We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was a birthday surprise for my girlfriend, since we couldn't get away, I decided on a staycation. We arrived at The Four Seasons and to say the least she was "shocked" when the doorman opened the door and asked if she was checking in. Her reply was "I don't know", but we were and for the next two days, all was perfect! Check in was a breeze and we were upgraded because of my AMEX card, which includes a number of amemities. Our Executive Suite was wonderful, two rooms with a view (4th floor) of the Public Gardens, amazing, amazing view. I had called the hotel the day before to have a dozen roses in the room and they were beautiful (Winston's). Two minutes after arriving in the room the door bell rang (yes, a door bell) and a server brought in a birthday plate, a small dessert with a birthday greeting. Everywhere we went in the hotel you are greeted by name and the answer to every request is yes. Drinks in the Bristol lounge were great and the bartender was better (sorry forgot his name) great conversation about the changes in the bar business.

That evening we decided on room service and we had to try the Bristol Burger, we have had them a long time ago at the bar, but room serivce can be tricky. Not here they arrived on time and as ordered. Mine med-rare and hers medium. they were fantastic, the fries awesome. as we ate we marveled at how they arrived at perfect temp from room service when some restaurants can't do it from kitchen to dining room.

Room service breakfast was wonderful, the food , the view, the champagne, Yes! Later that day, my girlfriends actual birthday another birthday treat arrived a dessert with a birthday wish. We decided to have her birthday dinner at the Bristol Lounge and it was superb. Though it didn't start that way. The restaurant was busy and we were seated at a banquette with a "gentleman" with a voice that suggested he was sitting next to you, as I looked around our wonderful server suggested a different table, Thank you. From there dinner was wonderful, the short ribs fantastic and my young ladies filet excellent. Another birthday dessert arrived at the table with her name on it. A great meal, a great server, a great restaurant.

Wednesday was check out and back to the real world, for me it was early packing everything and the bellman packing the roses (great job, thanks). My Love was able to stay for a few extra hours with late checkout and the hotel car to get her to work. She used the gym every day and loved the staff and space.

Four Season's prides itself in customer service and they rarely fail! A great stay in a great property with a staff that cares about it's guests. For a special occasion make it The Four Season's

Room Tip: Check your Credit Card rewards program, AMEX Gold or Platinum have great amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishcurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful note. We're delighted that your girlfriend had such a special birthday - what better surprise than a memorable staycation? We know how much effort goes into planning a surprise, so we applaud YOU - and are also ecstatic to hear what a fantastic stay you both had, start to finish. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your guest room and amenity, and also pleased that you loved The Bristol Lounge and Room Service too (we agree: the truffle fries are amazing!). We're also so happy that your girlfriend was able to relish each second, from a workout in the gym to all the extra staff touches. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and love nothing more than when our guests experience just that. We can't thank you enough for choosing Four Seasons Boston to celebrate this happy time, and we hope that every stay with us, whether for a special occasion or simply a night away, is equally incredible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Four Seasons is located right in the heart of many things in Boston. Exit the front door for great shopping and dining. The food service is stellar - breakfast was tasty and timely, room service was lovely. Beds are so very comfortable and the windows slightly open, allowing for fresh air which is very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view - beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thanks so much for your review. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed The Bristol Lounge and Room Service food – we have an amazing culinary team here that never ceases to amaze us! We hope you had the chance to take advantage of our central location and all that Boston has to offer. Spring in Boston is a fun, not to mention beautiful, time of year, particularly right in our front yard, the Public Garden. Thank you again from all of us for sharing your feedback - we're delighted that you had such a great stay at Four Seasons Boston and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel in Boston. The hotel couldn't have been better. We had perfect walking access to most everything we wanted to see and do in Boston. We rented a car from the rental place just behind the hotel for everything we wanted to do that was just out of reach. The hotel staff was full of great recommendations and friendly attitudes. We worked out in their top quality workout facility and had a dinner at their restaurant where the wait staff couldn't have been more friendly. It was a perfect hotel stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

We’re delighted that your family had, in your words, a perfect stay stay at Four Seasons Boston - and we can't thank you enough for sharing your experience with us! We're beyond proud of our wonderful team here and so pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable. We’re also delighted to hear that you took advantage of our central location from which to explore all that Boston and our surroundings have to offer (which is so much!). And we love that you had time to enjoy The Bristol Lounge and our Fitness Center too, just as we hope all our guests are able to do. Thank you again - we’re over the moon that your family had such a wonderful visit - it's what we hope for each and every one of our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed for the 2012 marathon. I've stayed in my share of multi-star hotels and this was absolutely the best hotel experience my family has ever had. The staff went far beyond normal customer service. The hotel was excellent and the food service was exceptional. My son has food allergies and the chefs and wait staff were more than accommodating with special orders. The staff even lined up in the lobby on race day to congratulate the runners as the entered the building. I will definitely be staying at the Four Seasons Boston next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

What a memorable review; thank you. We're thrilled that you experienced exceptional customer service during your stay. We recognize how hard it can be to travel with food allergies, and our Chef has crafted special allergy menus to ensure that every guest feels comfortable and cared for. We’re so happy your visit was during the Boston Marathon (such a fun time in the city) and also witnessed our “Staff Cheering Squad.” We love supporting all the amazing runners, and we can’t wait to do it again in 2013. We also look forward to welcoming your family back as well – thank you for choosing Four Seasons Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Always a great place to stay in Boston. Although I miss Aujourd 'hui, the second floor restaurant.

Room Tip: try to bargain for a view of the garden or at least not too far from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourEasyPieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Perfection! We really enjoyed the location with our rooms overlooking the public gardens. And all the usual four seasons wonders are definitely present at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

One of the best four seasons I have stayed at! definitely more homely feel to it. Stayed there for work, and a short time, but the service was perfect, and their breakfast is great. Definitely will stay there next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_road_house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re thrilled that the service was perfect – just as it should be. Power breakfasts in The Bristol Lounge are always a treat - we agree! We enjoy the healthy options but also splurge occasionally on signature dishes like the Crab Cake Benedict. Looking forward to welcoming you back again; we hope each stay is equally as wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,959 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,962 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $739 - $1,353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing