We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“both good and not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #120 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Arkansas, U.S.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“both good and not so good”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed here for several days while at a convention when I could not get into the hotel booked by my group. the location in terms of access to food--many wonderful restaurants within 2 blocks. The hotel itself had both pros and cons; depends on your needs/ability to sleep through noise. The room was very modern--cool yet one might find it "aesthetically cold" with concrete floors. I usually like botique hotels (it qualifies) or b & bs with some warmth but decided to branch out of my typical comfort zone on style. Pics are accurate as are most reviews. I found the young staff very helpful. My room was on the second floor in the front. This is a hip location/area for young adults on the weekends (some actually come from OC and LA) so the bar next door with the very loud live band was absolutely crazy (not the hotel bar in the basement with salsa lessons on Thursday nights, no problem at all) so noise was outrageous on the weekend nights only accompanied by lots of street traffic and drunks outside the hotel on the weekend after the bar closed waiting for rides. Yes, the windows need to be double paned or they need to provide white noise generators. The AM noise was not all that bad. The shower was cool and fun, very comfy bed with great sheets and lots of fluffy towels and a nice robe, good free breakfast with special deals, but the highlight was the espresso maker and the coffee. I went to a CVS pharmacy in the mall only a half-block away (also great shopping if that is your desire or need anything including nice clothes in a pinch on a business trip) to get some milk and probably came close to overdosing on lattes with that wondrous machine. The company makes a mean espresso maker and they had such quality coffee pods I ordered more coffee online and am considering splurging on that espresso maker for home (sigh). Despite the noise I would stay again but might want a higher floor room (city view was not particularly panoramic and comes with street noise). Consider the pros and cons for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbrooks227, Guest Relations Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
DrPatty-

I'd like to thank you for your feedback about your stay at The Keating Hotel. I'm happy to hear your overall visit with us was pleasant. I understand the noise can be an issue, especially on the weekends, and I'm terribly sorry if it caused any inconvenience during your stay. We know this can be an issue and try accommodate each of our guests as best as we can, we also make sure to place a set of ear plugs in every room in the case we can't move you to an interior room. I'm glad that you enjoyed all the amenities we offer, the Lavazza machine is definitely a great feature in the room! We look forward to seeing you again, be sure to contact your personal concierges for your next visit and we'd be happy to place you in an interior room to avoid the unwanted street noise.

Bests,
Christos Brooks
Director of Standards and Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    165
    84
    87
    84
See reviews for
49
366
46
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you want a quiet night in, probably not for you. Great location if you want to be in the middle of all the action. Happy to help staff. Wonderfully decorated rooms, very modern. Not for kids, No doors around shower which was fun but a little drafty. Water pressure definately could have been better. Espresso machine in room was cool along with all the other high end electronics TV, DVD, Radio, Alarm Clock. Very clean and sylish

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvlng4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I really liked this hotel! In San Diego for a conference but was too late to get a room at one of the show hotels situated on the waterfront. So I got stuck at the Keating. Great staff. Great room! Cool rooms. Free wifi. Rainfall shower head. In the perfect location for resturaunts and shopping. Fantastic scones delivered to your room at turn down. I wii definitely stay here on my next trip to San Diego

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I can honestly say that I have never stayed in such a terrible hotel. The noise level from the nearby bar prevented any thoughts of a good night's sleep. The rude reception staff found it surprising that I would be concerned about the noise. The interior of the room resembled that of a prison cell and the open shower ensured privacy was not unachievable. Horrendous!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Jule911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very nice for single people or couples with out children, great location right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srmzor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I loved this hotel, staff, location, food, ect. My only complaint is the street noise. The windows are old and need to be upgraded to doubled pane glass; if not triple. So if you are easily bothered by outside noise or are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Loved the vibe of this hotel, had a very slick urban feel that would be appreciated by design aficionados. Yes, it was fairly noisy on the 4th floor overlooking the street, but to be expected in an entertainment district and it added to the overall vibe.
Check in was very friendly and personalised.
Loved the real espresso machine in the room, a real find considering how difficult it is to get real espresso in the States.
Only disappointment was that the included breakfast wasn't provided, but I was fairly happy with just the coffee anyway.
Not suitable for prudes or people wanting a standard hotel experience.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a perfectly quiet room, so choose another hotel if you want this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Property: The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing