We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CathyMichigan
Michigan

Great Location, Safe, and Best Price Around

Review of Island Inn
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 10, 2008
I was attending a conference at the conveniton center and was looking for an inexpensive hotel close by. I was very happy to stumble across the Island Inn which isn't really a hotel but a type of short to long-term housing unit. They do rent out rooms by the week for tourists and the price could not be beat. The room was clean, but very basic. There was a fridge, microwave, and a basic bed. The location was phonominal, we were only a three minute walk from the convention center or the trolley. The location was very safe and the tenants in the Inn were quiet and kept to themselves. I am a light sleeper, and I did hear the sounds of someone walking on the floor above me but not for too long and I was able to sleep fairly well each night. The staff were pleasant but one clerk, Chris was outstanding. He helped us with each and every request quickly, and with such kindness. We asked for extra pillows, needed directions to the local grocery store, and had questions about laundry and trolley stops. Chris went the extra mile with every request we had. The Island Inn does have a non-air-conditioned small fitness room, a small library, and an inexpensive laundry room. If you are not looking for frills or up-to-date rooms, in other words, if you don't mind basic living conditions, you will love the Island Inn. I saved so much money, I was able to shop, shop, shop!
Date of stay: October 2008
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$459
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • StayForLong
    C$404
  • Hyatt.com
    C$393
0.5 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
C$605
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$613
  • Official Site
    C$545
  • Expedia.com
    C$613
10.2 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
  • Hotels.com
    C$584
  • Vio.com
    C$525
  • Expedia.com
    C$583
9.5 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 14 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I really can't fault this place. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 weeks in February. We had had a bad experience elsewhere and just happened to come by the Island Inn by chance, but we were so glad we did! It was so affordable - it worked out to be $40 p/n plus tax for the whole room (we were paying $70 for a hostel with shared facilities!) The room was spacious with a private bathroom and kitchenette. It was extremely clean. It is more like a live-in temporary accommodation for most people therefore it was very quiet. The area was fantastic! Not on the 'strip' of the gas lamp area so it wasn't noisy, but the main street was right round the corner. You also have use of a private gym, and library. There's always someone on the front desk so you feel very secure. The only downside is it only has a microwave, no oven. But there is a fridge and toaster! Need to have your own plates and cutlery as well.

The owner has 2 other properties - J street is also very nice, although I didn't stay there, but the other one which I can't remember the name of was awful in an awful area.

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Dunroamin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 22, 2014
Google Translation

Room tip: Escolha quartos no terceiro e quarto andar, mas verifique a questão do funcionamento do wifi!
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 4, 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews