We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$275
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
C$274
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
C$274
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
beachbumz09
Greensboro, North Carolina, USA
Amazing experience!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 4, 2023
This Inn is amazing! It’s very well kept and exceptionally clean. The staff is wonderful… manager, front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance. All are very friendly and helpful. The views are to die for…. The ocean, sunrises and sunsets! You literally feel like you are in the ocean! I’ll definitely go there again!
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Lots of things close by to do and wonderful restaurants too!
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$397
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$397
  • Vio.com
    C$261
  • Expedia.com
    C$287
4.1 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$218
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$204
  • Vio.com
    C$151
  • Hotels.com
    C$204
2.1 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$314
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$314
  • Vio.com
    C$279
  • Hotels.com
    C$311
4.4 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$315
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$315
  • Hotels.com
    C$314
  • Expedia.com
    C$314
6.3 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Beachfront
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
Booking.com
C$238
C$214
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$222
  • Hotels.com
    C$221
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$214
8.3 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$300
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    C$337
  • Agoda.com
    C$253
  • Expedia.com
    C$355
12.7 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
C$191
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$191
  • Agoda.com
    C$151
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
8.2 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$164
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$149
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$145
  • Hotels.com
    C$163
9.6 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$679
C$637
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    C$637
  • Priceline
    C$637
  • Hotels.com
    C$636
8.7 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$163
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$163
  • Vio.com
    C$114
  • Hotels.com
    C$167
13.2 km from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
301
76
26
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
301
76
26
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean beach lower patio wedding bedroom ob surfers pacific storage couch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 442 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2023

Gorgeous views. Modern rooms. Clean and friendly staff. Great location. Many restaurants and stores. I highly recommend staying there and will definitely go again. Safe environment. Needs a room key to get on the grounds

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Escape15222523332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2023

Two story renovated 1950’s motel. Pluses are location over looking ocean, sun deck perfect for sunset viewing, free parking, moderate price, friendly desk staff, gorgeous rose gardens and plants everywhere, clean pool, and pleasant accommodations.

Three nights in two bedroom, one bath, kitchenette apartment. Full frig and stove, nice eating utensils, great tv for baseball play off games.
Asked for ground level accommodations, sorry sold out.
14 stairs to second floor using a cane. Oh my had I known sooner but to late now.
Plan to return as I love the easy ocean viewing.

Room tip: Ask for ground level if mobility is an issue. You are on your own handling luggage.
Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carolebJ6450YI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Fleming, General Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for not being able to accommodate your request for downstairs. We will certainly always try to accommodate this request when possible. We hope to see you soon and please call us directly for reservations to receive your returners discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2023

An absolutely unforgettable travel experience - will definitely be back!! With over 20 years of travel experience, I've stayed in countless hotels, airbnbs, etc. and can confidently say the Inn at Sunset Cliffs is at the top of my list. Everything about my stay was pleasant - the fantastic ocean views, positive vibes of the staff, and the cleanliness/security of the room/hotel.

The Inn is nestled just outside of San Diego in Ocean Beach and is within walking distance of many local shops, restaurants and the beach. It's also a convenient 10 minute drive from the airport.  The hotel is not very large but it's good because you end up receiving more attention from the staff and feel like a member of the family. It was also quiet and didn't feel crowded. The room itself was quite spacious and had plenty of amenities such as a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. I also lucked out and got a room close to the ocean so I could fall asleep to waves each night.

I want to give a shout out to three staff members - Gavin, Katie, and Richard, who consistently went above and beyond to ensure myself and the other guests were having a great stay. All of them had consistent positive energy, attention to detail and 5 star hospitality service to both the guest and the community, something I had not experienced with other previous hotel accomodations. From the first interaction, it was clear you could see the enthusiasm and passion they have for helpings others.

On the last day of my trip, the Inn hosted its 1st annual car show with over 50 cars, a DJ, food truck and afterparty. It was an absolute blast!! However, what stood out the most was seeing the Inn raffle off prizes with ticket proceeds benefiting local charities. At the end of the day, the Inn at Sunset Cliffs is still a business but it was refreshing to see them give back to the community.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2023

I’ve stayed here a dozen times and I’m never disappointed. The cutest boutique hotel in San Diego away from the madness and right on the ocean. Great service, clean, cool little pool, mini golf and close to ocean beach. (We walk there)

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank buyinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2023 via mobile

We stayed here in April for a long weekend. We loved it!! Perfect location! You can walk a mile into Ocean Beach to the main area or walk up the rod to Sunset Cliffs. Great views right out your door. Away from all the busy tourists. Great staff. I’m not sure on the reviews that they didn’t clean because they cleaned our room every day. Have is great suggestions for the area. Price was great. I cannot say enough good things. Will have to go back some day.

Room tip: There is free parking and we always got a spot, but if you don’t get a spot there is a lot of street parking near
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lisamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews