We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of everything!”
Review of Mudville Flats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mudville Flats
Ranked #6 of 34 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
1 review
“In the heart of everything!”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend if September 10th. We were traveling to shoot a wedding, but also planned on taking some time to hit up the museums at Balboa Park and to relax. I'll admit that this place wasn't my first choice, but I am really glad we stayed here!!! Beautiful rooms and a gorgeous little patio yard outback. I ADORE bungalow style design and this place was perfect! One of the owners, Mike, was a super nice guy and really made us feel comfortable. Definitely recommend and will stay here again :-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csaint11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
127
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the Mudville Flats Aug 19 - 21. My husband & I just live in North County, but didn't have a lot of time for a "get-away", so opted for a "stay-cation" for our anniversary. What a treat! Linda was so helpful & knowledgeable about things to do in the area, including things that would interest someone who is not a tourist! She also presented us with an amazing bottle of wine as a GIFT for our anniversary! The area has some great restaurants - one of our favorites was the Cowboy Star. We tried several of the places recommended, all were fabulous. The apartments are a wonderful craftsman style and take you back to a different era with wood paneling, beams, floors. The bed... so comfortable! Prices are so reasonable, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnKL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed at the Mudville Flats for 6 nights . We found the location ideal. It is close to the Gaslamp Quarter,Horton Plaza, many sights and many great restaurants. Linda and Mike were very helpful and so gracious when I managed to blow a ciricuit in the late evening and when all of San Diego was under a power outage for a night. They really care about their guests. The Kitchen has all you need, the beds are comfy, the rooms tastefully done with a great bathtub, Direct TV and a nice deck with access to the garden and BBQ if you want to grill!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Chose this based on reviews, web page and position, all info was as good as per websites. Liked the idea of an apartment in a small boutique hotel instead of a large hotel, as stopping for 6 nights.
First time an Diego, so didn't know exactly what to expect, despite research. Landed in LA early am, after long flight from Sydney (traveled day before from WA) Hired car drove down to view Queen Mary at Long-beach, but didn't open to 11am, drive out of LA fairly busy, but quieter nearer to SD, took between 1 -2 hours. Hired a sat-nav, so finding flats fairly easy, meter outside, and usually parking places available, until you unload, then there is inclusive parking just over the street / block. Wonderful old style big comfortable bed, 'compact bathroom', small but very adequate kitchen area and appliances, sitting area with large sofa and desk. Free wi-fi a bonus, large wall mounted TV. Plenty of room to move, and all very clean. We had a balcony area, just outside our first floor window, but had to exit thru outside door (not a problem) there is also a ground level sitting area / table/ chairs, BBQ, bike hire . Its a home from home really. Lindy and Mike were very hospitable, lots of local knowledge and tips, brochure in room, loaned me her phone etc.
San Diego has a nice sized downtown area, all walkable distances from the flats. Impressed with boutique breweries / bars, choice of restaurants in all areas including Gaslamp quarter.
Not too overwhelming an area for non SD residents to drive around
will put SD and Mudville flats on our return list

Room Tip: we had flat D, not sure if one is at the front, but would opt for the rear of the house as busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ammark57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and like to stay in small inns; places that offer more than the "cold and sterile" environment of a hotel. Mudville Flats certainly fits the bill. Both Linda and Mike are amazing hosts; friendly but not overbearing. They can answer any questions you have and will offer suggestions as to where to go and what to see...all you have to do is ask. Location, location, location! Mudville Flats is within walking distance of all we wanted to do.and see. We were able to walk to the Gaslamp Quarters and spend the day shopping and the evenings enjoying the unique atmosphere.There is a transit station a few blocks away from Mudville Flats and from there you can get anywhere. We did not rent a car and were able to visit Sandiego Zoo, SeaWorld, Downtown, OldTown,the harbour, SanDiego Village on the Sea, and Mission Beach ....all by using the Public Transit System . It was very effecient. The longest travel time using SanDiego's Transit System was to Mission Beach and it took about twenty to thirty minutes .
As for the inn itself... The rooms are large, attractive, and quiet. Everything we needed to feel comfortable was in the room. We stayed on the second floor of the flat and enjoyed the balcony which overlooked the backyard. The backyard was beatiful; palm trees, a wall of vines and flowers, a BBQ to use[ which we did], and of course the use of the patio set and comfy chairs. It was a treat to come back to "this slice of paradise" after spending a busy day shopping or experiencing the sights. We also enjoyed the fact that this is NOT a B&B...you make what you want for breakfast, and you do not have to get up at a designated time in order to eat breakfast. In fact, you can slip on your robe, make your coffee, and then proceed to the balcony and sip in silence. A wonderful way to start the day!
We stayed at Mudville Flats for ten days and enjoyed every moment. Linda and Mike are fantastic hosts, and their inn offers relaxation, comfort, and a central location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargoIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights recently with my husband and 2 girls (12 and 16). Mudville is a fabulous house with 3 apartments. We had a downstairs apartment that had a big king sized bed, with a small kitchen off to the side (full sized fridge and cooker if you need it). The sitting area had a couch that pulled out into a double bed (very comfortable and big enough for 2 teenagers). There was a big wardrobe also that had a really cool revolving type door. The bathroom is small but plenty of storage shelves for toiletries (and we had alot!). There were beach towels available also which was handy.
The T.V. had alot of channels enough to keep the girls entertained when needed. The outside deck was accessible by going out of the apartment and exiting the back door just round the corner. It was very peaceful here and had lovely loungers and a patio table and chairs.
We did not see any other guests while staying here (except for the time my husband got locked out and someone from upstairs knocked to check if it was ok to let him in!!). The location is brilliant, walking distance (5 mins) to great nightlife, restaurants and shops. We had a rental car and there was free car parking space included in a garage across the street.
Linda met us at the house after i rang to say we had landed in San Diego. She gave me a loan of a mobile phone as my phone would not connect to a network. She also gave us great advice on where to eat nearby and there was plenty of information in the apartment on what to do during our stay.
I would definitely stay here again, it is so much more comfortable than staying in an impersonal hotel room. Was great to come back here after a day out and be able to relax on the deck with a drink while the girls watched T.V. and got ready then it was only 5 mins walk to dinner. Perfect

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at Mudville Flats July 15 & 16, 2011. We stayed in the front apartment with the private entrance and the nice sunporch. We called Linda as instructed 1/2 hour prior to our arrival and she was waiting for out front for us. The parking is secure and is in an underground lot across the street. Once you get the hang of the one-way streets and figure out the parking garage, it's a snap and very convenient. The apartment was lovely and we loved the historic feel of the place. The bed was super comfortable. Nice amenities such as a flat screen tv, full kitchen, large bathroom, menus from nearby restaurants, ceiling fans and a separate living room area. Mudville Flats is located close to everything in Gaslamp Quarter and we were able to walk to lots of places, thus keeping our car parked in the parking garage. Linda was always available if needed for advice or questions. We were also given a key to the main house where we could use the backyard which had a BBQ grill and seating area. I brought my travel yoga mat and did yoga & meditation on the front sun porch each morning which was nice and private. The room was decorated with great baseball memorabilia! My husband had never stayed in a bed & breakfast type accomodation (although this is not a B & B since there is a full kitchen) and he was a little skeptical, but once he saw the place he really liked it. There was no separate charge for the parking garage. The price was reasonable for that area of San Diego. We will definitely stay at Mudville Flats again. My husband has decided that this is our new place to stay when we visit San Diego and I totally agree!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n2yoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4,328 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mudville Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mudville Flats

Property: Mudville Flats
Address: 747 10th Ave, C, San Diego, CA 92101-6546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action Mudville Flats features century old charm built in the Classic California Craftsman style in 1905. Each Flat is its own large luxury apartment complete with a full size kitchen,heavenly California King size bed and full living rooms with comfortable high end furnishings. Mudville Flats provides free wi-fi,secure underground parking, 42"Hi-def lcd flat screen TV. Walking distance to all major city attractions, the Convention Center,Petco Park,Gaslamp Quarter,Harbor, Balboa Park,Little Italy.24 on-site concierge service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mudville Flats Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing