We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for layover or night before travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #27 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for layover or night before travel”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have stayed at this location twice. It is very close & quick to the airport. The Beds are VERY comfy. Rooms are very nice. There is a small bar downstairs for drinks. Staff was very nice & helpful. They have a free shuttle to take you to the airport. There is also a nice Pizza joint just about a block down that is great for eating. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kid_Dynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    333
    65
    23
    7
See reviews for
401
282
61
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Spent 5 nights here with my parents while visiting my sister in San Diego over Thanksgiving. Was always clean, pool and hottub were never too crowded, in a great area for running and taking in the harbor scenery. Also very convenient to the airport, harbor drive, and the major roads leading to downtown and all over San Diego. Can't really get better than that.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We attended my husband's Navy ship reunion here in mid-October 2011. Area was formerly a Navy training base (with a mockup ship that never sailed). Great location with easy access to main routes. Beautiful setting on the canal and next to a nice park with walking trails, beautiful flowers and monuments honoring Submariners lost in WWII. Within walking distance of several restaurants, and 2 grocery stores. Lovely room with nice amenities; very comfortable bed; hotel staff pleasant and helpful; good food & drinks. Great shuttle service. Our room faced the airport but we had no problem with noise after 10 PM. We actually enjoyed watching the planes take off. Toured the Midway and took a lovely harbor cruise. The Zoo is fantastic and Balboa Park absolutely worth a visit. We hope to return to SD someday and will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carbob227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Clean, comfortable, spacious, nicely decorated. I got lost the first time around because I thought I entered a restaurant mall and immediately exited. After driving around the airport and getting back to the same place, I saw the Marriott sign and ventured deeper into the property. There was a homewood suite, hilton garden inn and Marriott courtyard to the back of the property by the water. Parking can be tight during the weekend but I still found one close enough to the hotel. Lots of good restaurants just outside the hotel. Nice area to bike and jog. Will definitely consider staying here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cnpila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I chose to stay here because it was close to downtown and we would have access to all of San Diego. I would have chosen to stay downtown, and could have for the same price ($150) at the Marriott marina or the Omni, but I hate parking fees and both charge in the $35 - $40 range so I went with Liberty Station. I was glad we did. Nice rooms overlooking the bay inlet, plenty of free parking, and a great bar with good wine and beer selections. The shuttle driver took us to dinner at Solare, a nearby Italian restaurant (read reviews - good place). There is also an Oggi's pizza across the street. It rained the whole day we were there so we did not explore the walking trail, or pool, but could see both from our room and they looked very nice. I really liked our shuttle driver, who gave us a little tour of Liberty Station and the buildings. Lindbergh Field was landing planes from the ocean in the evening so they were flying right over the area very low. It was fun for me and they stop by 10:00 ish so not a bad distraction, but more of an attraction. Hotel has easy access to the coast, Old Town, downtown, the airport, Point Loma, restaurants, etc. overall, a good choice of accommodations if you don't need to be right downtown.

Room Tip: Pay the small up charge for bay view. The beds face the double glass doors so you have a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed in a King room for one night. Rooms were clean and decor was tasteful. What was really nice was that the king bed was actually parallel to the door (against the other side of the bathroom wall) facing the window. There wasn't much of a view on the bottom floor, but it was nice to wake up with your feet facing the sunlit window. We didn't hear the planes but we did hear excess noise from outside the door, mainly when people passed by. It didn't bother us but it some others might not be as tolerant to the noise. The computer business center was convenient to use and print out boarding passes. The location is great with the airport and Shelter Island within a 5 minute drive, and Cabrillo Monument, Ocean Beach and Mission Bay (Sea World) about 10-20 minutes away. I would suggest exploring the Liberty Station for your convenient needs like grocery stores, restaurants and shops. Finally I'm not sure if I could mention names so I'll keep it general... If you're looking for a great Sunday Morning brunch, there is a hawaiian style restaurant on Shelter Island that offers a great champagne brunch. Enjoy San Diego!

Room Tip: If you forgot it, they have free toothbrushes and toothpastes at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaySFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed for three nights for a long weekend, as promised by tp reviewers the place was well kept and more than the usual courtyard. We paid for the water view room 231 however much as others wrote at least from that room you can definitely hear the planes take off etc. It was not a problem for us as it does stop by midnight and doesn't resume until 6am, we were on east coast time so we adjusted well. However if you are a light sleeper the parking lot side might be a better choice. The room although small was a nice set up with a mini sofa and tables. The keurig maker was a really nice touch. We did do the breakfast buffet two mornings and it was excellent. We also ended up having a light supper the last night there and it was very delicious. I was impressed as most chain hotels have mediocre food. The front desk though is very helpful with restaurant recommendations and they were excellent ones. The outdoor faciiities are nice and we had a very large patio with our room. It is very easy to get to places from the Courtyard and we had thought of staying at the Coronado and we were glad we stayed at the courtyard instead. If it was summer and we were there longer I might have a different view. I would have given the courtyard a 5 star except for the noise.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the airport if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4vrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.9 km away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
1.7 km away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
1.4 km away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing