes about the midday sun. Do visit the Muddy. Take a boat trip too. All well set up and wander about with a camera and a pencil, you can draw at Isabella Gardener it is encouraged, they have my eraser my wife "put back" so you can use that too, it is a High Quality Craft shop version for the airplane, which was not as tedious as expected, or buy one of the eraser bears you can find in shops. Visit Red Mango at Hewitt's Cove Hingham, wonderful, even for a boat trip afterward.

Room Tip: Just book they will help with advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHydro2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    244
    75
    35
    22
See reviews for
178
130
29
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Recently spent one night at the Courtyard Boston-South Boston. Selected location because of the FREE parking and proximity to city. My GPS did not recognize address but if you call the hotel they'll give you a different address--Allstate Street.

The hotel is behind a Best Buy and central shopping plaza. There is an Applebees, Panera Bread and Olive Garden at the plaza so you can easily find places to eat or grab a snack. I did use the internet while there and found it to be quick and easy to access. Overall hotel is clean and well maitained. Couch in room was "worn" but for a one night visit that was okay. Excellent option for thrifty travelers seeking a safe, reliable and convenient location while in the Boston area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravWayne_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I chose this location because I have Marriott Rewards. I also chose it because I wanted to go out in Boston with friends for a good time.

This hotel was very accomodating. Greeted with a smile and was helpful when it came to us choosing a place for dinner.

We did hop a cab into the city which was about $20. The front desk called for one for us so all we had to do is walk down and it was there waiting.

The rooms were very clean and spacious. We had adjoining rooms with our rooms which was great. Also the rooms have a great selection for channels on TV. You don't find that at many hotels so this was definitely a bonus.

I would reccomend this hotel if you are looking not to stay right in the city and not be outrageously charged for a room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Free parking, clean, quiet, convenient location. Right off 93. Shuttle to the T every half hour or a 8 minute walk. Alternately stay in downtown Boston for more than double the price and then pay $40 a day to park!

Room Tip: Higher floors = less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were in Boston for college visits and found this hotel through the Marriott website. It was much less expensive than any of the other Marriott Hotels, even those that were farther away. The hotel is right off the I-93, and easily accessible from the highway. It is set back a little from the noise and we did not hear any traffic noise that night. Another bonus for Boston hotels, FREE PARKING onsite! The hotel is new, well maintained and very clean. There is an indoor pool and a fitness center. There is a little food and drinks kiosk and a bar on the main floor. Breakfast is not included but is a pretty good value. Full cooked buffet for $12.95. The rooms are clean and fairly large. Queen beds, not doubles. We happened to get a handicap accessible room, so the bathroom was very roomy. As far as little details. Electrical outlets were all very well placed for easy reach. There is a minifridge and a coffee maker with supplies in the room. There is an iron and a hair dryer. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4infamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I am someone who travels a lot for work. Typically Marriot is one of my first choices but this one could seriously use some updating.

Pro's : Comfy nice beds, clean rooms friendly service

Cons: No bar or restaurant) optional delivery but it's overpriced and passe. The Manual in the hotel says complimentary shuttle service to airport. Its actually 5 dollars. The bath faucet poured out yellow brown water and when I complained I got told it was a city thing"

* there is a swimming pool. It was 4 feet and probably could hold about 5 adults at most. Hot tub was broken. For what I paid... next time I will go elsewhere in Boston.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtravelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#64 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston-South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Property: Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Address: 63R Bolton St, Boston, MA 02127-1105
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston-South Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*GPS USERS USE 7 ALLSTATE ROAD, BOSTON MA 02125. The new state-of-the-art Courtyard South Boston provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests, featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel & easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our location in “Southie” is located 4 miles from Logan International Airport (BOS), 2 miles from the city center and a heartbeat away from Boston attractions including Fenway Park, TD Bank North Garden, Freedom Trail and Quincy Market. We offer shuttle service to and from Logan Airport for an additional fee of $5.00 per person each way. For other options, Andrew Square Station is within walking distance and 3 stops from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Boston-South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston-South Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing