We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$194
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$308
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$159
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$559
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$329
US$309
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$1,124
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$1,128
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
153
138
56
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
138
56
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgaslamp quarterhi hosteldorm roomgreat kitchenfree breakfastclean sheetsfantastic staythe gas lamp districtconvention centerbalboa parknoiseearplugsnightliferoommatesensuitebunkcereal
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 373 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Cool hostel. Fun vibe. Awesome set up for travellers. Kitchen is a bonus and lots of activities. Make sure you're either very tired and have ear plugs or you ask for a room NOT on street side. We had a room and could hear every sneeze on the street. Staff were happy to help us move to a better room though.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 534catherinei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Thank you for the review! The Gaslamp is quiet lively and therefore can be noisy. If you stay with us again, please call ahead and we'll gladly reserve you in an interior room :-). Cheers, HI-San Diego Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016

I was amazed at how clean and beautiful this hostel was. There were plenty of bathrooms. I came here for the Society for Neuroscience Annual Meeting in November and got to meet other neuroscientists in the common areas. It's only an 8-minute walk from the convention center and near Ralph's. My only concern was that the hostel's website says that there is a free continental breakfast. If by "continental" they mean nothing but bagels, butter, and jam, it is continental. But I think "continental" implies more variety. Overall, my stay here was a good value. When Society for Neuroscience is back in San Diego in a few years, I'll be sure to book this hostel. It's way better than the International Traveler's House Zoo Hostel, where I also stayed during that week. The place is nicely-decorated with mural-type artwork on some of the walls. It has an elevator, which is great for bringing heavy suitcases to different levels! I sleep with earplugs, so the noise of downtown was not a bother.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AcademiaHut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica Q, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2016

Thank you for the glowing review! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also want to thank you for the feedback on the breakfast. We are always looking for areas where we can improve. We look forward to seeing you again when the convention is back in town :-) - HI-San Diego Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2016

I really love this hostal, is cheap, confy and super clean! <3 the staff is really really nice , they help you in everything they can. It`s near everything, really everything, (malls, supermarkets, drug stores, bars, restaurant, padres stadium, etc). I met really interesting people and make good friends. They give you a super complete breakfast, and if you want meal, you need to cooperate with a little money, also if you want to cook something you have all the necessary items for it, the only thing you need is to buy your own things to cook and put your name and number room on it :) My room has conditioned air, private bath, and a mini frigobar. The recreative areas are fine. Also they have some excursions for a low price.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma D. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Thank you for the kind words! We are really glad you had a great stay and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

I went there with friends for a few days and hired two rooms, as soon as we got there we were greeted with an awesome vibe and people around us. There were cute swings for us to sit on and cool artwork to look at and also be sold on all the floors. I personally love Our private room with bathroom was really cool and spacious, very clean and no problems to be seen. We were on the second floor room 214. Breakfast was basic but enough
To prepare us for a long day. There was free printing and wifi was decent compared to other hostels we have stayed at. 100% recommend to anybody of all ages, the hip hop cypher is also cool to check out and there is also lots of cute prints to be sold.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank jacintarosew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Thank you for the amazing review! Please think of us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

This place is just for sleeping only but my experience was terrible. On the same building , there was a pub with noisy aloud music all night till after midnight . Downtown location is not the advantages.Homelesses strolled around the area, sometimes did bizarre things. Do not favor a cheap accommodation, I recommend to choose hotel in hotel circle if you prefer more privacy. However, it's perfect for part guys or gals. Let use your own preferences.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank jajavalB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Thank you for your candid review. Might I recommend our sister location in the quiet residential area of Point Loma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews