We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sushi, bad drinks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - CLOSED

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway at 5th Ave.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good sushi, bad drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The sushi was incredibly fresh, we had both sashimi and some rolls. If you can get there when they have their happy hour sushi the prices are decent otherwise for the amount of fish that actually shows up on your plate it would be overpriced.

We ordered their lychee martinis which were not even drinkable, overly sweet, and our server did allow us to exchange our 8 dollar martinis for 4 dollar beers with no effort lol. The server also said all of their drinks are overly sweet.

Can't say I would crave going back to this place but the sushi was definitely delicious.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bulldogluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    66
    24
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Sushi-lively place on a Friday night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We went there on the recommendation of our hotel concierge. We asked for a sushi restaurant in downtown area that was not too expensive. Between the 3 of us we had (2) green tea) (1) Sierra Mist, lobster spring roll, Uchi no salad, vegetable tempura, a crunchy calamari sushi roll and a shrim tempura sushi roll. Total check before tip was $50. We were there on a Fri. night, it was very crowded and loud. A lot of younger people 20-30 age. We did not have reservations and only had to wait about 15 minutes. We would go back, but would probably prefer a weeknight to avoid the crowds. Obviously a popular place

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank nonstop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Although it was tough finding a parking space it was totally worth it. My husband wasn't a sushi fan when we went in but at the end he loved it! The mochi is awesome!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food but very loud and busy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is the type of bar/restaurant college kids LOVE! It is high-energy with very loud, ecclectic music. The decor is very modern and unique. The lighting is dim, giving it more of a bar feel than a restaurant feel, but the food is really good. Go alone and sit at the sushi bar if you are not getting drunk with a bunch of friends to scream-talk with all night. Eeek!

Helpful?
Thank WeBJamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
“Sake n sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have eaten at RA several times and have not been disappointed ever! The service is always good and they have a great sushi selection! It's a great spot for date night or a night out with friends! The servers there will let you know their specialty rolls too..even if they aren't on the menu!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RA Sushi Bar Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing