We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Abby N

A perfect getaway.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 20, 2024
From the moment we arrived the customer service was amazing. They got us checked in and provided all information about the amenities and what’s complimentary. Due to being a Platinum member they did also upgrade our room. The balcony view was amazing. Downtown nightlife was just a 10 minute walk. Everything in the hotel was clean and just felt luxurious. Highly recommended, only issue was attempting to find parking at first but we found a parking garage just across the street that was about $32 a day. They did have valet which was $60 a day but not a bug complication at all. Just felt more comfortable parking our car ourselves.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this review
Responded Feb 21, 2024
Dear Abby,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are glad that our team made a positive impact on your stay with us. It was an honor to have provided you with an upgrade. The best compliment is that you recommend us to other guests. Your feedback is important to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to even further your expectations.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$441
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$441
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$282
  • Expedia.com
    C$441
1.4 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
C$482
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    C$439
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$436
  • Priceline
8.5 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Beachfront
C$366
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$358
  • Vio.com
    C$301
  • Hotels.com
    C$366
1.0 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
C$469
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$477
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$375
  • Priceline
10.0 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
C$586
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$562
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$406
  • Priceline
18.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$153
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$167
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$113
  • Expedia.com
    C$167
13.1 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    C$895
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$936
  • Agoda.com
    C$928
5.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
224
46
21
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
224
46
21
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown area an upgrade recommend this hotel front desk renovation suite valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 306 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2024

We had a great stay the Kimpton! Upon check in our room wasn't ready, but the staff was very accommodating and made it right. They waived our guest fee and gave us an upgrade. The staff were friendly, the decor was tasteful, and the accommodations were cozy, making it a memorable and enjoyable visit. I would definitely return in the future.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2024

Dear Dee,
We were delighted to welcome you to Kimpton Alma San Diego during your recent visit. We're thrilled to hear we were able to deliver a memorable experience and, while we apologize that your room was not available upon check-in, we're happy that our team was able to remedy this situation and upgrade you. Thank you so much for sharing your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of your company on another occasion.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2024

Centrally placed hotel. Nicely equipped. valet parking available, however also possible to have parkering just in front of the hotel. Nice bar, and good breakfast.
friendly staff and really helpsome, finding places to east or if something in the room needed.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Klaus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2024

Dear Klaus,
We always appreciate hearing from our guests. It's great to know that our central location, convenient parking, and tasty breakfast added to your experience. Our friendly staff will also be glad you felt welcome while you were here. The next time you're in town, please come see us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2024

Don’t think I’ve ever slept in a more comfortable bed -and the pillows were amazing! The wine time at 5pm was a treat —and the staff were 150% client centric! Customer experience at Kimpton Alma was faaaantastic! I felt pampered. And the vibe /decor made me feel fancy and hip!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2024

Dear Patti,
Our team believes in the vitality of a restful night's sleep, and nothing makes us happier than knowing our beds are perfect for your comfort. We are so glad you rested well at Kimpton Alma San Diego, and we are proud that our team played a pivotal role in your five-star experience. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to doing so again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2024

Marcus and Robert at the front desk were awesome! Even communicating before we arrived. We got a great suite upgrade, just too bad we were only there one night. The perks were so nice ... a welcome cocktail offered upon arrival expertly mixed by Robert with local mescal, free waters in the room, the complimentary evening wine and nibbles in the lobby, and free coffee in the morning. Marcus even sent up some bath salts (unsolicited) when he heard my husband's back was aching. The only weird thing in the room was the mini fridge ... it wasn't cold & could find no controls and had no shelves. Otherwise, excellent. Call ahead for directions because even though we know the area, the city has installed barricades on the hotel's street (to make it walkable) and Maps has not updated with these blockages.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2024

Dear Jennifer,
Thank you for recognizing the team members who made your five-star experience possible. Every delightful experience at Kimpton Alma San Diego is a testament to the spirit of our people, and we look forward to sharing your praises with Marcus and Robert. We have no doubt they will take great care of you and your husband again, and we wish you well until your next visit!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2024

MY STAY AT THE ALMA WAS SO-SO. THERE WERE ALOT OF HOMELESS SLEEPING ON THE CORNER RIGHT NEXT DOOR (I KNOW IT S NOT THEIR FAULT) ANF THE ROOM CLEANING WAS..EHH
THE HIGHLIGHT WAS OUR DINNER AT THE DESMOND INSIDE THE HOTEL. FOOD WAS FANTASTICK! AS WAS OUR WAITRESS ARIA. HIGHLY RECCOMEND

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CHARLES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2024

Dear Charles,
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your valuable feedback. While we are delighted you enjoyed such a memorable meal thanks to our delicious food and great service, we are sorry you didn't have a perfect stay. Your comments are important to us, as we are always working to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back and impressing you further.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews