We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$379
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Hotels.com
C$378
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
C$379
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
180
41
17
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
180
41
17
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown area an upgrade recommend this hotel front desk renovation suite valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 248 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2024

Room was very nice but had terrible sleeps because the light rail was right below my room and even though I was on the top floor it was extremely loud. The train blows its horn every time it enters the station and at all hours. I get that the hotel can’t control the train noise but they could install better windows for noise control or even offer white noise machines on request. I did mention the loud train and lack of sleep when they checked in by text but did not hear anything back. The evening cocktail hour is a lovely touch.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 378alainah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2024

Dear Alaina,
We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with us overall and we apologize for any noise issues during your visit. We understand your frustration regarding this matter and we will be sure to keep your feedback in mind for the future, as we always want our guests to have a relaxing experience. Please consider giving us another chance in the future; we know that we can impress you.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2024

Great stay. The food was delicious at Desmond. Aria was an awesome server and recommended some great dishes!
Beefy Cheeks and scallops were delicious.
The hotel is a great place to stay as well.
The location is good and lots of good bars and food.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2024

Dear Paul,
It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Kimpton Alma San Diego! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the chance to dine at The Desmond. Receiving recognition for our delicious culinary offerings and stellar service is always appreciated. You can be sure we'll share your praise with Aria! Hopefully, you took full advantage of the convenience our great location affords our guests. Thank you for your kind review and perfect rating, and we hope you return soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2024

Absolutely wonderful customer service. Everyone friendly and helpful especially Noah. Our room was wonderful and the bed so comfortable and the best pillows. Loved our stay. Hot chocolate machine in lobby was too much fun. Especially good to add to my coffee. Will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2024

Dear Karen,
It's fantastic to hear about your wonderful experience with us, highlighted by exceptional customer service from Noah and our team. We're thrilled you found the room, bed, and pillows to your liking, enhancing your comfort. The hot chocolate machine is indeed a fun touch, especially when added to coffee! We eagerly anticipate your next visit and look forward to making it just as memorable.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2024

Staff was super friendly. Room was very clean. Sufficient Gym and swimming pool, amazing location. Walking distance to most places. 2 mins to gaslamp. 20 min to little Italy. 1 Mon to the trolley and bus stop. I would go back to the hotel . Highly recommended

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kuba J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2024

We’re delighted to hear about your recent experience with us, and we’re so pleased that you recommend us to your fellow travelers! It’s great to know that our hospitable team, impeccable accommodations, and lovely amenities helped make your trip a memorable one. Additionally, we're thrilled you took full advantage of our excellent location, and we appreciate you mentioning it to your fellow travelers. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2024

Very comfy and quiet stay. Beautiful hotel with lots of great amenities. Noah and Paula in the afternoon were quick to assist and very friendly. Cafe served great breakfast. There was no Ice machines which was really odd, but they delivered buckets of ice upon request.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hunter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2024

Dear Hunter,
It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest, and we’re elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for all of your very thoughtful comments about our wonderful amenities, peaceful accommodations, and hospitable team. We'll be sure to share your compliments with Noah and Paula! Take care, and know we'd be thrilled to welcome you back anytime your plans bring you this way.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews