We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,890)
Filter reviews
4,890 results
Traveller rating
3,194
1,192
309
133
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,194
1,192
309
133
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetco parkconvention centergaslamp districtgreat locationselect guestmccormick and schmicksbaseball fanpadres gamethe gas lamp districtball parkvalet parkingcorner roomdirectly across the streetwithin walking distancecoronado bridgetrain tracksbathroom door
Filter
Updating list...
4,560 - 4,565 of 4,890 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2007

This review is a little late, my fiancee and I stayed at the Omni for 3 nights in August as our last stop traveling the California coast from San Francisco. The Omni was a beautiful hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The lobby and room were very clean and well kept, and we really liked the modern feel. The room was quiet and enjoyable, and we enjoyed taking advantage of the complimentary beverage service, as all 3 mornings we were there, we had coffee and juice waiting outside our door right at the time that we requested on the cards the evening before. We weren't bothered by the trains or any other noise, and slept quite well in the super comfy beds. We did use the pool which was great, except there was a corporate function there and after that was over, a lot of those folks (who were pretty drunk) kind of took over the pool area so that ended that night for us. Great location near Gaslamp Quarter, overall great experience. Would definitely stay there again if we are fortunate enough to visit San Diego in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GEL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2006

This was a great hotel, in a great location. All of the gas lamp district is within walking distance. The hotel is right next to Petco park so it would be great for baseball games.

The only thing I would comment on is the slow valet service. Just be sure to call ahead for your car!

Tip: You can get this hotel for $99 a night if you use the coupon on travelzoo's website.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank purplelilacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Arrived at the Omni around 9pm and was able to check in quickly and get to our room with the help of a well mannered porter.

The rooms and amenities have all been previously well described so I won't repeat the task.

As this was a second visit to the Omni we decided to take a look around the hotel itself. It's a huge hotel, much more than I expected. In a couple of the public areas there is baseball memorabilia that would interest many fans I'm sure.

The pool area was immaculate but as it was too cold we didn't get the chance to use it.

We did however, use McComick and Schmicks for an evening meal. The menu was decent and the food was tasty and reasonable priced for seafood. I'm not sure I'd eat there again with so many other restaurant options nearby however.

Also used Morsels, the in-hotel coffee shop for the first time. This is the only area of the hotel that needs some attention and that would be the poor muffins and the oversweet hot chocolate. For a decent breakfast near the hotel we used the Cheese Shop on 4th Ave, it's a 10 min walk, and you're almost at Horton Plaza before you see it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank old_motters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2006

Although I agree that the Omni is a fine place, it exists for the convention crowd. The place is HUGE, and right across the street from the convention center. Like the Hyatt, the rooms are a tad small, all the same, and a clear afterthought when compared to the public spaces. If you are on a business trip, this is a fine place to stay. Otherwise, there are several other great choices in the Gaslamp quarter with equally fine locations that cater to the individual traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Robwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2006

Excellent service from Ramon, the manager and all of the hotel staff. We came for a quick overnight for our 20th wedding anniversary and Ramon gave us a big corner room with views of the bay and Coronado bridge. There is some construction going on nearby, and the train comes by periodically, but nothing that was distracting to us. Great bedding, nice bathroom, very clean and well kept. The free high speed (4mps on my laptop)internet access is what is allowing me to write this from the room. Great access to the Gaslamp Quarter just outside the front door, movies, shopping, great restaurants. Also a nice walk along the marina to Seaport Village. We came for 2 full days and did not rent a car, everything you need is just a nice comfortable walk away. Thanks to the staff of the Omni!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jayjoans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews