We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gfm7fn8a9r
Irvine, California

Stay at Sofia

Review of The Sofia Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 30, 2024
For the price I am not sure it was worth it. TV had no sound, air in room was stale and difficult to regulate, room was too small and cramped. For the price and access to other hotels in the area, I am not sure I would stay here again.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$265
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    C$219
  • Vio.com
    C$199
  • Expedia.com
    C$246
4.9 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$595
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$594
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$506
  • Expedia.com
    C$538
9.9 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$522
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$522
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$493
  • Official Site
    C$522
8.3 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
C$627
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$635
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$497
  • Priceline
    C$627
9.7 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
C$580
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$580
  • Hyatt.com
    C$415
  • Expedia.com
    C$580
9.0 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$492
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$474
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$405
  • Hotels.com
    C$474
18.0 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$124
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$163
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$92
  • Expedia.com
    C$139
13.2 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (2,240)
Filter reviews
2,241 results
Traveller rating
889
778
319
150
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
889
778
319
150
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaslamp district rooms are small convention center walking distance per night bathroom floor gas lamp location is great bottled water balboa park front desk staff street noise uss midway parking waterfront conference trolley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,241 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2024

Stay was average as can be. Room was very small, though not a problem being an old hotel. Not exactly sure why they have a resort fee to may for a typical hotel gym and wifi. Staff are fine, though fairly unengaged. Bed super comfortable and clean. I probably wouldn't stay at this property again. Just seemed like an old downtown style hotel without a lot of charm of an old hotel.

Room tip: The rooms are a bit noisy from outside street noise.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 362ryanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 26, 2024

The hotel itself was quaint and perfect for our little weekend getaway. We loved that there was a Starbucks right next to the hotel, and most things were within walking distance or a quick Uber ride! We had a pretty view of the city and a little peak of the water. Overall great stay!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank g02b0bj8mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 20, 2024

In the middle of Downtown, but relatively quiet. Walk to the Convention Center, bus in front of hotel, and trolley one block north. Great place to stay. Take the bust to Balboa Park, it is great. The staff had a knack for getting into the room for cleaning while we were away.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DJNelson53570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2024

Great location, clean rooms, dirty and crowded gym (at least between 5-7 am) and noisy air condition. Would stay again for a convention, but bring outdoors running shoes.
There are no water bottles, tea or snacks in the room

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shn2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 9, 2024

Location is perfect, staff is very kind and professional, cleanliness in rooms and shared areas, service, it is a quite place to stay.
Highly recommended.
I will stay there any time I visit SanDiego Downtown.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msldermatopato2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews