We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Coy R

What a place to stay at..

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
One of the best hotels that I have had the pleasure of staying at. The suite on the 10th floor has an amazing view and one of the best to wake up to. There was an issue where our reservation made with AMEX didn’t go through right, but Marisol made sure that we were taken are of at the end. Totally a freak thing and one off thing, but nothing but great things to say about the staff who helped us. Even the valets outside were so helpful. 15/10, if you’re looking for a place to get away close to downtown, this is the place.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your suite with its amazing view. We're sorry about the reservation issue but glad Marisol could resolve it for you. It's great to know our staff, including the valets, made a positive impact. We appreciate your high praise and look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$425
  • Expedia.com
    C$411
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$263
  • Priceline
1.9 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$365
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hyatt.com
    C$270
  • Hotels.com
    C$364
0.8 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$468
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$374
  • Expedia.com
    C$475
9.1 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$581
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$628
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$477
  • Vio.com
    C$517
17.6 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$114
  • Expedia.com
    C$167
13.0 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
C$960
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$948
  • Vio.com
5.0 km from InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
812
96
56
28
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
812
96
56
28
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ambassador member the club lounge uss midway floor to ceiling windows corner suite pool deck beautiful hotel bell staff self parking room key business trip the entire staff seaport village upon check fitness center per day balboa park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel lives up to the expectations of an Intercontinental Hotel. Spacious, clean, and well appointed room. Views of the San Diego bay are gorgeous. Mackenzie at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Service so far has been very good.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine05780241737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your spacious, well-appointed room and the gorgeous views of San Diego Bay. We're glad Mackenzie at the front desk made a positive impression. We look forward to continuing to provide excellent service throughout your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was 5 nights, two different experiences. First, I met up with a stunning romantic partner for a waterfront dinner and desert back at the hotel. Delightful location to make a hot, unforgettable memory. So good it felt scandalous!!

Then a childhood friend joined me and we visited the Midway museum, a Navy base as well as Camp Pendleton. This location provided us walking distance to Midway and a central place to be based for sightseeing, dining, and transportation.

The hotel and staff are fantastic. Ramzi was amazing, helping me with my bags and making sure I had a taxi just in time for my pickup back to the airport. Food and service in the restaurant were excellent. Housekeeping and maintenance did a wonderful job handling all my little requests. I used texts to let them know the best time to clean the room.

I would definitely stay at the Intercontinental again. More like a 5 star than 4--a superb property with top notch customer service and ideal location. Perfect, really!!

Room tip: The little Market on the first floor is fantastic for anything you might have forgotten, and has fresh sandwiches and snacks.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaniceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your detailed experience! We're thrilled to hear you had such a memorable stay, from your romantic evening to exploring the city with your friend. It's great to know our location, staff, and amenities met your needs perfectly. Special thanks for mentioning Ramzi's exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back for another superb stay at the Intercontinental!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great welcome at the front desk. Marisol was so friendly and helpful and gave us a great room with an amazing view which started our wonderful experience. The room was very modern, comfortable and clean. The hotel is at a convenient location in downtown and close to the waterfront. Definitely a great place to stay in San Diego!!

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robin and Marti... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear that Marisol made your welcome special and that you enjoyed your room with its amazing view. It's great to know you found the room comfortable and the location convenient. We look forward to hosting you again in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was great, the people were nice. The men who got our bags was very helpful. Also, his name is Kirk. The pool could have been deeper. Beds were comfortable even though we were only there for a couple of hours. Okay food at the pool, didn’t try the restaurant.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our service and found Kirk to be very helpful. It's great to hear you were comfortable during your stay. We'll take your comments about the pool and food into consideration. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the intercontinental in San Diego from Monday - Wednesday. The whole bell boy staff went above and beyond the call and made my check in seem less. In particular, a gentlemen by the name of Anthony Molina was everything I could’ve asked for and after scurrying from one hotel to the next with numerous bags and on a strict deadline, Anthony was only able to calm my nerves by transporting my bags efficiently and friendly and easy going demeanor. Truly appreciative to Anthony and hope to return soon.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santiago Navarro, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental San Diego, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that our bell staff, especially Anthony Molina, provided outstanding service and made your check-in seamless. It's wonderful to know Anthony's efficiency and friendly demeanor helped you during a busy time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews