We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David M

Great Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 21, 2024
The hotel was great. The staff was super friendly and the property was in great condition. The room was nicely appointed and very clean. It was a great location, especially if you are attending a meeting at the convention center or a game at Padre Stadium. Lots of food options around. There was a great vibe and I would definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this review
Responded Feb 23, 2024
Dear David,
It brightens our day to know that you had a fantastic stay with us! From our well-appointed suites and high standards of cleanliness to our friendly and dedicated team, we strive to exceed expectations with every visit. Additionally, location is one of the most important aspects of a trip, so we’re glad you could experience all the convenience ours affords our guests! Thank you for your glowing review, and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$210
C$164
  • Booking.com
    C$194
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$184
4.9 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
C$224
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$246
  • Agoda.com
    C$181
  • Hotels.com
    C$246
5.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$283
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$237
  • Hotels.com
    C$264
9.4 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
C$476
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$381
  • travelup.com
    C$787
10.0 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
C$266
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    C$234
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$230
  • Priceline
18.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$142
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$114
  • Expedia.com
    C$182
13.1 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$584
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$575
  • Hotels.com
    C$582
1.0 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$1,514
  • Trip.com
1.4 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$435
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$412
  • Expedia.com
    C$434
10.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    C$466
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$413
  • Booking.com
    C$467
8.5 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
217
44
20
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
217
44
20
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown area an upgrade recommend this hotel front desk renovation suite valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 294 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2024

Very nice yet low-key. Provide payment for breakfast and free Happy hour wine. Lovely personnel including desk, staff, restaurant and bar staff, and housekeeping. Very efficient and thorough. Location is very central allows. Walking to many locations. Free us bicycles. Drugstore and convenience store less than one block away. Central to dozens of good restaurants. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2024

Dear David,
Thank you! There's no greater compliment than knowing a guest was so impressed with their stay that they'd recommend us to others. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Kimpton Alma San Diego and we look forward to welcoming you back any time you're heading back in our direction.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2024

From the moment we arrived the customer service was amazing. They got us checked in and provided all information about the amenities and what’s complimentary. Due to being a Platinum member they did also upgrade our room. The balcony view was amazing. Downtown nightlife was just a 10 minute walk. Everything in the hotel was clean and just felt luxurious. Highly recommended, only issue was attempting to find parking at first but we found a parking garage just across the street that was about $32 a day. They did have valet which was $60 a day but not a bug complication at all. Just felt more comfortable parking our car ourselves.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2024

Dear Abby,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are glad that our team made a positive impact on your stay with us. It was an honor to have provided you with an upgrade. The best compliment is that you recommend us to other guests. Your feedback is important to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to even further your expectations.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2024

We had a great stay the Kimpton! Upon check in our room wasn't ready, but the staff was very accommodating and made it right. They waived our guest fee and gave us an upgrade. The staff were friendly, the decor was tasteful, and the accommodations were cozy, making it a memorable and enjoyable visit. I would definitely return in the future.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2024

Dear Dee,
We were delighted to welcome you to Kimpton Alma San Diego during your recent visit. We're thrilled to hear we were able to deliver a memorable experience and, while we apologize that your room was not available upon check-in, we're happy that our team was able to remedy this situation and upgrade you. Thank you so much for sharing your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of your company on another occasion.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2024

Centrally placed hotel. Nicely equipped. valet parking available, however also possible to have parkering just in front of the hotel. Nice bar, and good breakfast.
friendly staff and really helpsome, finding places to east or if something in the room needed.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Klaus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2024

Dear Klaus,
We always appreciate hearing from our guests. It's great to know that our central location, convenient parking, and tasty breakfast added to your experience. Our friendly staff will also be glad you felt welcome while you were here. The next time you're in town, please come see us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2024

Don’t think I’ve ever slept in a more comfortable bed -and the pillows were amazing! The wine time at 5pm was a treat —and the staff were 150% client centric! Customer experience at Kimpton Alma was faaaantastic! I felt pampered. And the vibe /decor made me feel fancy and hip!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2024

Dear Patti,
Our team believes in the vitality of a restful night's sleep, and nothing makes us happier than knowing our beds are perfect for your comfort. We are so glad you rested well at Kimpton Alma San Diego, and we are proud that our team played a pivotal role in your five-star experience. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to doing so again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews