We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
156
141
57
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
141
57
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaslamp quarter hi hostel dorm room great kitchen free breakfast clean sheets restaurants and bars the gas lamp district convention center third floor balboa park noise nightlife roommates ensuite bunk cereal
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 381 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

Initially we were sceptical. How will it be , with kids & bunker beds.But when ee reached, the warm welcoming attitude of front desk & instantly allowing an early checkin was very comforting. But euphoria got the better of us, when we entered our room with 2 bunk beds and my kids just erupted in joy. It was s a grt new experience, totally different from any other hotels. The room had all necessary amenities. Kitchen upstairs has all tht u need to self sustain. U can iron from laundry room. I felt very safe. Importantly, the location is fabulous. At Gaslamp with a reasonabl price, thus is the place who has cramped budget or needs a room in Gaslamp area in short notice.All grt food scattered all around it, Ross nearby, OTT near as well. Above all, the officials are so good, helpful & approachable.All in all, highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank indiaoutbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for the review! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We had a frighteningly negative experience on the first night we arrived at the hostel on Sunday October 1st 2017...

Upon arrival to the hostel we were notified there was an organised party happening on our corridor, we were really happy about this because we'd just arrived in San Diego and loved that the hostel was lively and social. The party ended and dissipated very quickly at 10pm sharp just as the receptionist told us it would and the corridor returned to quiet tranquillity...

Happy to be in San Diego and seeing many of the participants of the party drinking alcohol we opened one of our special beers we'd just obtained from The Lost Abbey in San Marcos and decided to play an innocent game of pool. Within literally 2 minutes (barely time to rack up the balls) the 2 acting receptionist staff had stormed the room and confronted us. They removed our drinks from us, poured them down the sink and demanded our room be searched for any other beers. We are hugely passionate about beer and had been in California for 3 weeks collecting rare beers for our friends at home. They were going to search the room and drain every sentimental bottle we had until there was nothing left, eventually after pleading with them they had noticed it was an innocent mistake and we were a young, harmless couple looking to play a game of pool.

After the scary incident I later noticed there was a no alcohol policy, but seeing some of the party goers in our corridor upon arrival drinking confused me and made me think this may be quite relaxed. We were given no polite notice that drinking was not allowed despite literally just checking in - the drinks were ripped from us, drained and our entire sentimental collection in our room was in jeopardy too.

For a young, unthreatening couple to be treated like hardened criminals within minutes of arrival for mistakenly drinking a sentimental beer at 10pm after a full on party was happening in our corridoor is disgusting and everybody will know about what happened.

With the exception of this incident, the stay was faultless and we adored the hostel and facilities themselves. Such a shame we were treated like this.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarnesBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thank you for your honest review. We have spoken to the staff about incident. We wish you luck in future travels and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

The service on the hostel was nice, all the receptionist were very helpful, is everything very clean and I appreciated.
But the location is not so good, at the same corner there are several bars with music all night and through the windows you can hear everything so is not so calm if you came to business or some courses. Also another thing is there is no light or electrical outlet near the beds. In a bedroom for 10 pax there is only a few electrical outlets.
They only serve breakfast after 8 am, so if you want to start earlier your work or travel journey you need to wait or you keep without breakfast. Also there is no many options only beggels, cereals.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank saramolarinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you for all of the great feedback. We are currently working on a solution for getting outlets next to every bed in our dorms. We hope to see yo again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We stayed at various youth hostels during this road trip in California and this one was by far the best value for money, best location and overall best managed property we found. Staff was nice and gave lots of useful insights, and the location is smack in the heart of Gas Lamp district. It does get busy (and noisy) at night, and parking can be difficult overnight, specially over the weekend, but I would recommend this place anytime!

Room tip: 2nd floor rooms are great for nearby TV room, laundry room & computers while 3rd floor is practical for kitchen and pool table!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fredericg189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

I am an HI member & have stayed in many of them in various locations but this was my first time to the San Diego downtown one. To be able to come here from the airport by bus and walking, being within walking distance of the Coaster train and being right in the heart of the Gaslamp District makes this a very economical way to travel. The hostel has an artsy decor and a large breakfast area with free coffee & tea anytime. Good area to be on the free WiFi also. Breakfast was simple with fruit & bagels & instant oatmeal.
I was in a dorm room with big lockers and the baths are in the halls but are private. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint is there are not bed lights for reading or outlets for charging electronics. One of my roommates very rudely crawled across my bed to get to an outlet down below and plugged in her cell phone and left it laying on my pillow to charge. Most hostels these days have added outlet strips for this reason and if this place was updated to do that they could also add bed lights. The Boston HI is probably the best one I have stayed in and they have lighted cubbies over the beds to hold your cell phone while charging, book, water bottle, etc But this was an excellent price for this great downtown location.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vagabondginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith_AGM, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for the feedback! This is something we are currently working on. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the parts of your stay :)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews