We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$410
Hotels.com
C$409
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
C$398
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Paul D
San Francisco, California

Great stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 1, 2024
Great stay. The food was delicious at Desmond. Aria was an awesome server and recommended some great dishes!
Beefy Cheeks and scallops were delicious.
The hotel is a great place to stay as well.
The location is good and lots of good bars and food.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this review
Responded Mar 3, 2024
Dear Paul,
It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Kimpton Alma San Diego! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the chance to dine at The Desmond. Receiving recognition for our delicious culinary offerings and stellar service is always appreciated. You can be sure we'll share your praise with Aria! Hopefully, you took full advantage of the convenience our great location affords our guests. Thank you for your kind review and perfect rating, and we hope you return soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$421
  • Hotels.com
    C$420
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$382
  • Expedia.com
    C$420
1.4 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
C$400
C$347
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$348
  • Tripadvisor
    C$347
  • Priceline
10.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$202
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$170
  • Hotels.com
    C$217
9.4 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$376
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$375
  • Expedia.com
    C$375
  • Tripadvisor
    C$375
8.5 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
C$383
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$382
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$315
  • Priceline
10.0 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
C$204
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
    C$203
  • Agoda.com
    C$158
  • Expedia.com
    C$203
5.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
Booking.com
C$288
  • Hotels.com
    C$312
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$261
  • Expedia.com
    C$312
4.8 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
The Catamaran Resort Hotel on Mission Bay
Booking.com
C$409
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$408
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$373
  • Expedia.com
    C$408
11.9 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$415
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$379
  • Trip.com
18.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$76
  • Hotels.com
    C$115
13.1 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
202
44
19
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
202
44
19
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown area an upgrade recommend this hotel front desk renovation suite valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 278 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2024

Absolutely wonderful customer service. Everyone friendly and helpful especially Noah. Our room was wonderful and the bed so comfortable and the best pillows. Loved our stay. Hot chocolate machine in lobby was too much fun. Especially good to add to my coffee. Will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2024

Dear Karen,
It's fantastic to hear about your wonderful experience with us, highlighted by exceptional customer service from Noah and our team. We're thrilled you found the room, bed, and pillows to your liking, enhancing your comfort. The hot chocolate machine is indeed a fun touch, especially when added to coffee! We eagerly anticipate your next visit and look forward to making it just as memorable.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2024

Staff was super friendly. Room was very clean. Sufficient Gym and swimming pool, amazing location. Walking distance to most places. 2 mins to gaslamp. 20 min to little Italy. 1 Mon to the trolley and bus stop. I would go back to the hotel . Highly recommended

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kuba J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2024

We’re delighted to hear about your recent experience with us, and we’re so pleased that you recommend us to your fellow travelers! It’s great to know that our hospitable team, impeccable accommodations, and lovely amenities helped make your trip a memorable one. Additionally, we're thrilled you took full advantage of our excellent location, and we appreciate you mentioning it to your fellow travelers. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2024

Very comfy and quiet stay. Beautiful hotel with lots of great amenities. Noah and Paula in the afternoon were quick to assist and very friendly. Cafe served great breakfast. There was no Ice machines which was really odd, but they delivered buckets of ice upon request.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hunter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2024

Dear Hunter,
It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest, and we’re elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for all of your very thoughtful comments about our wonderful amenities, peaceful accommodations, and hospitable team. We'll be sure to share your compliments with Noah and Paula! Take care, and know we'd be thrilled to welcome you back anytime your plans bring you this way.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2024

We had a great time staying at the Kimpton Alma. The bed was very comfortable and the room was immaculate. The location was also excellent, near the Gaslamp Quarter, so we were able to go to the Shout House nearby and had a fun time! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: The parking is expensive so we parked elsewhere.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeanmkato
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2024

Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendation! We're glad our comfortable beds, convenient location, and clean rooms helped make your visit memorable. The next time you're in the area, please come see us again at Kimpton Alma San Diego.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2024

The hotel is good, but the area outside makes one cautious with the homeless around, right outside the hotel. Having heard of some untoward occurrences in CA, I was always on the alert when I was in the neighborhood around the hotel. The hotel itself is safe inside, and to be fair, I did not experience any unsafe moments, as I ventured out only in broad daylight.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 245navinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2024

Dear Navin,
We appreciate your feedback, and we're glad your overall stay was pleasant. While there are some unhoused people in the area, it is typically considered safe. Should you find yourself back in the area, please come see us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews