We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Omni High End Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #20 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2016

The Omni San Diego is your typical high end Omni Hotel. Fantastic location, great staff, and great rooms.

Arrival at the Omni is what you would expect, you're greeted by an enthusiastic and friendly doorman. The lobby at the hotel is impressive, with high end woods and stone greeting you as you approach the check-in counter. The staff at the front desk are extremely friendly and helpful. I was immediately offered a cold bottle of water by the other front desk staff while my employee processed my check-in information.

The elevator bank is a short walk off the main lobby and my room was located diagonally from the elevator bank on the 16th floor. This had me concerned at first. I entered my room and found that it was very large, with a large bathroom. I had a King size bed in my room, with ample desk space and a large flat screen TV. I never once heard the elevator, or the alert sound for the elevator during my stay. The hotel is very quiet, and the rooms are sturdy and keep out most noise.

The bathroom is tiled with a large, lighted mirror, and a tub/shower combo. The water was always warm and no issues with drainage. The only negative in the bathroom would be that there was a film of dust on the glass shelving on the sides of the mirror.

The fitness room in the Omni was lacking, very small with not a lot of free weights. Compared to the fitness room and spin studio at the Marriott Marquis and Marina, the Omni is sorely lacking.

The pool complex at the Omni is great, with a nicely heated pool. The small area beside the pool was closed off for construction. It wasn't entirely clear what that are would be used for, but it looked like it had a lot of potential.

The Omni has a sky bridge to Petco Park, which was obviously only open when there is a game, but it looked like a pretty cool option if you have tickets and are staying at the hotel.

The area around the Omni is second to none. The hotel is located just steps from the beginning of the Gaslamp District of San Diego. This area is populated with fantastic restaurants and bars. If you can't find something to do here, you won't find anything to do anywhere.

The location also puts you in good position to run outside if that's your thing. A sky bridge to the waterfront allows you to run along the boardwalk area of San Diego, affording you a great view of Coronado Bay as you run.

I would definitely suggest the Omni as an option to stay when you visit San Diego. I would call one of the Top 5 hotels in San Diego.

Room Tip: If you can, request a high floor with a view of Coronado Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Delighted to read your great review about your stay here at The Omni San Diego Hotel, especially the part about our friendly and attentive staff. We agree that our location is hard to beat especially now that baseball season is here. Nothing like a private entrance into the stadium to beat the crowds. We appreciate you taking time to post a review about your stay and hope we can be of service again soon.

Kind Regards
Frank Kastelz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 4,594 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2016

The Omni is a great hotel for business travelers visiting San Diego - especially if you are working out of the Convention Center. Located directly across the street at the entrance to the Gaslamp District, there are plenty of transportation choices which will take you all over the city. And the Gaslamp provides tons of dining choices. The hotel was clean and quiet. However remember the train tracks running in front if you open your windows - that will get a bit loud at night. But with the windows closed it was fine. Staff was efficient and courteous. No complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the convention center and bay. Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2WanderingLovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be efficient and courteous. Hopefully, you enjoyed your conference located across the street at the Convention Center and were able to unwind a little in the Gaslamp District afterwards. Thank you for taking time to post a review, we look forward to being of service again soon.

Kind Regards,
Frank Kastelz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I was here for a convention and was very pleased with my stay at the Omni. Very nice hotel right in the Gas Lamp. Right next to Petco Park as well. I will stay here during baseball season for sure!

Rooms were very clean and quiet. The carpet appeared to be a bit dated. I was on a high floor and had a killer view of the bay. The location is awesome if you want to hang out in the Gas Lamp. I did not check out the pool but I could see it from my window and it looked a bit small but was very nice. There is a McCormick and Schmick's in the Hotel which was nice. The room service was great as well!

If you drive, parking is an additional $45.00 a night so keep that in mind.
Overall a fantastic stay and I will stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Request a high room with view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the great view from your room. We are definitely a great place to stay as we have a private bridge entrance into the stadium for baseball games. We appreciate you taking time to post a review and look forward to seeing you for baseball season.

Kind Regards,
Frank Kastelz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at the Omni for a recent convention, and experience was extremely positive. ALL of the hotel staff...bellman, front desk, restaurant, housekeeping...were very friendly and genuine. The room was very clean, the location is fantastic! Walking distance to the Gaslight district and convention center...and easy to walk the harbor/marina park area as well.

Room Tip: Top floors have great views on the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Friendly and genuine is always what we love to hear! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to post a review about your stay with us at The Omni San Diego Hotel. We hope to be of service again soon.

Kind Regards,
Frank Kastelz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Very pleased with my one night stay at the Omni. The location leaves a bit to be desired as it is adjacent to Petco Park (the homeless congregate outside the park for some reason). But inside the hotel felt modern and clean. The room was well appointed with a nice bathroom. The Gaslamp area is right down the street with a host of restaurants within walking distance. The bell men were very courteous and helpful.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank DingusMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your recent stay. We are glad that you appreciated the accomodations and the courteous service of our staff. Our location next to Petco Park and the Historic Gaslamp District offers ease of access to both attractions and during baseball season our guest can enjoy a private bridge entrance into Petco Park. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be of service again soon.

Kind Regards,
Frank Kastelz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Everything as advertised, no surprises. Warm friendly service and quality furnishings and appointments. Location is excellent for the Gaslamp quarter and easy walk to Little Italy, the Convention Center, the Embarcadero, Midway and Maritime Museums. Two Decobike stations, one across the street and another around the corner. Bikes are well-maintained and easy to use as the area is mostly flat and lots of bike lanes for safe transportation around the downtown. Restaurants in the area were a little pricey but there were cheaper options nearby, as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bright and offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Glad you enjoyed our great location with easy access to so many great San Diego attractions. Thank you for commenting on our team's friendly service and for taking time to post a review. Hopefully, we can be of service again the next time you are visiting San Diego.

Kind Regards,
Frank Kastelz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the conference rooms, excellent coffee, tea, breakfast selections with protein! The views were fantastic. The bed extremely comfortable. Wifi access let me work from my room with plenty of charging. The business center was easy 24 hour access. I enjoyed the walk to the conference rooms and around the GasLight District, shops, food, fun!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Sounds like you had a great conference here at the Omni San Diego. We are delighted to know that everything was well received and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay and we hope to be of service again soon.

Kind Regards,
Frank Kastelz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 286 in San Diego
5,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $241 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing