We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience USS Midway Museum
from US$18.00
More Info
from US$18.00
More Info
from US$94.00
More Info
from US$131.79
More Info
Reviews (22,373)
Filter reviews
22,373 results
Traveller rating
17,346
4,499
470
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17,346
4,499
470
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flight deck aircraft carrier audio tour engine room bridge tour floating city hanger deck flight simulator military history self guided own pace piece of history great museum midway museum on display top deck answer questions
Filter
Updating list...
1,465 - 1,470 of 22,373 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Get your ticket online since the line was long.pretty entertaining self tour. Gives you goosebumps. Worth the visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank rgeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our third trip to San Diego we finally found time to visit the USS Midway- wow- we didn't know what we had been missing. Start by checking Groupon for discounted tickets- it won't save you a ton, but it will save you a few dollars per ticket and will also allow you to skip the ticket line at the museum.
It's an aircraft carrier, so the museum is enormous. Wear comfy shoes! Be careful about what you take in- they check bags at the entry. I would suggest eating lunch and then visiting the museum- there are very limited food options on the aircraft carrier. The cafe serves very basic fare at attraction prices, and there is a Starbucks (the app and gift cards aren't accepted), but you'll get better food and prices by eating before you arrive.
Plan for about 4 hours to see most of what the museum has to offer, more if you are a history buff. There are several main sections to visit, so grab a map and audio tour devices (they have different audio presentations for children), and make a plan for what you would like to visit. Tours of the bridge leave constantly, about every 8 minutes, and last about 30 minutes. The tour line starts on the north side of the flight deck, and is really worth the time.
The museum has quite a bit to keep kids interested and busy, but they may not have the energy and attention span to visit everything in the museum. They will undoubtedly get the most out of seeing the planes on the flight deck, sitting in the trainers on the hangar deck, and trying the flight simulators (extra fees for flight simulators).
Also, if you are over 5'10" watch your head and expect to do a lot of ducking!

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We took a tour of the USS Midway with our son and his friends. This ship is a treasure trove of US military history. The docents were all very well informed of the types of military aircraft they spoke about. Some even were retired pilots who clearly loved their planes. You have numerous jets on the flight deck you can tour, plus the whole ship top to bottom! It really brings home the sacrifice our military personnel make, and the sheer amount of grace that goes into running such a massive aircraft carrier. Go take a tour, or walk the decks of this majestic ship, you will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Marla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

It was a cold windy day so we didn't spend as much time as we would have liked on the outdoor exhibits. Volunteers were giving informative talks at some of the aircraft on display. Overall very interesting part of American naval history with more to see than was possible in an afternoon.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Cath064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Really amazing what you can see here and imagine how it would be back when it was in operation. All the jets and planes that they have in here make it amazing and a must see.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Juanbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews