We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4.7 out of 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

The Fairmont Grand Del Mar is an absolutely beautiful property. One thing I would recommend to any guest is to take some time to walk around the hotel and it's grounds to admire the marvelous design and architecture. It is reminiscent of a Spanish palace, making you feel as if you are staying in accommodations that housed only the top notch of royalty.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed a corner room during our stay and it was wonderful having the extra lounging space as well as having a quaint little balcony that faced the morning sun to enjoy after waking up.
The real winner in the room is the bathroom. A large soaking tub, separate glass shower, private water closet, and an additional closet beyond that. The bathroom alone could be a standalone guestroom! It's an excellent and unique amenity this property has and at the end of the day, who doesn't love an awesome bathroom?

The Spa was very nice. Service and treatments were well executed and the amenities were ample and high class. It was what you should expect a spa to provide at a 5-star hotel.

The food and service at The Clubhouse Grill were phenomenal. We loved the live music and the more laid-back ambiance, which was a nice break from the more proper and polished environment of the majority of the property.

A few gripes I had with the hotel were the service at the Cafe Centanni and the adult pool. Both instances unfortunately involved rude and unpleasant service that really stuck out since almost everything else about the hotel was superb!
Another improvement that could have been made was the climate control throughout the property. San Diego typically doesn't get too cold but of course in the winter months after the sun goes down, it can get pretty chilly; and the hotel didn't do much when it came to adjusting the thermostat in all of the public areas to compensate for the colder temperatures, which was a bit uncomfortable.

However, those instances aside, this hotel definitely an excellent place to have a nice couples getaway, family vacation, or even to take some personal time to get away from your day-to-day responsibilities and treat yourself! A near perfect property, I give the hotel a 4.7 out of 5 (of course rounding up to a 5 star rating on TripAdvisor), as it only had a couple aspects of service and ambiance that could have been improved on.

A special thanks to some of the staff members that took great care of us during our stay:
- Chantille & Marco at The Clubhouse Grill
- Sean at Addison Restaurant
- Jeff at the front desk

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and providing feedback from your recent visit. We weredisappointed to learn about the service shortfalls at Cent'anni and the Relaxation Pool. It is through communication such as yours that we are better able to monitor and improve services for our guests and to assure that our team members are adhering to our standards. Aside from those instances, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

Opulence is the word of the day here. This isn't a hotel, it's more of a resort. A grand, golfing, dining experience which is outstanding (with a few caveats which I will get to later). The rooms are fantastic, clean and offer views which are quite memorable. The Spa is great as well, earning a well deserved listing as one of the best in the country.

Of course, nothing is perfect unless you ask my wife. So here goes:

1. It's pricey. I guess if you hadn't guessed it you will when you sit down and enjoy a rather good, but rather expensive, glass of wine. Everything here is that way. Get over it, if you want cheap downtown San Diego isn't that far away. Hint: Go to the GRILL which is at the 18th hole - much less expensive.

2. What if you don't golf? Well, the pools and the adult hottub is great (salt water no less) but I tried out the hiking trails. There are several to choose from but you can access the Canyons State park from the resort and hike theirs. Now I was warned NEVER to do this by the staff there as "too many people get lost" but I am in Search and Rescue and we treat such warnings as dares. Anyhow, the trails are just fine but one thing they don't tell you is that the golfers DON'T KNOW YOU ARE THERE. Golf ball dodging is now a sport, apparently.

3. Food: The cafe is "blah" to be honest, and a bit surly to boot.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review and constructive feedback from your recent stay with us. We are happy to have provided you with fond memories and the feeling of opulence, for which our resort certainly eludes. We hope to welcome you back for another stay to enjoy the numerous hiking trails and luxurious spa visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully decorated in the tradition of Fairmont, located on lovely grounds, and the Amaya restaurant has very attentive staff and management.
After a visit at Amaya in December 2017 when things weren’t as “Fairmont perfect” as expected, today we tried Amaya again, for my mom’s birthday, and we had a wonderful time.
Everything was perfect, down to the smallest detail, and so representative of Fairmont’s culture of excellence in customer service.

Our server Adan was very professional, helpful, and attentive, he made excellent coffee, hitting the spot, took the order impeccably well, and made sure our entire experience was wonderful to the last detail. He checked on us multiple times to make sure everyone in our group was well taken care of.

The hotel was as beautiful as ever, with tasteful decor and amazing flower arrangements. It makes your heart happy to be in such lovely surroundings.

We are thrilled to see that Fairmont Grand Del Mar and Amaya’s management pay attention to, and care enough about, customers’ comments, to make things exquisite for their customers. It truly shows that the Fairmont culture of excellence and high quality customer care are more alive than ever!!

It is clear that Adan and his management take great pride in taking those dining at Amaya to a new level of excellence!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ploosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind review and kudos to Adam and our team. We are thrilled to have welcomed you back to Fairmont Grand Del Mar and Amaya for your Mom's birthday celebration and are happy to hear you fully enjoyed your time. We take great pride in providing our guests with excellent service and are happy to know it was felt throughout you visit. We hope to welcome you and your family back for many more celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Expensive. This cameraman could never pay the price of a night for two people, with meals, at the Del Mar Grand Fairmont.

I calculated the room cost with three meals at a $1,000 a day/night.

Beyond the luxury of the room and world-class meals, the Fairmont offers golf, a spa, swimming, and horseback riding.

Trails lead through a canyon and fragments of coastal sage. The highway goes west to the shopping of Del Mar and the warm water beaches.

An international destination, Americans who can afford this luxury will see visitors from all over world. The staff speaks many languages.

To see a video I made of the room, copy this exact phrase --

The Luxury Of A Room At The Del Mar Grand Fairmont

Go to YouTube, search the phrase.

Room Tip: Study the room and views to decide -- golf greens, canyon, gardens, patio?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VideoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are very proud of our diverse team and welcome visitors from all around the world to enjoy our little slice of San Diego heaven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the resort. While it was apparently completely full, we still felt like we had the place to ourselves! Wonderful suite, service, meals, spa and golf course. Will definitely return!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TulsaGal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are thrilled you were able to enjoy some of the San Diego sun during your recent winter getaway. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for more fun in the sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I absolutely adored staying here; I wanted to move in and live here forever. Completely stunning hotel, gorgeous rooms, impeccable customer service. I cannot recommend this place enough! It's also close to a range of local sights, like the San Diego Zoo and you must go to La Jolla, a local town, it's beautiful. Plus, you can see sea lions and seals relaxing on the shore and swimming in the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pink-star-355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the wonderful review! We agree... the hardest part of the stay is the departure. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Great Property!
This property is wonderful! We chose this location for our annual Family Vacation. This year there were 21 of us,, 4 families - the grown ups, and the ‘kids’ who are all 26-34. Everyone loved this property. The rooms and suites are huge. The service is warm, friendly, and exceptional. The food is excellent.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank 2arnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are thrilled to have been your choice for your recent family vacation! We hope you enjoyed your quality family time spent on property and hope to welcome you all back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,126 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,228 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,051 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: C$612 - C$1,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing