We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rooms are poorly designed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #82 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Rooms are poorly designed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in a "suite", which was far smaller than most standard rooms at a hotel. So tiny you had to step outside to change your mind. :-)

As there was no door to the "connecting room", it was fairly useless as a "suite". The light from the "connecting room" where I was working or watching tv, kept my husband from getting to sleep.

The noise was abominable. Oddly, they promote yoga which is hard to do with the sirens and traffic noise outside.

We were on the top floor.

Getting to the tiny closet one had to squeeze between the bed and the closet. the closet was high so the door could swing open above the bed. The bathroom as tiny, the shower dangerous to get in and out of. The sink was essentially in the bedroom, not the bathroom.

The room also had a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. Does one call that a kitchenette?

The staff was pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    559
    181
    73
    35
See reviews for
149
540
125
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As I write this review, I am currently in my hotel room here at the Sofia hotel. The fact that I could not wait another second to write this review should show just how horrible and shady this place is. The Sofia hotel is something like a boutique hotel which has masked its lack of customer service and shady business ethics with decent lookin decor and overly scented rooms (probably to cover up some
Sort of foul odor). As of February 20th, 2012 this hotel is basically right next to a construction site. If i were to look out the window, there is literally a guy with a jackhammer standing about 5 feet from me. It is definately not a great feeling to wake up after a night out in San Diego, to the sounds of what can only be described as a World War 2 reenactment at 9AM. What really turned me off was the fact that I (or anything of the 3 travelers I checked in with) , received no warning from ANY of the staff when we were checking in. When I notified the front desk, I was told that my complaint would be forwarded to management and that there was basically nothing they could do because I had already paid for the room. Basically..." we're take your complaint seriously but we already have your money so thanks for letting us know how you feel". Here's the kicker...this place is independently owned and operated! Which is probably one of the biggest reasons why i decided to stay here, thinking that there customer service would be unmatched. Don't be fooled though, the way my complaint was handled...the Sofia hotel might as well be another corporate machine.

Also the rooms do appear to seem clean but my opinion was quickly changed when I found myself standing in a shower with a clogged drain.

To sum it all up...I'm glad I'm getting out of this place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent four nights here in a room with 2 double beds (three before our cruise and one day after). The rooms are very, very small but quite comfortable. We did not have space to open two suitcases at the same time. Sink is separate from toilet/shower. Nice shower, comfortable beds, nicely decorated. Well appointed with fridge, microwave, laptop safe, etc. The TV is a flat screen but small (maybe 18").

You can hear people talking in the hallways and door banging closed. Had to phone the desk to ask our neighbors to turn down their music and lower their voices as we were having trouble getting to sleep.

A resort fee (about $8) is charged which gives you "free" wifi and 2 small bottles of water. Front desk staff and door man friendly. Note there is NO concierge and the doorman is nice but not all that knowledgeable. Housekeeping staff are not friendly nor do they say hello. Strong smell of bleach in showers.

The hotel is well located only a short walk to the USS Midway and harbor and opposite direction to the Horton Plaza. About 5 blocks from the Gas Lamp area. On site restaurant is not open for breakfast during the week but there are other choices within blocks. The Transit Store is across the street so it is very easy to buy a transit pass (good for the bus and trolleys), obtain maps and route guides. The Westgate and Westin hotels are a block away.

Our room would be fine for a single or couple but do not recommend it for families. Dod not try the yoga studio but a channel on TV runs a continuos yoga session which would be nice but our room was too small to try it. There is no other fitness facility.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location for gaslamp and horton plaza. The happy hour was wonderful and great place to eat and the drinks were really good. The bed is very comfortable and the room clean and upgraded. We will definately stay again.

Room Tip: the parking is expensive so plan on that. Our room was great on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this historic downtown hotel. The boutique room is small but has all the amenities you expect--coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron. Even a laptop safe. The bathroom had only one overhead light--no light in the glass-enclosed shower. Showerhead is dead center above you with low water pressure. Bus stops are nearby, harbor, Gaslamp District, 5th avenue restaurants walking distance. Nice stay. Only drawback--we were hit with an amenities charge at check-out. Fee for wi-fi, coffee maker, microwave, refrig, etc. Kind of ridiculous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Sofia Hotel and were very glad we did. The room was small but very comfortable and nicely appointed. The shower was very green - low water pressure but the ultra soft bath sheets more than made up for the deficit. The location is great since it is just blocks from the Gaslight District.
The front desk staff was super helpful and friendly.
I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachplum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was a beautiful hotel with a great location, only a few blocks from the Gaslamp District. Walking distance to lots of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Also walking distant to the ocean and other main Downtown SD attractions.
I loved that the hotel was pet friendly. Although our room was a bit small, it was fully equipped and decorated beautifully. I loved the old, industrial feel to the building. I would definitely come back.
BTW, some other reviews were complaining about the Greyhound stop. Yes, it is right behind the hotel, and I'm sure it could get noisy. However, my room was on the opposite side so I did not hear any noises at night. Make sure you request a room facing the other street.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the street opposite to the Greyhound station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#54 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#49 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
The Horton Grand Hotel
#52 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing