We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Italian Classic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Venetian

The Venetian
Reserve with OpenTable
The Venetian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #665 of 4,699 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Point Loma
Cross street: Chatsworth Blvd.
Description: The Venetian’s award-winning Italian cuisine (including what critics call some of San Diego’s best pizza), relaxed setting and casual atmosphere have earned generations of fans since Vince Giacalone first welcomed customers in 1965. Sons Joey and Frank proudly continue their family traditions, making sausage, soups and sauces from scratch and drawing a devoted, all-ages clientele. Highlights of the menu include bruschetta, seafood pastas, chicken and veal piccata, and thick- or thin-crust pizzas with either traditional or trendy toppings. Located in Point Loma, The Venetian’s friendly service and “Cheers” style vibe make it a favorite destination for date night, happy hour, dinner with friends or family celebrations. Seating includes the lively bar and patio (great for families and larger parties); comfy booths and banquettes; and a private wine cellar that can be reserved for parties of up to 16. Dinner nightly; lunch Monday-Friday; Sunday brunch; full bar.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Real Italian Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and I went for dinner and we could have found a better SD Italian dining experience. It is a Point Loma local rest. with very good food, service and atmosphere. Not a touristy place and not formal, it has a great people feel with impressive italian menu. One of the few good SD Italian resturants. We had Liquini and clam sauce and chichen marsala. Ashley we a winner as a server. We loved it. Going back soon! You can tell the regulars love the place by their interactions with staff and each other. May be loud for picky people but it was a very enjoyable evening. E' stato molto bello.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Get ready for a traditional italian, festive family dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My date and I met another couple and their parents at this family owned business. From the start it was true italian family with lots of conversation and those occassional loud laughters coming from groups of people enjoying the food and their company. The food orders passing you by from the kitchen wets your appetite for what is to come.

While enjoying my delicious grey goose martini (up with two olives) before dinner we were sat at our table in the enclosed patio area and had a delicios meal. It started with a basket of bread with delicious butter and an appetizer of clams in a white wine sauce, which were out of this world...I cant remember the last bowl of clams I had had that tasted so good...enough to want to soak up the juice with the bread it was so good. We also had an order of calimari, which came with two sauces a white cream sauce and a red marinara both delicious.

For our main course we opted to order the eggplant parmesean which came with a noodle and red sauce, and we had a seafood pasta which was tremendous. We opted to share our meals like a traditional family style meal and soon we were all enjoying our conversation and an occassional loud bellow of laughter we enjoyed from the adjoining tables when we arrived.

All in all a great night out with a friends and a promise to comeback and do it again. I deffinately will be coming back for those clams....delicious!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Diegos well kept seceret!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

A family owned resturaunt, this Italian resturaunt is a gem! Service and atmophere was very nice. Had the clam and scallop linguini and it was very good. Large tasty servings. We needed a large doggie to take home the leftovers. We always make this place amust when wr visit Ssn Diego.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bakersfield212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food - Great Family Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We've eaten at the Venetian many times and have recommended it to family and friends who all rave about the food. Their marinara sauce is divine and their pizza is out of this world! The restaurant is hidden in a Point Loma neighborhood but there is plenty of parking behind the restaurant and it's always busy because locals love to eat there too. The service is good - even when it's crowded and we love Julie the bartender on weekends. I guarantee you will love everyhing on the menu - great variety and old world italian family recipes. It does get loud because of all the people so I have to warn you if you're looking for a nice quiet meal. But if you're looking for a fun, lively restaurant with some of the best italian food in San Diego then this is the place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dynamite pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Mediterranean Pizza is absolutely the best. All ingredients are fresh and so flavorful. The Ceasar Salad is great with a lot of garlic to keep the angel if death away. Pours of wine by the glass are generous and not over priced! Great restaurant!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karonkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Venetian also viewed

 

Been to The Venetian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing