We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dmitry Steinsapir
Austin, Texas

Nice hotel, great value

Review of The Sofia Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
I was surprised by the size of my room and the level of friendliness of the hotel personnel. The only issue was the wifi signal.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$387
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$373
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$140
  • Priceline
    C$323
1.5 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$505
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$505
  • Vio.com
    C$405
  • Hotels.com
    C$488
8.3 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Pool
C$273
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$285
  • Agoda.com
    C$208
  • Official Hotel
    C$285
5.1 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$364
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$363
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$299
  • Hotels.com
    C$363
0.8 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$151
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$176
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$127
  • Expedia.com
    C$166
13.2 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$582
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    C$462
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$475
  • Priceline
    C$550
18.0 km from The Sofia Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (2,238)
Filter reviews
2,238 results
Traveller rating
887
778
318
150
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
887
778
318
150
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaslamp district rooms are small convention center walking distance per night bathroom floor gas lamp location is great bottled water balboa park front desk staff street noise uss midway parking waterfront conference trolley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,238 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hotel in an old building that has been updated. Very close to USS Midway, and other downtown activities

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GRUMPERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We njoyeed our stay at the Sofia. Good location - near Gas Lamp, PETCO and Midway. Room was clean and comfortable. Good value for the money.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterkearney2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 21, 2024

Place was ok is not much to really say
Had bad a bad experience
Customer service is also bad and some need better training

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank princy1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2024

I would have given an excellent review but at the time of our visit, the combination of one-way street and construction closing streets may it difficult to arrive to the hotel on our initial arrival. This is not a fault to the hotel but it was an inconvenience.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nesi61177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 14, 2024

Let's start with the negatives - BIG CONS: room stinks from a stale, nasty odour... and the property did not advise when booking of construction work that was going to be taking place right above our room from 10.30pm to 5am!!!! I find that sneaky and we should get a partial refund for that. Location of this property is good for downtown and the harbour but it is a bit rundown with a lot of homeless people in the surrounding area (not the hotel's fault, for sure). I think I enjoyed more staying by the beach on another property. We decided to spend a little more money for a larger bedroom, which inside was lovely and had a very useful microwave. Comfy bed, good WIFI, A/C and TV worked fine (although the US has so much advert time, that you barely watch the programme in the end). Coffee machine was terrible, especially for the money paid. Not exactly sure why they have a resort fee added to the bill as there are no real amenities. Staff are fine, though fairly unengaged. Just seemed like an old downtown style hotel without a lot of charm of an old hotel.

Room tip: larger rooms are better than the smaller ones.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom10650705478
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews