We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing service - a fabulous little hotel!”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #68 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The most amazing service - a fabulous little hotel!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were blown away by the superb check-in service, complete with a lovely glass of wine, and all conducted while we were seated on a comfortable settee in the lobby -- no standing at a front desk! The hotel staff came to us, with an iPad in hand, and took care of everything, from check-in to making a dinner reservation for us. Unbelievable! The room was incredible, too, though we could have used more outlets for all our device chargers. The check-out service was just as easy and prompt and efficient. Again, we did not go to a desk, they walked up to us with an iPad in hand. Wow!
The neighborhood is filled with very nice restaurants, bars, etc, all within walking distance, but if you don't want to walk, they will take you and/or pick you up in their private luxury SUV.
We will make a point of staying here again, for sure. We travel extensively and this hotel was a wonderful surprise - extraordinary service and an all-round delight.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    412
    173
    90
    64
See reviews for
96
568
76
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you like feeling like you're VIP on your trip, then the Andaz is your hotel. Complimentary Escalade...Complimentary Breakfast (if you have AAA)....or $25 room credit for food and beverage (if you have costco)...VIP wristbands for the rooftop party and Ivy nightclub...Complimentary wine when you're checking in to your room...Customer Service oriented staff, who know you by name and provide a concierge service 24/7. Incidentally, Katsuya is opening at this property in the middle of February. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Perfect beautiful room, very clean and modern, perfect location and the right size. Priced well too.... But - let me be very clear - the endless stream of police cars, ambulances, Harleys, and drunk people carries on all nigh. The only thing missing was garbage trucks turning dumpsters (maybe tonight). Definitely stay here but bring earplugs!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

this hotel is great all around. great check in, GREAT customer service, but the rooms are suuuper small. we had a respire room on the 5th floor. the room was a very modern, clean look. the shower was awesome, but sink area kind of awkward. the beds are very comfortable and clean. all around stay was great but wish we had more space. and the $35 per day valet is a little ridiculous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilsnipper102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, KS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at the Andaz for 4 nights in January. From the pulled up to the curb to when we pulled away for the last time, the service was great. Very friendly and helpful throught out our stay.
Our room was great. Very trendy and comfortable. The area is very busy at night. Lots of resturants, bars and clubs within a couple of blocks. For us "old" people it was a bit much, we would prefer a less rowdy area though it was convenient.

Andaz has a first rate night club on the roof. Luckily the young woman that checked us in put us in a room that was not under the club so we were not disturbed by that scene. Very intuitive and smart on her part.
We would stay at another Andaz for sure though we might consider a more serene location for our next stay.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are not into staying up til 3am. they can put you in an area that is far away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liztiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

From the moment you pull up to the Andaz you are treated very well. The staff has Ipads that check you in and offer complimentary wine or drinks upon checking in. There is a fabulous aroma when walking in and throughout the hotel. The staff is super attentive. The rooms are a tad small , but are very modern and immaculate. They have a restaurant, wine bar, club and 24 hour room service. There are also snacks and sodas that are complimentary in the room.

This is not a hotel for families because of the club inside the hotel. Also the $35 Valet parking is a tad steep. Overall it is a an awesome hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelR00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was my second time staying at the Andaz. I went back because I remembered being comfortable, the hotel being classy and in a perfect location. I arrived late, 10pm and was greeted quickly by the valet. I walked inside and I was greeted warmly and put in a great room. The bed was so comfortable, that I was deep asleep in a matter of minutes.

The amenties were top notch, the bathroom a great size with a large shower was just what I needed. This visit I did not use the pool but knew it was there and remembered it was great! I plan on staying back at the Andaz at the end of next month and look forward to some good shut-eye, walking the gas lamp district, and going for a late night swim. I have stayed at other San Diego Hotels like the W, Hyatt, Hilton, and Embassy Suites... this hotel ranks up with the W and above the others.

Andaz pulls of the botique type feeling with all the modern amenties business travelers are looking for. I woke up early the next day, my car was waiting, the free coffee was hot, and I was on my way after a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try to face South for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing