We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Amazing Location! 1 block to the Market, Freedom Trail, Harbor, Trolley Tours, Harbor Tours and the T is right outside. I could not have chosen a better location! Basically everything in Boston is walkable but to be that close to the market and the Harbor was great. The hotel was great. The room was perfect for 2 people and the bathroom was updated. We have an interior room and as long as the window was closed it was not loud at all. The room was modern in great condition. The lobby had 24/7 coffee and tea which was great! There was a bar right next door that had good specials and a 24 hour convenience store right on the corner. We parked at 75 State St and as long as you had the hotel validate your ticket you got 20% off. The Garage is just 2 blocks away. The only thing I would say is if you are fickle when it comes to your pillow... bring one. Other then that this Hotel was a great deal! Price was lower. As long as the price stays about the same I will 100% be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Harborside for 7 nights in April 2012 in a street view room on the 4th floor. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. Location and convenience were great - 5 minute or less walk to Fanieul Hall/Quincy Market, Long Wharf, and lots of amazing restaurants. The blue line T is literally right outside the front door - you don't even have to cross the street. If you fly into Logan, the T takes you right to the front door of the hotel - don't bother with a cab! The State street T station is only a few blocks away, too if you want the red or orange lines without transferring. Even Government Center is pretty close. In addition to the location, this was a very clean hotel with a comfortable Queen size bed and great shower (no bathtub though, but we didn't miss it). The room was not overly large, but more than enough room for 2 people to be comfortable. The exposed brick walls were a nice touch. Nice big TV and a free safe in the room, too. The front desk staff was very friendly and were always there. Since there's only one entrance to the hotel, the front desk sees everyone coming and going; a nice safety feature. In case you've read some of the older reviews (like we did), don't be afraid of the noise, even in a street view room. The loud bar the negative reviews referred to is gone. And the street noise is no more than in any large city. We heard sirens and car horns a few times in the early evening, but overall it was quieter than I expected for a city the size of Boston. I'm a pretty light sleeper (and from North Dakota where it's pretty quiet) and the street noise didn't wake me up. If you are on vacation and want a clean, convenient location in the heart of Boston, I would definitely recommend the Harborside Inn.

Room Tip: Room 403 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here the summer before last. Perhaps a little late for a review. However,the quality of this place is worth noting.

Spent the weekend in Boston. It was the perfect location to access various tourist attractions.

Loved the hotel interior. Great style and high-end quality. Rooms are smartly appointed.
A little noise from the nightclub next door but nothing that would ruin your stay.

Top of my list the next time I'm downtown!

Just a note..pretty much anywhere in downtown Boston is not "car friendly" so you're best to grab a cab to get here as to avoid the aggravation of the downtown traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyThruTheLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Came into Boston from Austin to see the 100th Anniversary of Fenway Park game and the hotel stay added to the enjoyment of our entire weekend. Desk staff was great and the entire hotel was clean, clean, clean. Thanks, too, for the free computer use!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumnheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed there recently as the rate ($169) was the best in the area. It's on the border of the financial district and Fanuiel Hall, so it's close to some nice bars and tourist stops. Not a four star property by any means, but $40+ less than other hotels, and no complaints

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordeauxbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Harborside Inn is in an excellent location, just minutes from Quincy Market, the Boston Aquarium, the Financial district, and a subway station. The rooms are not too bad,they are a little on the small side and lack a desk to get work done... there is a table and chair in the room so you can make do. There is no coffee in the room, but there is free coffee in the lobby. The hotel still uses real keys, which is a surprise in this day and age

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bound4thebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel is so well located. Near the Aquarium and next to Fanieul Hall. The lobby is very plain and nothing special, the service is also nothing special. The rooms are good sized and comfortable. You can't do any better for the cost. I would definitely recommend this as a base for activities based on the location, cleanliness, and cost.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich30306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,735 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#50 of 84 in Boston
8,027 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $166 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing