We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An average experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Pros: good location, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Renovations needed, paint is peeling in some places.
Even the inner rooms facing away from street can be slightly noisy. Could hear glass bottles being thrown out of a bar onto its back street. better to bring earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOPtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for the candid feedback. We truly do appreciate it as it will always help us improve. We are currently renovating, and should be completed with all of our private bath rooms by the end of March. From there it is on to the paint touch ups, etc. In terms of the street noise, we recommend that people let us know in advance that they would like a quiet room and we will put them in a room on our courtyard, which is the quietest area of the hostel. Once again, I thank you for your review and your criticisms. We hope to see you again in the future and you can check out the improvements we have made. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    132
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
10
64
113
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The staff were extremely friendly as well as helpful. They gav us great local recommendations and advice

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllysonHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Awesome! I'm glad we could help you out and really show you some great spots in the city. We love food, beer, music, and art, so be sure to ask us anything. Thanks a whole bunch for the great comments and review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My second visit (each in Dec). HI Market Street continues to be an excellent place for me. Close to Gas Lamp activities, waterfront, grocery, bus route. Happy engaging staff...especially like the efficient service with a smile from Beau. Rooms good, healthy breakfast, entertaining TV room, et al. Go for it!

Right around the corner is Bike-Revolution where you can get a bike all day for special hostel rate of only $15 (no tax). I would recommend you bike all the way to Point Cabrillo along the waterfront. Really beautiful and not too bad in terms of work-out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glarryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Always great to hear from a return customer! We are consistently improving, so we are glad when people come back and see how much better we have become. Thanks for the great review, and the returning business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hostelling International San Diego Downtown is always reliable when I need to stay downtown. The staff are particularly friendly and helpful. Perfect for when you're partying; not as ideal for early rising.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are much quieter are night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you very much for your business and then taking the time to review us! It was great having you stay with us and you're welcome back any time you return to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la paz, mexico
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I love this place and stay here every time I pass through San Diego, Staff is great, prices are the best, wonderful location. The age range is rather remarkable (I am 63). If you have to sleep with strangers, this is the place to do it. Sometimes people complain about things like chairs that don't match in the kitchen and the old-but-comfy sofas, and I tell them to go pay hotel prices.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the noise of the bar scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you so much for the review and positive travelling attitude! I hope you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A friend and I recently enjoyed this great hostel. I had not stayed in a hostel for 40 years; it was my friend's first hostel stay. We were greeted by very friendly and competent desk steaff, who signed us in quickly. Our room was great - very spacious and clean - and the hostel location was very central to many San Diego attractions. If other hostels are as great as this one in the Gas Lamp District of San Diego, I be a regular visitor with my new Senior Membership!

Room Tip: Some quiet rooms available away from the busy street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveston_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Wonderful! I am extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and not only that, but you have reinvigorated your passion for hostelling. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments, and your business. Please come back the next time you are in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I liked this hostel a lot. It was in an excellent location just of Market Street and 5th in pretty much the centre of the Gas Lamp District. Half an hour walk from Baloba Park, 15 minuts from the Sea Port Village then onto the Martime Musuems. Very lively area at night so could be a little noisey but oh well, you're in a hostel! Ralph's supermarket is only a few blocks away for the food - and ask to borrow the Ralph's card to save your money!

The hostel itself was clean and tidy. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Knew a lot about the city and places to go/eat. There is a board behind the front desk with 'what's happening today' in the city updated each morning with info like farmers markets, cheap eats and sports game information. The toilets and showers were clean, and didn't have to queue once to use them. The kitchen was large enough for several people cooking at once to do it comfortable, although fridge space was a little low. The free breakfast was scrumptious :-). TV room, comfortable - although a couple of sofas were a little broken, but all in all an excellent hostel. I'm not sure I can even find a down point. Nope, all good. I'd really would recommend staying here, I'd come back if I'm ever in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylifetolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you so much for the great review, and your business. It is our goal to keep improving and to eventually become one of the best hostels and travel resources there is. Hope to see you again the next time you are in San Diego. Thanks again for the review and the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
821 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Property: Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing