We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Expedia.com
C$129
Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
LyleSRice
Redwood City, California
It could have been worse!
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 23, 2022
I probably would not have booked this place if I had read all the reviews before but I had a hard time finding a room for our Friday/Sat night stay. That said, our room was clean, the receptionist had my pre-paid reservation at hand and she graciously switched us to a downstairs room instead of the upstairs. Additionally, instead of the $200 deposit indicated on the sign in the lobby, she put a $100 charge on my credit card for "incidentals and violating of no smoking". Hard to imagine what incidentals might be. She also warned about minimizing using our car as we might loose our parking spot.

The Wi-Fi worked well for us. Not lightening speed but good enough for checking email, etc. Didn't try streaming nor did we try the Roku TV.

The linens were clean but stained and the towels were the thin side and also stained. This is a bare minimum room - small fridge and microwave but no coffee maker in the room. Not a problem for us as we bring our own coffee making stuff. A Motel 6 is a cut above this one.

Our room was surprisingly quiet considering the location right off US 5. It could be quieter if the door to the room fitted more closely as traffic noise was from the 10th street off-ramp. One can see light from the outside around the edges of the door including the bottom - maybe the source of bugs that another guest complained about.

The location is nice and there are restaurants within walking distance. A lovely Italian place SoleLuna in the shadow of the El Cortez is a 7 minute walk away.

It is obvious that the owners are making the bare minimum investment for maximum profits. Too bad - this could be much nicer.

But if asked would I stay here again - my answer would be no.
Date of stay: April 2022
Nearby Hotels
piscine et spa
12.8 km from San Diego Downtown Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.8 km from San Diego Downtown Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
10.0 km from San Diego Downtown Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
9.6 km from San Diego Downtown Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
4.5 km from San Diego Downtown Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
4.9 km from San Diego Downtown Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
1.6 km from San Diego Downtown Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
7
18
18
18
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7
18
18
18
42
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2022 via mobile

To be fair we had seen the bad reviews and had little choice as we booked late for an event. We should have paid more as the experience was terrible. To start the door handle was falling from the outside which told us that it had been tampered with. We felt very unsafe. The area is full of transients and people that appear to be on drugs. Besides the door handle, we walked in and the smell of smoke hit us like a ton of bricks. It was very profound. When we asked about changing to a different room the clerk was very unapologetic and said that it was the only room available. We should have left. We too woken up by the sounds of people fighting and throwing things in the corridor. Lastly, the pictures should tell the story but I will say that it was so bad we opted not to shower there as it was dirty and the water pressure was almost non existent. I would give it a 0 but it was not an option.

Room tip: Good luck with parking as they only have a few spots.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hvqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2022 via mobile

This hotel was in a rough area. Did not feel safe. Not sufficient parking. Woke up in middle of night to a couple screaming and throwing things that were hitting against a common wall (this went on all night first night), loud partying second night. Creepy transient people in parking lot and immediate area. Hole in ceiling above shower. Employees didn’t seem to care. Pictures on website are NOTHING like rooms available. Run!!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SavvyTraveler0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 6, 2021

This place was so gross.

Firstly right off the highway exit, so fast cars and very loud. Secondly its a motel, not clear in the website. Lights are the white light and walls are plain white cement. Looks like a prison, no frills at all.

Check in office was locked for their own safety, that should give you an idea (have to talk to the guy through a small bank like thick bullet window type.

The room was terrible, cold hard floor (no carpeting), small sink was in the room not in the bathroom. Walls plain white, no pictures or decoration at all. Lighting horrible. Heater was a small unit attached to the wall under the window, so loud and blew the curtains up each time it kicked in (sending dust everywhere). The back window so dangerous anyone could walk by and look in (and potentially smash your window and enter). Someone knocked on the door late at night and "pretended" to be hotel staff saying he was there to change the dirty blanket. Huh? We never called to ask for that. Through the peephole he was not wearing any hotel uniform. We yelled for him to leave immediately or we would call the police. We then pushed the wooden desk against the door, to prevent anyone from trying to break in.

In the room, scariest or grossest part was the 2 drawers. We opened them up and both had clothes in them. Not just like a sock, but really full drawers of folded used clothes, as if somebody else was occupying the room (or living there full time). Scary and odd. Smoke detector was hanging broken off the ceiling, we thought there might be a camera in there, ugh.

And it wasn't cheap.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE! You will regret it.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sightseer07207953618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 27, 2021

There were burn mark all over the carpet. The Carpet were dirty like they have never been shampooed because when I walked barefooted, I would have dirty feet.
The hotel Room smelled like cigarette smoke.
The person below me, moaned and yelled for almost 2 days. I did inform the hotel about this issues but I was told that they would handle it. The hotel room looks nothing like the pictures in the online booking. They are a lot more older and you can hear all the noise from the passing street.
The TV had Roku service / TV --- It kept going in and out.
Over-all, the staff were really nice but the hotel experience was very poor.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O1506YCTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 22, 2021 via mobile

Pretty close to the beach and other fun San Diego things. I think a good deal for the location. Slightly sketchy part of town so I’d be careful walking around at night but whatever. Nice staff. Good option for a budget.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 524chariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews