We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not so great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The overall hotel was nice and it was in a great location but the rooms were small and pricey for what you get. The house keeping staff where very friendly and did a great job cleaning up my room. I had dinner and breakfast in the hotels main restaurant McCormick & Schmicks the restaurant décor had no elegance or style to it at all, not some place you would go for any special occasion. The breakfast was average as well as the dinner. The wait staff was friendly but a little slow considering the restaurant was not even a quarter full for breakfast as well as dinner. I stopped into the bar on the last night of my stay in the hotel and tried to order a drink at the bar and I had to wait approximately 10 minutes for the bar tender just to acknowledge me, not sure what that was about but it was not a very good feeling. I then paid for two drinks which cost $45.00 and the bar tender asked why I was leaving “REALLY”. The pool and the pool area was fun and it has a full bar and a menu for food. I wanted to try this hotel as it was really close to Petco Park and it is attached to the Petco Park via a bridge, very cool but overall I most likely will not be going back to visit the hotel or the restaurant or the bar any time soon. GREAT LOCATION but that’s about it for me

Room Tip: Make sure you check with the hotel front desk on your room size and bed sizes before booking the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear hrly-Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that our housekeeping team did great job of taking care of your room. I am sorry to hear about your food and beverage experience. I would like to hear more regarding your experience at the bar, you can contact me at joshua.karstens@omnihotels.com. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Josh Karstens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 4,462 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We had the ballpark package and the experience was superb from the moment we arrived. Friendly and efficient staff, great seats at the ballpark and everything done to smooth the way. Even peanuts and crackerjack. My husband walks with a cane and they put us in the best room close to what we wanted to do. Beautiful room with windows that open and robes to lounge in. Elegant with a great view.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Director of Oeprations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Deborah W-So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff care very much about our guests and will always do their best to meet everyone's needs! We hope that you will be back soon!

Sincerely,
Josh Karstens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The Omni is an experience you need to have once, while coming to visit San Diego. The hotel is immaculate, and the staff from valet to check in, to the bar is beyond friendly. They had every amenity we wanted and we were able to be relaxed our entire weekend stay!The easy access to the ballpark is what sold us on booking here, but then once you get into the quiet, clean rooms, the beds were so comfy we didnt want to leave! Great place to stay, its worth the price paid!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank angelicamJ5157QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear J5157QJ-Thank you very much for staying with us! We are pleased to know that we provided a relaxing stay and you enjoyed all the amenities we offer! We hope that you will be back to stay with us soon!

Sincerely,
Josh Karstens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Hotel has awesome location, very clean. Bedding was hard for my taste. Great hotel to visit petco park. Visiting team stays here. Great customer service, attempted to check in early but wasn't available.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Moparsisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Director fo Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Moparsisco-Thank you for the review! We are happy to know that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the hotel! Sorry we couldn't get you in early, we try to meet all guests requests. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Josh Karstens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I was in San Diego for a meeting being held near the Omni. I arrived early in the morning before my meeting and was given a room right away! As I am a select guest member ( which is with doing if stating at this property) they assigned me a high floor room with a wonderful view of the harbor and Coronado.

I stayed for several days and used many of the hotel facilities and services. All were very good. The housekeeping is excellent and done very quickly most mornings. Try the Happy Hour at McCormick and Schmidt's just off the lobby. The bartenders are excellent and the wines ( especially) top brands a very good value. I also liked the coffee bar of the lobby. Great spot in the morning.

Overall great choice in downtown San Diego, Gaslamp district.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Director fo Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Stan B-Thank you very much for your review and being a Select Guest Member! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and all that we have to offer! We will let the bartenders know they did a good job and we are also glad you enjoyed Zumbido, our coffee & wine bar in the lobby! We hope you will be back soon!

Sincerely,
Josh Karstens



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Paid extra for ocean view only to be on 6th floor across from pool, when asked to be moved was offered to pay $50 more for queen room. I paid for King Deluxe Premium oceanview so why must I pay more for smaller bed.They refuse to give me difference/credit since my room was not ocean view. 2. Pool was small, gross, no Sun cover and couple making out and no one to stop them. Coming in with our tiny rolling bag and no one would open door for us. Room clean for 1 night before we flew out but sadly many homeless outside hotel. Tip: Don't valet across street $15 garage 1min away TIP: Stay elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PHWHJetSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear PHWHJetSet-We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that our mission of providing uncompromising service and creating memorable experiences were not met. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and allow us an opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Sincerely,
Josh Karstens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Loved it! Great location, super comfy room with superb service! Everything walking distance, went to ball park, Coronado Island and everything all close by! Restaurants and bars all around, we loved it all,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank J7959UNlesliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Director of Operations at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear J7959UNlesliew-Thank you very much for staying with us! We are pleased to know that you loved it and we hope you will be back soon!

Sincerely,
Josh Karstens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,016 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,063 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $208 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing