We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay - very warm!”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nice hotel. Historic ambiance. Weekend stay could have been better if the A/C was working!!! Blast!!! Overall recommendation....but not in hot weather.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polynikes41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

I apologize that our AC unit was not working properly. It does not state whether you contacted our Front Desk to relocate you to another room or send our engineering team up to fix the issue. Our staff continuously strives to provide exceptional service to guests such as yourself, and I hope that you will give the Omni a second chance on your next stay in Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,719)
There are newer reviews for Omni Parker House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,934 - 5,940 of 7,719 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at the Omni Parker House for three nights in April 2012. The hotel has a great location for visiting all the downtown historic sites, just half a block to the Freedom Trail and a couple of minutes walk from Boston Common and Chinatown.
We're great fans of historic hotels, but the Parker House is definitely overdue for serious renovation. The building has great historic potential, but mostly seemed dark and rather dingy rather than atmospheric. The lighting in the lobby and dining room was beyond subdued and the hallways beige and institutional.
Since we were travelling with two children we had booked a suite with a sofa-bed. The room itself was fine,nothing fabulous, fairly small. The bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom however was tiny and cheaply decorated - the mirror seemed to be made of polystyrene and the fixtures just utilitarian.The wallpaper was peeling and the hairdryer would definitely not pass European safety standards.
As previous reviewers have mentioned, the walls are very thin and you can hear everyone coming and going down the hallway. The air conditioner was very noisy, and kept turning on and off with a loud clunk, and a noise like a pneumatic drill, which I can only assume was from plumbing upstairs, would wake us up at 4am.
Service was spotty. The first night it took housekeeping 90 minutes to bring pillows for the sofa bed so the kids could go to sleep and only on the first night was there a card to put on the door to order coffee for the morning. When things did arrive, everyone was very cheerful and helpful, but it was not what one expects from a so-called "luxury hotel".
Breakfast is served in the Parker Restaurant. You can order from the menu or serve yourself from a buffet. The buffet was fine, not fabulous, with a decent choice but lacking the little touches that would have made it stand out - why for example, were the croissants stone cold? . The waiters were very cheerful and personable and there is a chef who will make omelettes to order.
Since we were out doing touristy stuff, the hotel was fine, especially since we paid a business rate for the room. It was definitely not a place to feel pampered.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0mble63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Our hotel is located along the Freedom Trail, and has even been incorporated into the Freedom Trail Tours because of our historic nature. We completed a $30 million renovation in 2008 to the hotel’s interior and exterior. Our recently renovated guest rooms blend the authentic decor of the past with contemporary amenities. Our lobby area is fully furnished with new upholstery, new carpets, the original bronze elevator doors, and is always impeccably decorated with fresh floral arrangements and refreshments for our guests to enjoy. We would like to comment for future guests reading this review that there is not a single aspect of our hotel that is dark and dingy or beyond subdued.

In your review you mentioned that you booked a suite; either our Executive or Premier suites. All online reservations channels such as Expedia, Booking.com, and OmniHotels.com does state the square footage of each room type so guests are well aware of what they are purchasing. If this room type did not meet your needs, our Front Desk would have been more than happy to help you.

We do apologize for the delay in the pillows arriving to your room; this is a very busy time for all hotels in Boston and we do try to be as timely as we can. As you stated in your review, our staff is very helpful and cheerful and we would not expect anything less because we are a luxury hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel has an exceptional location at the heart of Boston. Staff was generally nice with the exception of one guy who was very resistant to help us with luggage. The boston cream pie is amazing - the only food we tried there. The reception was sometimes very jammed and seemed incapable of helping us to find the right room. We had asked for a room as high up and quiet. Instead we got a room on the third floor with a lot of noise not only from the heating/aircon but also from the ventilation of the huge house across the street. After 2 days we managed to finally be moved to the 9th floor. This was only possible because we literally passed by the reception 3-4 times per day to tell them.

Im sure it was one of if not THE best at one point in Boston but I guess maintenance and staff just couldnt keep up. Aircons/heating are very noisy and decentral in every room. Our view was not great either. The hotel has a lot of charme but at times this is mixed with an impression of filth and dirt. The beds were pretty soft in typical american style but everything was very clean.

There is a gym but its pretty small and you have to walk through the entire lobby to get there.

Room Tip: As high up as possible!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is with review such as yours that helps our staff continue to improve and exceed customer expectations. Our front desk staff does update all guest comments and requests in our reservation system and we try to fulfill such requests as often as we can. Unfortunately, at time of check-in there were no rooms available on high floors but we were able to accomodate your needs to the 9th floor when a room became available.

Our hotel runs an extremely high occupancy throughout the year due to high demand, centralized location, and guest preference. One of the short falls of being located in the center of downtown Boston is the limitations on guest rooms with city views. We do acknowledge and apologize that we could not provide you with a more suitable room type however, this is a flaw in most downtown hotels.

We hope that on your next trip to Boston, you consider staying at the Omni Parker House again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The location for this hotel is fantastic. Less than two blocks from Boston Common and the Park subway stop. Beautiful lobby. Very easy check-in. The rooms were very classy. Yes the traditional double was a bit on the small side but that's just the way things are in hotels of this era. Got a very good rate from an external website (less than $140 per night including taxes). I enrolled in Omni's loyalty programme which provided free coffee delivery in the morning, free internet, and free pressing and shoeshine (though why I would want my runners shined or my jeans pressed I am not sure). Overall a very classy hotel with very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Enroll in Omni's loyalty programme
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasherdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in March. The room was big (though, I have stayed here previously and gotten a very small room) and clean. The room could use a refresh and same with the halls outside but all in all, a pretty good stay.

The location is good for visitors to Boston, right near the Public park and along the Freedom trail. The bar downstairs is pretty good too... amazing leather couches that are so comfy you won't want to get up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

For historic atmosphere, Boston's Omni Parker place is hard to beat. The mahogany-walled dining room is a real throw-back, and on the mezzanine floor you can view menus from the 1930s, see the mirror Charles Dickens once used and read up on past guests and workers (including Malcolm X). Nicely located on School Street, the hotel is perfectly placed for the Freedom Trail, the wonderful State House Museum and is an easy walk to the Harbour for boat cruises and trolley-bus tours.

Downsides: the food. Mediocrity reign in the Parker kitchens, where the few highlights include the famous Parker rolls and the Boston Cream Pie. There are very few good places to eat within easy walking distance of the hotel. Fast-food joints dominate. So in the evening one is stuck with the hotel's overpriced fish and chips, mac and cheese, etc, served in a beautiful bar that is sadly ruined by 1980's pop music (why not a little Bach, in such a splendid setting? Why do paying guests have to be subjected to Soft Cell?)

Other caveats: The bathrooms are irritatingly small, with shelves positioned right above the lavatory, leading to shampoo bottles regularly falling into the toilet. We also found our bed surprisingly narrow and small (and we are slim Europeans. How on earth did the average American couple manage?).

Historic atmosphere aside, the one thing that keep the Parker going is the staff. Unfailingly polite, good-humored and helpful - many appear to have been there for decades. Their smiling faces as one enters the grandiose lobby make you feel as though you are coming home.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the quieter it will be.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lagarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We choose this hotel because it's on the Freedom Trail and for the Boston Cream Pie. After seeing reports re: Priceline rooms being tiny, we booked a suite directly through the hotel. The room was average, and not as large as those of Embassy Suites. The decor is pseudo colonial.
The breakfast buffet was well presented and delicious, and we enjoyed sitting at the Kennedy table and soaking in the room's atmosphere. The bar was a cozy place for a drink and lunch, though the lobster roll sandwich was all claw meat.
The location was great - right across the street from an old cemetery, near the Commons, walking distance to Faneuil Hall.
We enjoyed the Omni club perks of free internet and drinks delivered to the room in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,631 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Address: 60 school st, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#35 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $225 - $905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing