We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE ....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Ranked #224 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE ....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We were going to be in town for one night and found this location for a cheap price through AAA. We requested a non smoking room, as I walked in thru the door the nasty odor of smoke smacked me in the face. I immediately turned on the ac and left for a night out in town hoping the smell eventually would go away.
I came back and it was still the same, I was so fed up That I gathered my belonging to check out. I expressed my concerns to the receptionist at the front deck and she offered to upgrade my room. I wa so disgusted, there was no way I was sleeping there. I requested a refund but she told me that because I checked in at 4:00 pm and it was now 12:00 am she couldn't do it. I gave her the keys and walked away. Never will I ever stay here again and do not recommend it, spend the extra cash for something decent.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaligirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    39
    31
    47
See reviews for
59
47
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were very close to cancelling our reservation before we checked in after reading some of the reviews other people had written. We decided not to and it was a good decision. Reception staff were very friendly; they even allowed us to check-in early. They were very helpful with directions too. Our room was good - very clean. There were a lot of families staying there while we were there. The area is a bit dodgy, but the hotel itself felt safe. Breakfast is only pastries but it was adequate. Some fresh fruit would have been a welcome addition. Good places to eat nearby and Sea World is only a 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

When I walked into my room thought it was decent looking...searched for bed bugs ok fine didnt find any went to bed & slept good. Next morning, I wake up there was BED BUGS just walking around on the sheets I picked up the covers and saw little baby ones too!!! eeeekkkkkk called the office right then and they said they will give me a diff room for one more night for cheap...I LEFT !!! what makes you think the other rooms dont have any??!!!

Room Tip: find a another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaviKaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin, Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
In response to this review, I would like to say that the Heritage Inn San Diego has a pest control program in place in order to keep our guest rooms pest free. Unfortunately, despite our best intentions, incidents such as this one will occur for reasons beyond our control. Once we became aware of this particular bed bug infestation we responded immediately and had the room treated by a professional pest control company. We will continue to be pro-active in this regard to minimize such occurrences in the future. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused to those involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Booked this through priceline and it's a shame they would even have this hotel on there! Don't let the nice pictures fool you, they must have been take ages ago! Upon arrival the staff was rude and uninviting! I asked for a non smoking room and I got a smoking room. When I asked if I could change it, the lady rudely stated that they were full for the night. The smell of smoke was penetrated in the room. The bed was dented in the middle, uncomfortable, old, and found myself rolling in it throughout the night. The bedsheets were torn and overused. There was no hairdryer in the room, and was told I had to leave a $10 deposit at the front desk. They gave me an antique. The tv was jacked up, the surrounding felt unsafe and the complementary breakfast was just cheap coffee and yesterday's donuts that must have been on sale that morning. Not to mention that I woke up with what seemed like tick/ant bites all over my legs and ribs. They must have a bed bug problem and that is disgusting!! I can overlook a few things, but the service, the room, the smell, the bed, and the location were all terrible!! DON'T STAY HERE! Trust me! Spend a few more dollars and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moychuntaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

The hotel is in a very frightening area. The lady in the office was outside texting, and smoking while my booking company was trying to reach them. It took over an hour for them to finally answer the phone. We needed two beds not just one. They said they did not have anymore rooms available. We lost almost $100, because they would not refund our first night. Thank goodness we drove instead of taking a shuttle or we would have been stranded! The rooms smelled really bad! We were in the room for two minutes, and ran out gasping for fresh air. Their pictures on the website looks nothing like the hotel. The parking lot looked very scary, I was afraid to park my car there. This hotel is rather expensive for the very low quality. Please stay away!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krista1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Carpets were dirty - took a shower, stepped on the carpet, went back in the bathroom and left a dirty footprint. Got locked out of our room and had to get new keys - twice. Had to check out a hairdryer; when I used it, I blew a breaker - twice. Air conditioner was LOUD and woke us up every time it kicked on. Our beds were like sleeping on the floor while our friends' beds in another room creased everyone to the middle. There are 2 pillows on a queen bed, each being 12 inches by 12. Used condoms in the parking lot. Breakfast is a plain, tasteless pastry. Cost was relatively inexpensive but still not worth staying in this poor quality of a hotel. Go somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

OK. Where do I begin? We arrive and the office has no bathroom for the public and directs my 7year old to a store across the street. We get into the room and the air conditioner is broken. During the time we are there we have a guy digging garbage out of the garbage bins. I can't let my kids go to the pool because there are people (about 15 people) doing beer bongs by the hot tub. I went with my son and people were eating in the hot tub dripping cheese, drinking beer and alcohol and smoking cigarettes. Yes there was a sign that stated it was not allowed but obviously not enforced. I called to ask a question about a local activity and the front desk said let me call you back but never did. 75% of the people I've seen or met on these grounds has had a beer or alcoholic drink in their hand (even at 8 am in the morning). The management is in the office texting instead of managing the grounds. It's filthy and rather frightening. People are living here (at the hotel) I'm not quite sure how that is working out but the doors of the rooms are often wide open with music, alcohol, swearing .... I haven't seen any drugs yet but I suspect it's just a matter of time. NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY!!!! BEWARE. If you are single or an alcoholic and just want to find a party-you will probably love it here. If you are a family looking to build family memories of a great vacation steer clear or be ready to spend some time teaching lots of lessons.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notsogood60739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#221 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Property: Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Address: 3333 Channel Way, San Diego, CA 92110-5102
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn - Sea World San Diego Hotel San Diego
Premier Inn San Diego
Premier Inn Sports Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing