We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Set a new standard for us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Set a new standard for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the XV at the beginning of our vacation in October of last year. The bar has now been set! The room was comfy and beautiful, bathroom deluxe, setting unbelievably convenient, helpful but not intrusive staff, room service breakfasts, and a car service to take us almost anywhere we wanted to go! Unfortunately, we compared every other place we stayed on our vacation to the XV and came away with "...well, it's not the XV".

My only comment would be it would have been nice to have access to a cup of coffee, either in the room or the lobby (hey, we're from Seattle!) - still, it was the best place that we have stayed and look forward to visiting there again soon.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth or fifth floor above the entrance. The road is a sleepy two lane but the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    187
    44
    30
    14
See reviews for
154
561
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

Happy to be so well located and in such a cozy comfortable space. Gracious, accommodating staff.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MGW743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We've stayed here before and we were once again impressed. We were welcomed warmly and our room was so nicely appointed! We had a corner room with a fireplace. Every detail was considered-comfy robes, toiletries, delicious cookies, exquisite sheets....I could go on and on. The concierge was very helpful. We used the car service a number of times and found it to be extremely convenient. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a warm friendly place in Boston.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgirltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at XV Beacon in early February for business. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and beautifully furnished. I turned my car over upon arriving and did not see it or need it again for three days. The hotel is centrally located for a nice walk (weather was very good for February this year), and the on-call hotel car was an incredible convenience. I visited a family member while in Boston and the driver was extremely courteous and professional and even waited to make sure I was met at my destination prior to leaving. The entire staff displayed excellent customer service skills. Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

XV is beautiful and the location is fantastic. The room was lovely, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom very nice with plenty of room for personal toiletries. Staff very helpful. Concierge cool. The on-call hotel car was very convenient for taking us around the city even to the airport which was not free but still very convenient. Attention to detail was there down to the fresh fruit on each floor. We did not dine in the restaurant but had room service which was wonderful. In the summer I would imagine that the rooftop terrace is just gorgeous. This is the kind of place you would love to call home. If we ever get to Boston again it's a no brainer. We will stay at XV.

Room Tip: Front rooms face Beacon Street, back rooms look at another building but hey...it's the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neatomosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the XV Beacon recently and absolutely loved it. We have traveled extensively on business and pleasure and found this hotel to be by far the nicest. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The gas fireplace a great touch. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JW5576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Couldnt agree more with what everyone else has already written here.
A true gem in Boston, not least due to the great service, and wonderful rooms.
Not a huge fan of the Mooo breakfast - unappetizingly large portions of average food at very high prices. But the hotel itself: Just Wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing