We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abhorrent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I had a ridiculous experience at the Four Seasons Boston during my last stay. The service was abhorrent and I will never stay here again for that reason.

The hotel was notified ahead of time of my arrival time, but yet when I arrived, it took quite a while to check in as the front desk person stalled and delayed and went in the back twice before assigning me a room.

I awoke quite early to catch a flight and I find at 5:30am that the shower does not work. I had to leave and thus had no time to call for repairs. The explanation I received for the delay in checking in was that there was a "large international delegation" that departed later than expected. Check out time is noon approximately, and I checked in after 6:00pm. It is not acceptable to wait 20 minutes to be checked into a five star hotel, nor to be unable to use the most basic of facilities.

I won't be staying here again.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank DD196960713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and this time I brought my granddaughter. When the luggage was brought to the room the young man said "hi Tiara" as he had been told her name. The look on her face was worth a million. There is no hotel that I have stayed at where the staff are more attentive, yet low key. They are genuinely friendly and make you feel like you belong. I am far from wealthy but this hotel is worth the extra expense. The location is superb, room service is top notch and the Bristol is a relaxed dining room where you can dress casual and eat from a great menu.

Room Tip: The Boston Commons side of the hotel affords you great views and is worth the $170 upgrade from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackbow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our staff does its utmost each day to ensure that all our guests feel at home – and special – while they are here, so we’re delighted Tiara experienced just that! What a special getaway with your granddaughter, and we’re happy you both enjoyed the Hotel’s location and food. We hope you were able to try a few of our Bristol Lounge specialties (and desserts!) also hope that you’ll have the chance to return in the future; it would be a pleasure to host you and Tiara once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is currently the ONLY five star hotel in Boston...and it certainly lives up to that. Staff is superb, pleasant and caring. Made me feel like royalty...I only live 30 minutes from the hotel and had the chance to spend the weekend. Had an in room massage. I have had better massages, at least I tried it. Wasn't awful, but not terrific. Breakfast was GREAT both days. I did lunch and dinner outside of hotel. GREAT nights sleep, GREAT atmosphere in the lounge. Great location to walk around the city. I can not wait to go back!! Next time I will take my two children. They are also very welcome.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Boston Common, you will be very pleased :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thanks so much for your feedback. We’re elated you had a wonderful time and liked our Four Seasons mattresses (the best!) as well as The Bristol Lounge. We’re disappointed however that your massage was not as amazing as it should have been (EVERY massage should be incredible!). If you're comfortable sharing details, we’d love to hear - please email pr.boston@fourseasons.com. We're so glad you're planning to bring your children back for a visit and encourage you to look into the Kid-Kation package, which includes fun-filled amenities such as a visit from the Ice Cream man and backpacks filled with games. Thank you again - we hope to see your family soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

From the luxurious accomodations to the extraordinary staff who are genuine in making you feel welcome, the Four Seasons is the best hotel choice for Boston.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Best part is the location: diagonally across the Boston Commons and stone's throw from Newbury Street.

Second best part: The service, as I have seen with other Four Seasons hotels worldwide, probably better! Compared to my not-so-great experiences with other hotel chains in New York/ LA etc, this experience thanks to the staff being so hospitable and caring, left me thinking why it is so difficult to find such wonderful hospitality elsewhere in the States!

Rooms are spacious and comfortable with clean bathrooms. Could be better but I'd be willing to overlook that given that the above two positives more than compensate for that.

I'd definitely stay here again whenever I am back in Boston.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Park side as that has a great view of the Public Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1lifetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Sincere thanks for your feedback. We’re so pleased you were able to take advantage of our location near to the city’s best attractions – and also to experience service just as it should be: exceptional, caring and memorable. All of us at Four Seasons Boston are filled with pride to work here and to serve our wonderful guests, and we’re so happy to know that our pride shows. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel and Boston once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Time for a facelift. The rooms are dark, tired and dated...carpeting is worn, bathrooms are blah and the public areas look like they did when the place opened. Spa is currently under construction and hopefully the gym is on the list for a re-do as well. In it's favor, Boston doesn't have much in the way of luxury hotels (sans the new Mandarin), so it continues to fill up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has recently been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

but I was surprised that the furniture in the suite was worn and dirty. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful, which was really what made the stay so nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We’re disappointed to learn that your suite wasn't as perfect as it should have been. We pride ourselves not only on exceptional service, but also on maintaining pristine facilities, thus we take your comments very seriously. We do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to impress you – we're confident we will; we want each and every guest to leave with solely happy memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,959 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,962 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $739 - $1,353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing