We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
Nearby Hotels
US$484
US$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$501
US$453
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$255
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$237
US$199
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
87
54
16
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
54
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean beachboogie boardswell equipped kitchenrun hostelfree earplugsbed female dormfantastic hostelfire pitquiet neighborhoodprivate bathroomquiet hourscommon areasfree street parkingbus serviceping pongevery morninghome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed here for five days in February, my second visit. Definitely the best hostel I have stayed at in North America. This hostel is clean and very well organized. The kitchen is well equipped, free morning pancakes are great. Very reasonably priced communal meals most evenings. On bus line from airport, good grocery store easy walking distance, next door to public library. The staff is friendly, eclectic mix of fellow travellers. Just enough rules to keep up standards, but not heavy handed. Stayed in a dorm, as always the downside was the snorers - note to self: invest in quality earplugs. They are in the process of completely redoing the electrical system - should make a real improvement to lighting and electronics charging in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClimbnRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thanks so much for your repeated support of our organization. We truly appreciate it.
We have finished our electrical project and now have charging stations and reading lights at each bunk bed as well as charging stations in each locker. We also have added new outlets in the courtyard and front of the building for your use as well as increased the number of outlets in our common areas. If you need to charge your laptop you shouldn't have to look very far no matter where you are in the building.
We also have free ear plugs if you find that you are in need of them. They are located next to the ATM in the dining room. Help yourself.
We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Cosy, spacious and clean rooms! nice tarrace, really friendy stuff! considering that san diego is big- the beach was close:)The price was also good for the conditions! I really enjoyed stayin there and I recommend this hostel for anyone who travel to San Diego.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thanks so much for your review and recommendation.
We work hard to keep our hostel safe, clean, and comfortable. Our staff truly loves working to make your stay the best it can be and is ecstatic that you noticed.
Please don't hesitate to contact us with any future or present travel questions.

Cheers,
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I was in a double room with my boyfriend and i really liked the hostel. almost everyone was very nice, everything clean and the kitchen and common room had everything you need. the breakfast could have more variety, since it only has pancakes. and the hostel is too noisy in the early morning.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-PointLoma, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thanks so much for your comments and suggestions. We truly appreciate all input our guests give us to help improve our hostel. We are so glad that you liked the hostel and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This was my first hostelling experience and it was a very good one. I was in San Diego attending a professional engineering conference and was on a tight budget. This is a great rate for what you get. The hostel was very clean and the staff friendly. When I brought up a maintenance issue with the staff they fixed it immediately. There was a broad section of people staying there not just college kids. They have a good system set up that makes you feel like you and your property are safe there. The beds are very comfortable, I stayed in a room with 8 bunk beds.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank water4trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a six-week road trip from Seattle, so needed somewhere to chill for a few days before flying to Central America. Point Loma was perfect. The hostel is very welcoming, we arrived mid-evening, but still got an enthusiastic greeting from Matt, who gave us a quick tour and showed us to our room - pretty sure that's never happened to us in a hostel before.

Our room was a private double bunk-bedded family room (two adults and two children), just across the hall from a unisex toilet and shower. Everything was clean and comfortable. The room was quite small and felt very crowded if all four of us were in there at the same time, especially as there wasn't anywhere to put our luggage apart from the floor around the bed. But we just used it for sleeping and spent days in the communal areas or out and about, so it didn't really matter.

The lounge, kitchen and dining area was quite spacious (but this is not a big hostel, so not too many guests, or too much communal space). The lounge had squishy sofas and a TV, great for the kids. The kitchen was pretty new, and really well-equipped. It was a pleasure to cook in, don't say that about many hostels either. The dining area had plenty of tables, power sockets, good wifi, and Masai the rescued Monitor Lizard... There was also a tiny room to one side with two pcs and paid internet access ($5 for 30 minutes?), and a book exchange.

Outside there was a courtyard with tables and chairs, a huge hammock, and a fire pit - we were lucky enough to be there for toasted marshmallows one night. Also outside were washing machines and dryers, cheap to use and quick. The courtyard was a fab place to chill (although Point Loma does suffer from sea mists, so there was not much sunshine), and the wifi worked well out there too (didn't seem to reach our room though, not sure about others).

Breakfast consisted of pancake mix provided by the hostel, which guests cooked themselves. Yummy (especially if you slice a banana up and add before cooking)! There is free coffee on the go all the time, although we always seemed to get there just as the pot was emptied and had to make fresh...!

The hostel is not in downtown San Diego, but a quiet neighbourhood with a supermarket and several fast food eating places nearby. It is not especially near the ocean either, and public transport is limited. We had a car, which was fine, parking on the street is free and easy. It is not far from the airport - very convenient the morning we left.

I would really recommend staying at this hostel if you just need a few days to catch up with yourselves, like we did, it was fab. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews