We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect place for attending a BCEC conference, except for the internet service & restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Perfect place for attending a BCEC conference, except for the internet service & restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at the Westin for a week for a conference held at the BCEC. Overall, I was impressed by this Westin except for two near-fatal flaws.

First, the good stuff -- Upon check in, I was greeted pleasantly by the staff. I had to drop off several items for my group to pick up when they checked in, and the staff was very helpful with this.

I booked a small suite since I knew my group would be having several closed-door meetings. What was nice about this was that the parlor was completely separate from the bedroom, so there could be meetings in the parlor while I could do work in my room without being disturbed.

The view from the room wasn't particularly pleasant--parking lots and the side of the convention center--but for the type of room it was and the price paid, it was nice.

Housekeeping did a nice job at keeping the parlor area tidy after each meeting. I would call down once the meeting was finished and they would be up within 10 minutes to service the room. I tipped them for each trip, because they were efficient in turning the room around. It wasn't that my group was sloppy (the room seated six max), it was the coffee cups, bathroom, and room service dishes that needed to be taken care of.

Room service was exceptionally fast--I never had to wait longer than 20 minutes for my meal, although I ordered very simple items. The Irish Pub had decent food and shared the menu with the City Bar. Both had good service and good food.

The Birch Bar was either closed for renovations or cordoned off for a private event. Keep in mind when there is a large convention in town, the City Bar and Birch Bar can be bought out by groups and will not be able to serve the general customers. This is in the Seaport/Waterfront District, so there's really not much within close walking distance. Restaurants like LTK, Morton's, Salvatore's and Legal Seafood are a good 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Now, the bad news.
I had lunch and breakfast at Sauciety, which is the main hotel restaurant. Wow. What a disappointment. They turn the restaurant over at 11:30 AM from breakfast to lunch. There was a group of six people patiently waiting at 11:30 AM to be seated. The hostess blatantly ignored them, ignored me when I tried to flag her down, and ignored two other guests. I know the restaurant is busy changing linens over or whatever, but all the hostess had to do was ACKNOWLEDGE us and we would have been happy. She went out of her way to ignore us. When we tried to flag down the rest of the staff--they refused to make eye contact and scurried away. Insulting, to say the least. When they finally had the restaurant set (which was at 11:45 AM), the hostess and staff deigned to speak to us. Several of us were concerned that the restaurant was fully booked for lunch (they accept reservations, it was the peak convention day, and there were several tables already marked reserved), which was why we were trying to get their attention. I mentioned it to the person who dropped me off at the bar and she refused to respond.

Why I went back here for breakfast is beyond me, except that I was hungry and I had a long flight ahead of me. The buffet is expensive and the waitress was clearly unhappy that I didn't want the buffet. I placed my order, asking for the breakfast potatoes to be cooked without the bell pepper. She said it couldn't be done.

As a veteran of full-service hotel restaurants, I know this isn't true. The potatoes were deep fried and the peppers were added at the end; they weren't cooked together like a hash. She still claimed the restaurant couldn't make it without the peppers. Disappointed, I ordered the small salad and got grief for daring to ask to have the cucumber held. While her service was slow (getting refills on my tea was painful), she was super-quick with the bill. Upon departing, I addressed the hostess about the whole potato thing and she just blew me off.

Finally -- the internet issues. The hotel's servers were down repeatedly throughout my stay, which made working a huge challenge. After speaking with the front desk on the phone, followed by their off-site help desk (which makes no sense having someone offsite to service internet on property, but I digress), they finally said it was an issue with the hotel. Knowing I was being charged $13/day for it, I went down to the desk, asked to have the internet refunded, and asked when they thought the 'net should be back up. No one knew.

What was worse was that the Westin sent automated calls about their Westin Workout, but failed to do so when their internet went down. C'mon, people. All you needed to do was leave a message that the 'net was down, how long you estimated it to be down, and viola! I would have been much happier if I didn't have to keep calling people to get my 'net to work.

Will I stay here again? If I have an event at the BCEC, you can't beat the Westin for convenience. However, I think overall the Renaissance and Seaport hotels are better deals and have more restaurants in the immediate vicinity than the Westin.

Room Tip: High floor facing the harbor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I'm terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations with regard to your restaurant and internet experience. This is certainly not typical of the type of quality customer service we strive to provide daily. If you would be kind enough to contact me via email at donna.frechette@westin.com or by telephone at
617-532-4863, I would appreciate it. I would like to get a better understanding of what happened so that we can improve our services where necessary. I look forward to hearing from you and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future so that we can provide a more enjoyable experience for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    929
    342
    106
    62
See reviews for
360
535
140
1,147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,505 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

This westin was nicely located. The rooms were just average nothing special at all. The value wasn't good in comparsion of price to other hotels in the same price range. I would rather stay at the Boston W for the same price. This seems like a hotel that caters towards more business than pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I decided to take an overnight road trip to Boston. Since I had never been, I let Hotels.com choose the place and I'm glad I did! The convention center was very busy but the valet noticed me immediately and had me at check in within a minute. I checked in early and no one sighed and rolled their eyes like I've experienced at other hotels. Instead they graciously upgraded me to a harbor view and got me enrolled in the SGP rewards program. Room service was less than a 15 minute wait and I appreciate when I don't have to stop by the front desk to check out. The rooms were clean, the shower was great... I'll be booking with Westin for my upcoming stay in Hawaii because of the great service in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csegura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our property and for choosing The Westin Boston Waterfront as your hotel of choice while in Boston. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a very nice hotel just outside of Downtown Boston. The price was much lower than what we would have paid for this type of hotel if it were right in downtown. It was just a short walk over the bridge to get into downtown. The hotel is only a short walk from the Silver line which will take you to the airport or connect you with the other subway lines that run through the city. Our room was very nicely appointed. We had a view of the harbor and could see jets landing at Logan Airport. Other than the hotel restaurants, there were not many really close by. We had to walk 10-15 minutes to find restaurants (maybe we just walked in the wrong direction). There must have been an 8th grade field trip staying at the hotel because the pool was filled with young screaming teens. We did however, enjoy the pool the next afternoon when the tween crowd was gone. The concierge was helpful when we inquired about directions to get to different sites in Boston.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandfun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistnat at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
I would to take this opportunity to thank you for providing such positive feedback about your experience and hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked this with an online deal to be close to our daughter who lives in South Boston. It was very very nice. Clean,nicely decorated with a professional staff. They upgraded us to a city view room which was great.
Close to seaport attractions and amazingly quiet for a city hotel.
You won't be disappointed booking this property!

Room Tip: Request city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nealo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Westin room was very nice. We found very nice souvenirs in the gift shop including local artists. Food was good in the Irish pub restaurant. We had a Saturday lunch. Service was not prepared for all the graduations going on downtown. More patrons than the servers could handle efficiently.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattressMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I had dinner with international colleagues in the lounge. The atmosphere was terrific. Most importanyly our server Loraida was delightful. She guided us through the evening while maintaining a high level of tact. She made wonderful seggestions, made us most comfortable and most importantly controling the pace so that we could have a productive andenjoyable meeting/dinner.

My hat's off to her. Thanks for hiring her.

Regards,
Rob Mainiero

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for a great review and for recognizing Zoraida at Birch Bar. She is a great asset to the team and we are happy to have her. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#61 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Starwood, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing