We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Yacht America Whale Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
San Diego Whale Watching Cruise and Maritime...
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Have never been on a sail boat before, and have never seen whales, so checked off two experiences with one excursion. Once we cleared the harbor, immediately began seeing dolphins following the ship. We soon spotted two California Gray Whales breaching, which the captain stated was unusual. Also saw a mother and her calf, though we kept a good distance as to not disturb them. On the way back to harbor saw more dolphins and sea lions swimming together. It was just fantastic! The captain and crew were all so friendly and knowledgeable, it made this one of the highlights of our vacation in San Diego. They advise in their ad to dress in layers for this activity because it is quite cool out on the water, and luckily we abided. Some showed up in shorts and flip flops, and ended up shivering in blankets for most of the journey. They do provide free snacks and soda or water, plus there is a very friendly little dog who lives on board, and keeps an eye out for everyone.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain troy"
in 7 reviews
"maritime museum"
in 11 reviews
"american flag"
in 4 reviews
"america's cup"
in 6 reviews
"wear layers"
in 2 reviews
"dolphins and sea lions"
in 3 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 3 reviews
"bring sunscreen"
in 2 reviews
"blue whale"
in 2 reviews
"hour sail"
in 2 reviews
"marine life"
in 2 reviews
"star of india"
in 2 reviews
"sails"
in 13 reviews
"replica"
in 7 reviews
"hoist"
in 6 reviews
"crew"
in 40 reviews
"calf"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2017

Had a wonderful few hours on the 139' sail boat America with Captain Troy, Al and their crew looking for whales. Some passengers got to hoist the sails and American flag. Motor sailed out past the lobster traps until we found pods of dolphins. Captain Troy turned off the motor and stayed with the pods while the dolphins entertained their audience. No whales this day. Sailed back to the dock - a very pleasant afternoon on the sea. Soda/water and chips/granola bars offered for free - beer for $4/5. Narrator Al is keeping you laughing with jokes and entertained with lots of stories about San Diego, boats, etc. Entrance to the Maritime Museum and all the ships docked by the America is included - leave time after the excursion to see them all - especially the Star of India and the museum on the ferry. Sit in the center of the boat if you get queasy. Another bucket list item checked off for the hubby. Keep in mind that the parking meters are only up to 3 hours - park in a lot because the cruise is more than 3 hours.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

We had out of town guests and decided to go on this excursion literally last minute since our guest's mother had sailed on America in 1997.
Most unfortunately didn't see ANYTHING finally after almost 4hrs. at sea we saw a pod about 4-5 seals. I've seen much more marine life swimming or even walking around La Jolla. The Captain was very quiet and we didn't learn anything interesting.
May be it was not the season, but it would have been nice to know that before embarking on such a time and money consuming trip. The captain did say that we were welcome to return as he was not able to show us any whales on this voyage.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank SanDiegoMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

It was a wonderful day to look for whales. Unfortunately, we did not spot one this day. we did see many dolphins though. They offer half price on next tour if no whale is spotted. Great time was had by all.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile

We spent a beautiful Sunday chasing whales with an "authentic " sea captain, Al, and a very good crew of Bob, Suzie, the real captain and others. Al kept us entertained and informed -- very interactive-- between whale sightings. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank mariann1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yacht America Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Yacht America Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing