We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, slow servive”
Review of La Puerta

La Puerta
Ranked #93 of 5,558 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

Really good food and drinks, but the service is a bit slow. Great chips and salsa, quesadillas and street tacos. It’s always crowded so expect a wait for a table and plan for at least an hour once seated.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 349rameshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Salud, Ramesh! Thanks for your feedback regarding our service speed. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your quesadillas, and we hope to welcome you back for another visit the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 141 of 879 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by for tacos and margaritas . The tacos were good but the lowrider margarita was even better. Very clean place and very busy. Will comeback.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank camvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Gracias, amigo! We're stoked that you loved our Lowrider margarita, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another round the next time you're in the Gaslamp Quarter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

La Puerta is a rock n roll sort of atmosphere. Loud music, the overall ambiance is dark to black, there is rock icon art all over the walls, a cute alter in the back, good bar menu and THE BEST TACOS IN SAN DIEGO.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 649lizt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Muchas gracias, Liz! We're stoked to hear you love our tacos! Thanks for sharing this review. We can't wait to welcome you back to La Puerta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for happy hour had delicious street tacos. Ok margaritas and great service. It was very busy but we found a spot at the bar and enjoyed watching t.v.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank maemae01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Thank you for stopping by for a La Puerta Happy Hour! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We hope to welcome you in for another marg the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Service was great just flew in from the east coast and the place was packed at 4 pm. Had the chicken burrito and my wife enjoyed the pork tacos. Pork tacos were outstanding

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank RMPFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Muchas gracias for this review! We're happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your visit to La Puerta. Our pork tacos are crowd pleasers, for sure! We hope to welcome you back again the next time you're in Gaslamp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Puerta also viewed

 

Been to La Puerta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing