We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stephen C

We absolutely love the San Diego Intercontinental hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
The San Diego Intercontinental (IC) is our favorite hotel in San Diego. We have stayed at most of the downtown hotels. The IC does everything extremely well. The rooms are contemporary with very comfortable beds. Regular USB and USB-C power ports are available. Excellent Wi-Fi and large flat panel TVs.
We really appreciate how well the staff is trained here. The housekeepers are friendly and always ask if we need anything. The front desk has never let us down with a request. The location of this hotel is one of the best in San Diego, right on Harbor Drive with great views of the bay and the city. I think we are closing in on our 10th stay. My wife always mentions how comfortable she is walking around the general hotel area.
We really love the suites. They are roomy and have amazing views of the bay. If a suite is not your thing, definitely request a corner room. There are also "club” rooms on the top floor that give you access to their intimate clubroom, which has a variety of foods and drinks available.
This hotel has a two terrific casual restaurants and a fine dining Italian restaurant on the top floor. Room service is elegantly presented and very tasty. Of course, there are no shortage of wonderful nearby San Diego restaurants to choose from.
We have been fortunate to stay at AAA five-star hotels. I would certainly put the San Diego IC at a 4.5, in comparison. The only reason I would deduct half a star is because they do not have a spa. You can always request in- room massages and the hotel will set them up for you. If you use a service such as Zeel, that's not a problem. The service, room quality and over-all ambience is certainly five-star to us. Fortunately, the SD IC is priced with comparable four-star hotels downtown.
One of the big benefits that the IHG group provides is the "ambassador club.” For $200 (or comparable points), you get a free weekend night, guaranteed late check out until 4 PM, and a host of other benefits. It's one of the best programs deals we've ever seen. IHG has a full lineup of high-end hotels down to budget hotels. We've stayed at other IHG properties and they are all well run.
In summary, after staying at every four-star hotel in downtown San Diego and nearby Coronado, we feel that the San Diego Intercontinental tops them all. A five-star experience at a four-star price. What could be better?
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Summer in San Diego is high tourist season, but you can't beat our weather
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing such a comprehensive and glowing review of the San Diego Intercontinental! We're delighted to hear that it has become your favorite hotel in the area. Your detailed insights on the rooms, amenities, and exceptional staff service are greatly appreciated.

It's wonderful to know that you enjoy the comfortable beds, modern conveniences like USB ports, and the excellent Wi-Fi. Your positive comments about the friendly housekeepers and reliable front desk are heartwarming. The location, right on Harbor Drive with stunning views, is indeed a gem.

We're thrilled that you love the spacious suites and highly recommend the corner and club rooms. It's great to hear that you find the dining options, both casual and fine dining, to be exceptional.

While we understand the minor drawback of not having an on-site spa, we're glad the in-room massage services meet your needs. Your endorsement of the IHG Ambassador program and its benefits is highly valued.

Thank you for your loyalty and for highlighting why the San Diego Intercontinental stands out among other four-star hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 10th stay and many more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$433
C$385
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$482
  • Priceline
    C$560
9.4 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$145
  • Official Site
    C$163
4.7 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$384
  • Algotels
7.9 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$205
  • Algotels
5.0 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$315
  • Algotels
0.8 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$350
  • Expedia.com
    C$442
8.4 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$458
  • Algotels
9.1 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$372
  • travelup.com
17.6 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$97
  • Algotels
13.0 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
790
96
56
28
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
790
96
56
28
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ambassador member the club lounge uss midway floor to ceiling windows corner suite pool deck beautiful hotel bell staff self parking room key business trip the entire staff seaport village upon check fitness center per day balboa park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel last weekend. The location was great there was a harbor is just right across the street, and we could wlak along the coastline. It was impressive athat all staffs was very kind and frin

And one the staffs Aiko was so professional, very supportive, willing to help us. I made a reservation on a wrong date by mistake. But she figured out by communicating with IHG CS center. So many thank to her. We enjoyed the weekend getaway.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel's excellent location and the beautiful harbor. It's wonderful to know that the staff, especially Aiko, made such a positive impression. We're delighted that Aiko's professionalism and support helped resolve your reservation issue, allowing you to enjoy your weekend getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2024

Great greeting to the hotel by Kirk! And it is such an amazing hotel with a great view. Staff is so friendly and smiling. It is in a great location, easy to go to the favourite places in the city. Would recommend 100% to everyone going to San Diego!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilksenungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the amazing view, friendly staff, and convenient location. Kirk and the team are delighted by your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2024

Pretty much paid $500 for this weekend getaway to get treated poorly.

So much headache and stress over a simple food order, and blaming their incompetence on me.

I went to order some food in-room w/ the intention of applying a $20 credit. They said you have to go to the restaurant in-person to apply the credit. I said I'll go to the restaurant then. They mistakenly ordered the food up to my room anyways. I explained to the room service person the situation. She accepts it was a mistake and says she will talk to the lady who took my order to apply the credit anyways. This horrible lady calls me back and says she can't apply the credit because it was in-room. I said I was going to go to restaurant in-person so that I can use the credit, and we had abandoned the in-room delivery.The fact that she wouldn't believe me or the room service lady and decided to prolong this stupid trival matter futher is beyond me.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RadhaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience. We deeply regret the inconvenience you faced with your food order and the misunderstanding about the credit application. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will address this with our team to prevent future issues. Please reach out to us directly so we can make amends and ensure your next stay is exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2024

Kirk the bellman was extremely pleasant, and very helpful. He came down to the garage and assisted us with the EV charging, and loading our luggage and showed us the easiest route to access our floor. He showed us where the bar and restaurant was located, and introduced us to Maria who was excellent at the front counter. Kirk then took us up to our room and showed us how the keycard turned on the lights. He explained all the amenities and services the hotel provides. Kirk was always friendly and asked us how our trip was going each time he saw us.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nomad660714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2024

Thank you for your kind review! We're delighted to hear that Kirk provided such exceptional service during your stay. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to both Kirk and Maria. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2024

From the valet parking to the check-in desk and everything afterwards was a very pleasurable experience, which made for a very pleasant stay. The hotel staff here were friendly and accommodating. I do want to give a shout out to Kirk. He was the gentleman who brought up the luggage to our room. With a jovial and friendly attitude he to was very accommodating.
He also was very informative. He offered tips about how to navigate our first visit to the San Diego zoo to catching the ferry to Coronado Island. Thanks again Kirk.
The stay at this InterContinental was great.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2024

Thank you for your glowing review! We're delighted to hear that your stay at the InterContinental was such a pleasurable experience. Kirk and our team are thrilled to have contributed to making your visit memorable. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews