We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Back again, and will be back again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #11 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Altadena, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Back again, and will be back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Simply my favorite hotel in the area. Next door’s Hilton Garden Inn, which offers a decent dinner and it is just across the Homewood Suites parking lot (they share). The breakfast at Homewood is substantial, the coffee decent and the rooms are spotless.

Love the beds. Plenty of pillows. Staff friendly, efficient and personable. Not my first stay here nor my last. I came here with my teenage daughter and hubby on a college road trip, but have stayed here for business too. I get free wifi with Hilton Honors.

Within minutes of major San Diego attractions and San Diego State University, but not “too close” if that makes sense. So free parking, not overloaded with people. My preference, may not be yours.

Room Tip: The front desk with give you plenty of maps of local attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aswessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    292
    79
    31
    11
See reviews for
700
194
39
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had four people in our room and on our reservation yet hotel staff never gave enough towels or wash clothes. We had to ask everyday for more and sometimes we would get them and sometimes not. When we got to our room after long day of travel the sink in kitchen leaked all over kitchen floor. The only thing we really liked about this hotel was the included breakfast and related service staff of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MER09151977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on vacation and we were happy with the hotel overall. We had a king suite. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only odd thing was the layout with the bathroom door - if you opened the door from the toilet/shower area it nearly touched the sink outside - open carefully if you think someone might be brushing his teeth or plan to apologize for clobbering him with the door.

The crew at breakfast did a great job of keeping things cleaned and stocked though a little more variety for fresh fruit might have been nice. There were grapefruit and apples everyday. A couple days there were oranges and bananas. There were also make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, another hot selection that varied (sausage, potatoes, biscuits/gravy), oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, muffins, bread/bagels.

The noise level in the hotel was mixed. It was far enough from the highway that we didn't hear road noise, but we faced the courtyard with the pool so heard the revelers in the hot tub until they closed it down at 10 PM. The hallway doors were nice and tight, but the walls still pass quite a bit of sound - babies crying, people on the phone. One morning they started doing some very loud work in the hallway outside our room at 10 AM, one way to make sure we got out and about after a late night I guess.

The location worked well for us since we visited Legoland north in Carlsbad and spent time south in San Diego. The free internet in our room worked well, but wi-fi for the iPod would have been nice without having to go down to the lobby.

Room Tip: Second floor was nice, but if you face the pool don't plan to sleep before 10 PM if there are pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RXD
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Good experience coming back a second time. Nice room, very comfortable. Front desk staff do a great job. Only strange thing is that when I left (at 3 AM) there was no one at the desk. I did get the receipt by e-mail the same day but still...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Spring Break in San Diego to visit the zoo and Sea World. Enjoyed the hotel's extra space (2 bedroom suite) and great hot breakfast. Everything very clean and even though we were on the 4th floor (smoking areas, yuck!) The smell was not in our room, however, I would have appreciated being asked if why minded or were at least told that we were in the smoking section but did not find out until I asked why there smell of smoke in hallways. Anyway, staff very friendly and great service.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor if not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Had a great time in San Diego and this hotel was the best.
Nothing was too much bother for the staff.
Many thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Ca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is California and the smoking rooms must go! I will admit that it was my mistake when I went to choose this hotel that I picked a room on the top (4th) floor the day before I checked in via E-check in, not knowing it was smoking. I just find it hard to believe that properties have smoking rooms to begin with and on the top floor, which is desirable to many travelers.
I didn't realize my mistake until after I unpacked. The room did not smell that bad, but the hallway was atrocious. To the Hotel's credit, they did offer to move me the next day, but at that point I did not feel like packing up and moving.
The hotel is decent, but showing some signs of needing updating. Older cabinets, carpeting and cracking grout in bathtub.
I agree that not having wireless in the room is a little odd. The room was the standard Homewood Suites layout with nothing to make the property stand out. You do need a car for this location. Nothing around it at all.
The breakfast had a nice selection and the evening meals were not bad either.
Definitely a "can do" staff attitude as well. I was debating my rating, but as of now, I will still rate it as very good.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor unless you smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingMan5989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing