We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Omni Parker House for a long weekend and were so disappointed with this hotel. We booked using Priceline and what a huge mistake. We've always agreed with Pricelines interpretation of 5 star, 4 star, etc. But not this time. What a joke! As many others have noted on here, the rooms are not only small, they're rediculously small. To make matters worse, my husband had a broken leg, so had a cast and there was no way he'd be able to sleep in the full sized bed, as it was pushed up again the wall and using his crutches was a real challenge in that room. I called down to the front desk and asked if there was any way we could get a room that could accomodate someone in crutches. I was told they were completely booked and nothing could be done. The hotel didn't appear full, so I called the hotel directly on my cellphone and was told they DID have rooms available. Hmm... so I called back down and explained that when I called the reservation line, was told there were rooms available. I then got the sales pitch that others have posted on here also received----they could upgrade us for $50/night. The response was literally VERBATIM from what others have posted on here. They must have a script for the complaints from the Priceline users. My husband finally took over the call and was finally able to get us moved to a room that could accomodate someone with crutches without us having to pay the $50/night. Very disappointing that we were lied to about the hotel being full and that we had to go through THAT much frustration to get a room that could accomodate someone with a broken leg! We literally wasted 1 hour dealing with that. A real 4 star hotel would have never put their guests through that hassle.

The room we finally received was small, but at least two people could move in it without one person having to sit on the bed. And, my husband could get in/out of the bed with his cast. The hotel needs some repair...the ceiling plaster was coming down in our bathroom and the walls are really, REALLY thin. During our stay, the police arrived at 1am to escort some young ladies from a guest room near us that were hysterically crying. Again, not what you'd expect from a 4 star.

The beds were comfortable, free internet (if you sign up for the loyalty program) and the location is fantastic. Right on the Freedom Trail

I wouldn't use caution if using Priceline to book a hotel in Boston, as it appears this one is awarded frequently. Probably the only way they can fill the tiny, tiny rooms. Not all rooms are small though. If you're willing to pay the full price, you could get a regular sized room. But, it's not worth the gamble and there are LOTS of other hotels in the area that are simply fabulous. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We regret that this Priceline customer was dissatisfied wiht their stay with us but would like to mention that they did recieve the room type promised when they made their booking. We were full when they were with us but were willing to upgrade their room for a fee to accomodate their special needs, even though this required us to downgrade another guest. We have ceased accepting Priceline reservations for the time being in order to avoid future disappointments for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,423
    2,380
    988
    414
    205
See reviews for
1,680
2,415
396
1,836
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The welcome at this hotel was excellent, the staff couldn't have done more to make our great stay perfect. Very clean and beautiful surroundings, loved it, would go back again and again, Rebecca and the rest of the team should be proud of themselves the customer service was brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had two nights here and it was good. We only slept in the hotel and never used the bar or restaurant.

Small bed and no free Wi-Fi.

The building although clean and well maintained is very old with lots of period features. The front desk looked original and the lifts had those old fashioned ornate doors with the dial indicating the floor stops.

Check in was great and the staff were friendly. If I could give a tip to the hotel it would be to offer a map indicating where the hotel is at check in especially when guests are clearly tourists. The concierge was very welcoming and gave us all the details we needed.

The first room we checked into had no mobile signal so we phoned down and got moved up 6 floors to the 8th floor where we had phone signal and a really great view of the city. Would've been better to have been offered this clearly better room first off but hey ho, the exercise humping the cases round did us good. As I said above the double bed was small. Smaller than our standard double at home which wasn't ideal but we were only there a couple of nights.

The location is fab, a short walk to Quincy Market and the main town area. There is a Walgreens nearby for any provisions.

Quincy Market is great, like a big food court but quality stalls selling everything and anything with an interesting communal point to tuck in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wesford
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We arrived at the Parker House at 2:40 Pm. They offered us a queen bed room if we wanted to check in then. We had reserved a king room which they said was not ready yet. Our room was ready at 3 PM the advertised check-in time. The room was lovely. It was nicely decorated with all the amenities we would need for one night. The room was compact but nicely furnished. We had a view of an alley. My only complaint about the property was the noise. There was lots of hall noise. Banging doors, children playing (across the hall) and people talking as they walked to their rooms. The rooms seem soundproofed room to room, but not from the hall doors and the noises we heard were enough to keep my husband from having a good night sleep. If you are a light sleeper bring a noise machine or ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opal_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

was one of the worst hotel experiences in boston. was given a room as big as a shoebox, bathroom was actually bigger than bedroom. was more of an employee room than a guestroom. felt neither comfortable nor welcome....

hotel was fully booked so i assume they just but guests in whatever they had...
paid full rate which was actually insane for what i got...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

A stunning hotel when you enter. Nice restaurants, good facilities (shops bars, gym etc). The only real issue was on the guest floors, the decor does not seem to have been updated in ages. Bed rooms were very tired. However, if you get a good price, defintely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Get rooms well away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
striper08008
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at Parker house one night for Boston Seafood Show. The location was perfect close to everything. Room was fine a little small, walls are a little thin but overall room was nice. We were able to get a great deal on a room through travelzoo, would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank striper08008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,578 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,993 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing