We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and decent breakfast, free WiFi Internet in room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #87 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and decent breakfast, free WiFi Internet in room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Sorrento Valley is close to a major highway and byways, easy drive to Lajolla, the airport, zoo or downtown. However less costly than staying downtown.
Also, very quiet neighborhood.

Helpful staff. This is the place to go to spend about 10$ extra per night but be in a hotel instead of a motel. Small pool, but even if big I wouldn't have used it.

I'm nearly six feet tall, and I fit under the shower head with room to spare, I appreciate large bathrooms, room for two adults.

Room Tip: Cheapest room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Derail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and telling other travelers about your experience. We are glad to hear that you found us to be at a “great location.” We are fortunate to be in a great location that gives such as yourself an easy access drive to La Jolla, the airport, San Diego Zoo and Downtown. We are also glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast during your visit. We strive in providing guests with quality service and rooms at a reasonable price and are appreciative that you were able to take notice. We thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and hope to see you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    65
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
35
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama, Panama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I always stay in Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley when I'm in San Diego, they always welcome me with a bag of goodies that at least make me feel good... All personnel is always very nice and I would like to give a special thank to Elisa Santos for all her help and as always she is very helpful, I really appreciate it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are elated to have you as a loyal customer and are thrilled that you again had a great stay during your recent visit in San Diego. Whether or not you are a guest traveling for business or pleasure, we strive in providing guests with exceptional guest experiences like yours and are glad that this was no exception. We thank you again for taking the time to tell other travelers about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I love this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is unbeatable, and the employees are probably the nicest people of any hotel I have stayed in before. I'll keep coming back. My only comment (and I've seen this in other Holiday Inns) is the toilet paper. I don't think anyone who builds these hotels has ever sat down and used the toilet. If they had, they would hate it. You have to be a contortionist to be able to reach the toilet paper behind you when you are done. To make it worse, there is this stupid cosmetic metal shield that hangs over the roll which is supposed to look nice. The only problem is that it rips every single sheet of toilet paper one at a time because the toilet paper is thin... So by the time I am done going, my wrist, back and neck all hurt from trying to reach around and tear off one sheet at a time. Seriously, I am surprised that guests haven't tried to rip the thing off. I tried to put it behind the roll, but it didn't work. What's funny is that I asked other people at breakfast, and they all agreed and said the same thing. I just don't think anyone has thought to mention it before. Maybe someone from Intercontinental Hotels will read this and change the design going forward.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miami33029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is probably not the hotel you want to stay at for a long trip or if your traveling with family.

Simple rooms with bare basic features, but cost effective and great when your a tourist on a budget.!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKCTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are glad you found our hotel to be “cost effective and great”. We also appreciate your bringing your concerns to our attention. Guests like you only help make our job easier to address and fix them. I understand how frustrating it felt to not have everything in your room up to standards you may be used to. We pride ourselves on maintaining our hotels above brand standards. I am sorry for these inconveniences. I also wanted to let you know that we have listened to your and a few other guests and plan to “refresh” the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and upgrade the amenities later this year. I hope you will reconsider when you come visit in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have to say that my stay was a pleasant one. I was there for three nights on business. My room was clean and spacious. I had a sitting area with a small sofa and a small microwave and fridge at my disposal. At check-in I was greeted with a plate of cookies as well as a gift bag with a bottle of water, a granola bar, and a bag of Doritos. Nice touch.

The computer system was down when I checked in, but they verified my reservation off of a checklist and just asked that I come back later to provide a credit card and sign in. They really kept the inconvenience down to a minumum.

The complimentary breakfast was hot and plentiful.

My only complaint was the lack of a restaurant and bar on the premises. They do have a Chili's restaurant in the parking lot, but they closed rather early as it's in a business district.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for investing the time to tell other travelers about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear that for your first stay at the hotel that it was a “pleasant one.” We are glad that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and took advantage of our amenities such as the fridge and microwave that we offer in all our guest rooms. We are also glad that you were able to make time for our complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast that we serve daily. We continue to strive in working hard to provide our guests with well maintained rooms and quality guest services, and are glad that this was no exception even when our computer system was down. We thank you again for taking the time to tell guests about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

First, I want to give a warm thank you to two of your professional staff members, Cece & Ester for the warmth and courtesy both of you have shown me. In my opinion, a hotel is just a room. It's the supporting cast the makes one feel at home and that's what I felt while I was here. The room was very clean, but what I appreciate most when traveling is peace and quiet and I got just that. Whenever I come to San diego, this will definitely be my first choice in accommodations. Thank you once again. I highly recommend it to any travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattuproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESV, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you for posting such a positive review of our facility. On behalf of everyone here at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley, we would like to thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to hear that our goal of providing exemplary service to our guest was met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We went to Del Mar to watch the ponies and stayed over at this hotel. It is located in a corporate area which is a plus and a minus. On the plus side, very little traffic noise, on the minus not much around it as far as restaurants. There was a small shopping center but everything was closed for the weekend. We drove into La Jolla which was pretty close and found a really good Italian restaurant and a great pizza place. The staff was freindly and accommodating. Get to the breakfast early, this room filled up with no place to sit.

The room itself was clean and large, almost like a suite.There was even a microwave and a double dorm size fridge. There was plenty of parking. Internet speeds were on the slow end but I have noticed that lately at Holiday Inn express hotels. I now bring my own broadband2go with me to avoid it. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riskman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be “very nice” during your visit to Del Mar. As you mentioned we are located in a corporate area but are also fortunate to be in a central location where places such as La Jolla, Mission Beach, as well as Sea World and Legoland are all just a short drive away. We strive to work hard in providing guests with quality guest services and well maintained rooms and are appreciative you took notice and told other travelers. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of the amenities in our rooms such as the microwave and refrigerator and glad that you were able to have our complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. We again thank you for investing your time in reviewing and recommending our hotel and look forward to having you as a guest in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
2.0 km away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.7 km away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.4 km away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.3 km away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Address: 5925 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing