We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
C$643
ZenHotels.com
C$625
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
DavidnMelanie

Lovely hotel, accommodating staff, BUT.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 16, 2024
Lovely hotel, accommodating staff BUT. Located on the edge of Gas Lamp district, the hotel surrounds are over run with junkies and other species of the walking dead. Plus checkin is a strictly enforced 4:00 p.m. which gives you extra opportunity to mingle with the locals should you arrive early. At over $400/night plus $60 for parking there are better options in other areas of this lovely city.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this review
Responded Apr 18, 2024
Thank you so much for the feedback. We're happy to know that our friendly team members left a positive impression on you during your stay. That being said, we're sorry to hear about any disappointment in our location during your visit. While we cannot control the surrounding areas, please know that the safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to our team, and we have many policies in place to ensure this. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us offline so that we can gather more information and better assist you, as we're always looking to improve. We look forward to hearing from you and hope you will consider giving us another chance to impress you.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$524
C$336
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
  • Priceline
    C$336
  • travelup.com
    C$368
10.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
Booking.com
C$321
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$314
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$292
  • Hotels.com
    C$313
4.8 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$354
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$354
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$290
  • Expedia.com
    C$355
10.0 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$627
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$592
  • Priceline
    C$627
1.0 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$303
  • Priceline
    C$327
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$260
  • Vio.com
    C$258
18.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
Booking.com
C$111
  • Priceline
    C$149
  • Agoda.com
    C$94
  • Hotels.com
    C$139
13.1 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$697
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$696
  • travelup.com
    C$663
  • Expedia.com
    C$698
1.4 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
9.4 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    C$351
  • Algotels
    C$311
  • Priceline
    C$351
8.5 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$258
  • Agoda.com
    C$193
  • Algotels
5.2 km from Kimpton Alma San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
199
44
19
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
199
44
19
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown area an upgrade recommend this hotel front desk renovation suite valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 275 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2024

Hotel was just great. We came here for a little getaway and it was just what we were looking for. The front office team was the best I've seen! Special thank you to the night manager Noah for going above and beyond to make sure we were liking our stay, he made us feel at home! The food was amazing. My only down side is that we could not get drinks by the pool, they said it is closed for season... its San Diego... Everyday is season there! Can't wait to be back.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2024

Dear Madison,
It was a pleasure hosting you at Kimpton Alma San Diego! We're glad Noah and the rest of our staff made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed the food. Please come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2024

I love kimptons. This is the third one I’ve been to in the past 6 months. Overall it’s been my favorite one, as the staff here are excellent. Stylish rooms, a free town bike, beautiful pool, lovely pillows and sheets. However, 2 complaints which make me unable to give it a 5. The gym smells terrible. There are no windows and no ventilation. Also the peloton bike is a first generation and a bit creeky. And, I got a single room attached to a suit with a thin locked door and my neighbors were terribly loud. The tv was on late, the person came home drunk and on phone late, doors were slammed, you could hear everything from that room. Zero sound protection. I woke up every night to this. In the third night I complained and was told they couldn’t tell person to be quiet because they could be hard of hearing and it was against the law. At 8:30 that night they offered me a new room. I didn’t want to pack up everything so I stayed, and was woken up yet again. Be sure to request a room that does not have a door to the suit.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2024

Dear Jay,
It's always a pleasure hearing from our guests. We're glad our friendly staff, beautiful pool, and comfortable beds added to your experience. However, we apologize for any concerns about noise and for any issues with the gym. We'll keep your comments in mind, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2024

I was attracted by the promotional free breakfast offer which was good value for money. We didn’t have the best of starts being allocated a first floor room which was dark, with only a view of the mechanical plant. The hotel couldn’t move us but did so the next day- to a room four floors higher. The view wasn’t much better but the room was spacious , a big bathroom , and super comfortable beds which made for a restful sleep. The pool looked great but the weather was too cool to try it out. The area is central, convenient for public transport, and a few good restaurants but is pretty edgy at night. The free breakfast was great- just order from the menu up to $25. The evening wine social was also a bonus. The young diverse staff were the highlight, always cheerful, helpful and efficient.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We apologize for the initial room allocation but are pleased we could accommodate a change to enhance your experience. It's wonderful to hear that our staff positively impacted your stay with their cheerful and helpful service. We hope that on your next visit, the weather will allow you to enjoy the pool fully. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2024

Hotel was great. Rooms and Bathrooms were excellent. The hotel restaurants were also excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Only downside was the valet service - not sure they understand their jobs entirely. Slow and disorganized, despite the $60/night extra expense.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2024

Dear George,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your time in San Diego! We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed our lovely accommodations and dining at our fantastic restaurant. That said, your feedback about the valet service will be shared with our internal team to ensure our high standards of hospitality are being met. Thank you for your kind review, and we hope you return soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2024 via mobile

I made a reservation in January I wanted two beds for my daughter and I and we had to share a bed . The room view wasn’t the pool or the city it was another building making the room very dark . The toilet ran all day and night . I reported it and no one fixed it .
We left at 10 am to 3:30 and our room never got cleaned .

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cloupe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Kimpton Alma San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2024

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. We're glad our friendly staff and relaxing happy hour added to your experience. However, we apologize for any confusion with your reservation and for any disappointment with the view. We'll look into this further, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management - Kimpton Alma San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews