We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food, great restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toro

Toro
Ranked #57 of 3,140 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South End
Description: Toro is a Barcelona-style tapas restaurant located in Boston's South End. We serve traditional and modern Spanish-style small plates made with locally sourced and sustainable ingredients. Toro is owned and operated by James Beard Award-winning Chefs Ken Oringer & Jamie Bissonnette.
W. Newbury, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had read the reviews and Toro sounded like it would be great if we could get in the door. We arrived early and had no problem getting in. As it is Restaurant week, the tables were all reserved for the special meal, so we sat at the bar which was great to. Beers and wine were good and very reasonably priced. We had a few dishes, but the almond filled dates were unbelievable! The griddled garlic shrimp were out of this world good too! Perfect size portions and very fair prices. The bartender was helpful and very friendly too. I would highly reccommend Toro!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cwile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    125
    44
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Great Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We found this place based on a recommendation from a local and he couldn't have been more right. The house specialty is grilled corn with queso and it was delicious. From there it was a nice treat of acorn fed Iowa Pork, which was just as good as Iberico pork from Spain. If you can get in for dinner great, but lunch on the sidewalk with a couple of house cocktails is a winner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GregRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very unique and amazing food, can be a long wait... but absolutely worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The food at Toro is by far the most unique and tastiest food in the South End (at least, by my standards). The menu changes, but always has new and interesting selections. The small plates give you the chance to try so many different items on the menu, especially when you with a group. Unfortunately, if you come at peak hours, the wait can be long... but if you have the time, trust me, it's worth it : )

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarieC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the tapas, drinks, and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place is tucked away in the South End. It's a small place so it can be difficult to find seating without waiting, though if it's nice they'll put some tables outside. They make great drinks and have a pretty good wine selection. The tapas are amazing. The patatas bravas were delish, as was the Spanish tortilla and the bread, but I really LOVED the maiz (corn). Amazing flavoring and their aioli is terrific. Such a fun place to meet with friends and a fun date spot to pretend you're on vacation abroad for an evening. Only downside is that it can be on the more expensive side.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HaileyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect for groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Delicious tapas, great bar service. Very "social" vibe going on, especially in the summer. Be prepared for huge crowds.

Helpful?
Thank walls2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toro also viewed

 

Been to Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing