We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy 4 Star Hotel attached to convention center. Quite Nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Busy 4 Star Hotel attached to convention center. Quite Nice.”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This Westin is a well maintained 4 star property. We booked multiple rooms 9 months in advance for Graduation Weekend. The hotel was completely sold out, but did not feel cramped. Directly adjacent to the convention center, it is loaded with business travelers during the week and there were lots of proms and such during this spring weekend. Our rooms were booked through Hotwire and we got an amazing rate of about $150/night, which was a great deal! The hotel was clean and modern. Front desk lines were often long and we seemed to have some issues with our room keys on more than one occasion, but all in all the place was Avery nice!

We were placed on the 12th floor and had Starwood Preferred rooms. Beautiful view of the city and although not actually on the waterfront, we could see sail boats on the water each morning. Bathrooms had a great double shower head and LOTS of water pressure. They offer things to be more environmentally sound, like no linen changes, using only 1 of the shower heads and small ergonomically shaped soaps. The nice part is that if you care... You are free to indulge in these environmentally friendly options. If you do not care... You can choose to have a normal, 4 star experience. Kind of like choosing to put your kid in cloth diapers, while everybody else uses the comfy diaper rash reducing absorbent disposables! Just for the record, I am of the disposable sect, but love the pro choice options!!!

Back to the hotel...when you step off the elevator, there is this lovely, fresh almost spa like scent. There is a bar and seating in the lobby and Internet stations with power and free wifi... Lobby only! There is also a separate bar and an Irish pub. The pub is sort of a glorified TGIFridays, but if you get into the hotel late, it is right there and Oh So convenient!!!!

Now one thing to keep in mind while staying at higher end hotels that are procured at a highly reduced rate (or even if you stay there at full price): All the fabulous amenities and services that the hotel can and will supply come at a very high cost! If you wish to park at this hotel and frankly, there is no other option, it will set you back $34 for self park and $43 for valet per night. Keep in mind, you do have in and out privileges. If you would like to have breakfast in the hotel restaurant which is lovely and open for breakfast and lunch (during the week heavy business crowd, weekends, pretty empty - I guess the business people are the only ones that can afford to eat here)... It will set you back $24 for the buffet. If you are there at 8am it is very fresh and has a lovely selection. Includes your juice and coffee and they have fruit smoothies, as well. If you get there later... Not as fresh, but they will bring out more food if you ask. We got the buffet because we were in a hurry and it cost 0ver $200 for 8 of us. If you want to add pancakes or waffles it is just a few dollars more. We ordered ala carte for 4 of us this morning and 2 buffets and it was only $125 before tax and tip. My daughter had 2 hard boiled eggs and some fruit. Anyway, you see where this is going. Wifi in the room has a charge... I believe about $13/day for up to 3 devices. We could never get it to work. I think our computers blocked it. Our fault, not theirs.

There was no charge for the gym, which is located on the mezzanine level. Nice facility plenty of equipment in good working order and it all appeared clean. There is a running concierge that will leave messages in your room about scheduled group runs she is hosting the following morning. You can just press 2 if you are not interested in hearing about it and the red flashing light on your phone will stop.

This hotel' location is a little off the beaten path. You really can't walk to anything of relevance. You will either need to take a cab or drive. If you drive and don't pay to park in a lot... You will probably a end up with a $40 parking ticket.

Once you get acclimated to the hotel and it's location, you should be very pleased. With the right expectations, as with anything else.... The place is great.

And one last thing... If you need a cot, they have the nicest cots I have ever seen. They appear to be full twin mattresses made up with great bedding that they just wheel in and drop down like a murphy bed. Just remember to ask for pillows and know that fire code will only allow them in the king bedded rooms. Rooms with 2 doubles can not have them!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Starwood preferred floor or facing the entrance of the hotel for a beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank battgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for providing such a detailed review of our property. I was delighted to read your comments and I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    976
    362
    111
    66
See reviews for
379
552
149
1,218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a huge hotel with good facilities for hosting conferences. Depending on which direction you face, you could have a good view of the city or the water. Short walking distance to the waterfront. However, it's not quite in downtown and will need a short bus trip. Nice bar and pub in the hotel that serves pretty decent pub food. The rooms were nice and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemVanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, Uruguay
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

i will keep it simple and to the point,this hotel was okay nothing special but for the price i wont be back,no free internet and construction was going on in the lobby and maintenance was rude..even little things matter with hotel stays and this stay had way to many little things go wrong to add up to a bad review

Room Tip: make sure everything in room is in working order
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vicky e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read your comments but do appreciate your honesty. We tried our best to minimize the disruption to our guests during our Birch Bar renovation project and that was challenging but I do think the end result will please our future guests. With that being said, I hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves. We would welcome the opportunity to provide a more enjoyable experience for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Nothing to complain about at all. The staff were friendly and professional, with the online deal we found the hotel was a good value and in a good location. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Excellent service, and nice location. Connected to the convetion center, but also quality conference facilities in-house. Location is also just a couple of blocks from nice restaurants on the harbor. Above average bedding and bat facilities. I particularly enjoyed their "heavenly shower" which consisted of a double shower head - very nice.

Overall, a very upscale business hotel near the Boston harbor front area. A short 10 minute can ride from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our property. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here on business in downtown Boston. The room was spacious, clean and had a great view of the harbor. the room was very client, never heard any noise from the hallway. The concierge was very helpful in helping me secure Boston Red Sox tickets an hour before first pitch.
The convention center was connected to the Westin. There was a convention going on during my stay which I was not associated with. There is a nice bar/restaurant located in the Westin. Also, it wasn't too difficult finding taxi transportation from the Westin to downtown Boston or to Fenway Park. The cab ride to Fenway was around $24 with tip. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our property. I hope we have the opportunity to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Westin is certainly making a concerted effort to go green and still provide a first-rate experience for its guests. The water supply is more limited (but still sufficient) and the soap is more like a delicate palm leaf, so that you use more and waste less. Everything seems more efficient and effective. There was a nice economy of means. I applaud their efforts to promote sustainability. It is clearly a good way to go without cutting back on the amenities.

Room Tip: I cannot know that since I was on the 14th floor and have only been there once. You might want a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. We have a dedicated team here at The Westin Boston Waterfront and it is their mission to continue to look for solutions to encourage sustainability. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,634 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#66 of 83 in Boston
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#61 of 83 in Boston
122 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing