We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfer Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$267
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$149
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$290
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
298
199
109
60
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
199
109
60
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific beachocean viewsunset suitesound of the waveswithin walking distancecan't beat the locationan older hoteli highly recommend this hotelrestaurants and shopsgreat roommini fridgela jollasurfersbalconyumitparkingpb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We rented the 2 bedroom, 1 bath suite for 3 nights. While the panaromic ocean views from the balcony were beautiful, it did not make up for the lack of service, the noise that we had to endure 2 out of 3 nights, or the general uncleanliness of the suite. The kitchen was lacking basic equipment like paper towels, dish soap or dish cloths, and maid service never cleaned our kitchen at all. Both days we came back at 4 pm and the rooms still had not been cleaned. There was loud banging all night from the kitchen/bar below, and pounding music 2 out of 3 nights well past 2 am. The shag carpet was disgusting, and the wifi did not work well. The towels were old and stained, and they didn't provided enough until our last day. They tried to charge us $479 per night, way over the quoted rate on the phone. After getting no sleep the first night we complained, and they immediately reduced the rate $100 (to the originally quoted price). After the last night of noise and having to phone front desk to complain, they took another $80 off the total bill. A nice gesture, but does not make up for the lack of sleep we experienced on this trip. I'm all for retro hotels, but under no circumstances would I recommend this one to friends. One note: the maids, when they did finally clean our rooms, were friendly and did the best job they could under the circumstances.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YVRtoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

HOTEL RIGHT ON THE BEACH- LITTLE OLDER BEACH HOTEL It was clean, located right in the mix of things. Easy walk on beach boardwalk to Garnet street, places to rent bikes, surfboards skate boards too. Pool was heated (not real hot but tolerable). Bed and tv and balcony overlooking the ocean was great. The shower although clean and functional, was very small. You do have to look at an ugly roof of a resturant, but the sounds of the waves were great to go to sleep too. Location is really good and when we stayed there was a nice break early in the morning right in front of the hotel. We stayed in 402. THe price is right for the location.

Room Tip: Try to get to the 4th floor... All would be good.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCFANPetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location, a little on the aging side,( but upgraded in the last few years) which I like in a beachfront Hotel. Great restaurant downstairs- World Famous-

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERTD826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

PB is a great place to stay--that being said, at the Surfer we were assigned the handicapped room, which apparently is the only non-balcony room at the hotel! Since there is no air-conditioning at these hotels by the beach, that meant we had to leave our windows open, and though it provided little comfort (room was on the corner so there was no cross breeze), it was scary since the room was on the first floor. We met two couples who had been broken into at other hotels, so it was a little scary (not to mention extremely hot and humid).

We tried unsuccessfully to get a room change--apparently no one else wanted that room either! Ugh!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kedDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Don't be fooled. Not every room has been renovated. The location of the hotel was excellent, however, the hotel itself was terrible. Musky moldy smell everywhere, the ceiling in our room (407) was peeling due to a leaky roof and a piece of the paint actually fell on my face during night. There was no seating - not a single chair, no microwave, no coffee maker, not even a hair dryer. The shower was disgusting and I really didn't want to touch the shower floor without flip flops on. The shower curtain fell at the lightest touch. The housekeeping personnel did not KNOCK and walked in on us...The sink did not have a stopper - make sure you don't drop your ring in there. Our last night we were really cold and tried to turn on the heater but it didn't work. The pool was too cold to swim in for the weather. When I complained during check out there was not even an apology from the front desk personnel, all we got was just a dull "ok" The only nice thing about this hotel was the location and a nice big flat screen tv in the room. Parking was $15 a night and never mentioned during booking. The railings on the balcony are lose - make sure you don't lean on them or you might fall. Oh..and their elevator operating permit has been expired for a while, too...just a bad hotel all over.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oblovebug, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and certainly appreciate your comments. It is through comments such as yours that we can improve our guest service, room cleanliness and overall guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews