We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sheela S

Comfortable, long term lodgings in ideal location

Review of Island Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 22, 2016via mobile
For the past four years we have been visiting San Diego during the months of December and January. Island Inn, which is located in the Gaslamp area and walking distance to the Seaport Village, is an affordable, pleasant place to reside in. The lodgings are airy, bright and comfortable. We couldn't ask for anything more.
Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$487
C$425
  • Expedia.com
    C$424
  • Tripadvisor
    C$424
  • Priceline
10.4 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$164
  • Booking.com
    C$177
  • Agoda.com
    C$153
  • Expedia.com
    C$184
5.5 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
C$466
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    C$467
  • Algotels
    C$446
  • Priceline
8.9 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Pool
C$222
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$260
  • Agoda.com
    C$194
  • Hotels.com
    C$260
5.7 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
C$583
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$582
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$566
  • Hotels.com
    C$582
0.5 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
C$267
  • Expedia.com
    C$258
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$234
  • Hotels.com
    C$258
9.5 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
C$476
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$475
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$388
  • travelup.com
    C$787
10.2 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$182
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$118
  • Priceline
13.7 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$1,511
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$265
  • Algotels
18.6 km from Island Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2015

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here.
I've also stayed at the J St Inn, which is another in the same group.
This one has the edge, as it has a roof terrace.
They are both just great value.
The rooms are basic, but perfectly clean. Free Wi Fi in room.
This time we were lucky enough to even have a balcony.
It's quite a busy area, so there is quite a lot of traffic noise, so I would recommend taking some earplugs.
Also, the window blinds let in a lot of light, but that is my only criticism.
The reception staff are all very friendly.
It's great to have the kitchen facility. Just a short walk to Ralphs Grocery Store.
There is a fridge and a microwave, but no plates, cutlery, or toaster.
Just take some plastic or disposable ones, no problem.
You have to pay a $200 deposit, which is refunded when you leave.
The minimum stay is 7 nights. That means that you have to pay for 7, even if you don't actually stay for that long. Even if you only stay 3 or 4, it's still worth it as it's still far cheaper than anything else in that area.
It's right in the middle of the Gaslamp District, and Horton Plaza is just up the road.
Theses amazing residencies are the reason we keep visiting the city!
We were on vacation, but a lot of the other guests were longer term. Everyone just gets along very well.
There is no maid service if you're only there for a week, not sure if that's the same if you're there for longer.
There is a very reasonably priced laundry facility and a small gym on site too.
If only there were more of this kind of affordable accommodation in other cities.

Room tip: Ask for balcony room, but there are only 2 or 3.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SimoneSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel in itself is not magnificent, but given the price and location, it is a great value. It is a clean basic extended stay place for students, and young professionals who do not want to pay daily 200-300 bucks but still want to enjoy the proximity to san diego downtown, historic gaslamp district, and the train station. Note that if you are a "light" sleeper, you should not rent here because it is really close to the train station and you will hear the beeping all night long.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malak_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Good hotel, much cleaner than hotels in the surrounding area. Lots of space in the room. Prices were low around $80-90. Staff was very nice and very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2007
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank KSKInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I was in Island Inn San Diego from 27 march until 04 april for a Congress in Grant Hyatt only four blocks far. The localition is wonderful: next the Convention Center and the Gaslamp Quarter where was bars and restaurants(is possible to go by foot!). Therei 's a a large supermarket (Ralph's) two blocks far.The roorm is ok, large and clean. There was wi-fi free and one computer with intenet conetion use free in hall. The staff is kind, especialy ERIC, a very good guy!!

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CSDSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Having stayed seven times at the J Street Inn one block down (see those reviews, too) , I decided to try the Island: It's even better!
For the unbelievable weekly rate of $299, this place is equal to any Comfort or La Quinta Inn, right in the Gaslamp area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, check-in and out are a breeze. The streets around the Inn are quiet, but you are minutes walking from all the restaurants, trams, and major bus lines.

My room was large, very quiet (good windows and walls), the bed was comfortable, and bath fine. There is a table, small fridge, microwave, and kitchen sink. Unlike the J St., the bathroom has a sink as well. The shower was great, with lots of hot water.

Date of stay: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews