We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“above and beyond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #108 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Boulder City, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“above and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Surfer Beach Hotel is an awesome place to stay if you want to be on the water in San Diego.Right on the beach and right next to a great restaurant " World Famous" and a great little coffee joint.Minutes from sea world and lots of classic San Diego attractions.
It wasn't until we left the Surfer Beach that we discovered just how awesome the staff here is. When my daughter left her stuffed whale from Sea World in the room. We called the hotel and they agreed to mail it to us in Vegas. Which completed my daughters Sea World experience and my experience of staying in this great San Diego get away. Will totally come back and stay with these guys when I come back to SD

Room Tip: It's an "L" shaped hotel with all rooms having a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    175
    94
    55
    64
See reviews for
199
178
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We rented the 2 bedroom, 1 bath suite for 3 nights. While the panaromic ocean views from the balcony were beautiful, it did not make up for the lack of service, the noise that we had to endure 2 out of 3 nights, or the general uncleanliness of the suite. The kitchen was lacking basic equipment like paper towels, dish soap or dish cloths, and maid service never cleaned our kitchen at all. Both days we came back at 4 pm and the rooms still had not been cleaned. There was loud banging all night from the kitchen/bar below, and pounding music 2 out of 3 nights well past 2 am. The shag carpet was disgusting, and the wifi did not work well. The towels were old and stained, and they didn't provided enough until our last day. They tried to charge us $479 per night, way over the quoted rate on the phone. After getting no sleep the first night we complained, and they immediately reduced the rate $100 (to the originally quoted price). After the last night of noise and having to phone front desk to complain, they took another $80 off the total bill. A nice gesture, but does not make up for the lack of sleep we experienced on this trip. I'm all for retro hotels, but under no circumstances would I recommend this one to friends. One note: the maids, when they did finally clean our rooms, were friendly and did the best job they could under the circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YVRtoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

HOTEL RIGHT ON THE BEACH- LITTLE OLDER BEACH HOTEL It was clean, located right in the mix of things. Easy walk on beach boardwalk to Garnet street, places to rent bikes, surfboards skate boards too. Pool was heated (not real hot but tolerable). Bed and tv and balcony overlooking the ocean was great. The shower although clean and functional, was very small. You do have to look at an ugly roof of a resturant, but the sounds of the waves were great to go to sleep too. Location is really good and when we stayed there was a nice break early in the morning right in front of the hotel. We stayed in 402. THe price is right for the location.

Room Tip: Try to get to the 4th floor... All would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCFANPetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location, a little on the aging side,( but upgraded in the last few years) which I like in a beachfront Hotel. Great restaurant downstairs- World Famous-

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

PB is a great place to stay--that being said, at the Surfer we were assigned the handicapped room, which apparently is the only non-balcony room at the hotel! Since there is no air-conditioning at these hotels by the beach, that meant we had to leave our windows open, and though it provided little comfort (room was on the corner so there was no cross breeze), it was scary since the room was on the first floor. We met two couples who had been broken into at other hotels, so it was a little scary (not to mention extremely hot and humid).

We tried unsuccessfully to get a room change--apparently no one else wanted that room either! Ugh!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kedDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Don't be fooled. Not every room has been renovated. The location of the hotel was excellent, however, the hotel itself was terrible. Musky moldy smell everywhere, the ceiling in our room (407) was peeling due to a leaky roof and a piece of the paint actually fell on my face during night. There was no seating - not a single chair, no microwave, no coffee maker, not even a hair dryer. The shower was disgusting and I really didn't want to touch the shower floor without flip flops on. The shower curtain fell at the lightest touch. The housekeeping personnel did not KNOCK and walked in on us...The sink did not have a stopper - make sure you don't drop your ring in there. Our last night we were really cold and tried to turn on the heater but it didn't work. The pool was too cold to swim in for the weather. When I complained during check out there was not even an apology from the front desk personnel, all we got was just a dull "ok" The only nice thing about this hotel was the location and a nice big flat screen tv in the room. Parking was $15 a night and never mentioned during booking. The railings on the balcony are lose - make sure you don't lean on them or you might fall. Oh..and their elevator operating permit has been expired for a while, too...just a bad hotel all over.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oblovebug, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and certainly appreciate your comments. It is through comments such as yours that we can improve our guest service, room cleanliness and overall guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just came back from San Diego and stay at the Surfer. First off, it is in a great location and does have some nice views. The beds are very nice and the updates are pretty nice. Pool is well kept and was never crowded.
However...Although our room was quite large, it had a spectacular view of the roof above the restaurant as well as it's air conditioning unit and giant exhaust fan that looked like it had survived many wars. So what am I saying? Make sure when you make a reservation that you specify to be away from the street/restaurant side. Very, very noisy and ugly unless you look around/past the roof. Especially in the morning when the delivery trucks show up. Also, since our room was on the end by the stairs, we had no front side window, like most other rooms, to get any kind of cross draft to cool the room down. Luckily they provide a fan that moved a little air but more importantly, drowned out much of the street noise. It did, however, help all of the stale cigarette smoke from all of the other guests, flow in. Good god! It felt like we were the only ones not smoking on the balconies or around the hotel. I was going to say something but since the employees were headed out for a smoke too, I thought better than to bother them.
Another very important note. It is never a good sign when one of the cleaning staff warns you to smell the towels first to make sure they have been properly cleaned. She knew we had kids and , "did not want them to get sick." Not good. It became a joke with us to "name that stain" on the towels. Many had one kind or another. They also could never seem to quite get the quantity correct. Oh, and lets not forget the tiny "cave" shower with the shower head at chest level, and I 'm only 5' 9". Or that they did not clean or change out the coffee mugs. We did not have cereal in the room, but we stepped on some:)
All in all, a fair hotel at best. They seem to be trying, but can't seem to make it feel better than your average roadside motel somewhere. If you want the experience of staying on the beach, I would personally recommend the Blue Sea Lodge next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oblovebug, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and we will look into the issues you have addressed in your review. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#124 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#146 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#24 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing