We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$241
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$199
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$227
US$209
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$263
US$230
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$389
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,941)
Filter reviews
1,941 results
Traveller rating
1,711
141
46
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,711
141
46
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamaya restaurantadult poolrelaxation poolchocolate covered oreosprado suitefour seasonsfamily poolamazing propertytennis courtspool servicerooms are beautifulstar resortturn down serviceroom servicesouthern californiaconcierge deskfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,941 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2018

Opulence is the word of the day here. This isn't a hotel, it's more of a resort. A grand, golfing, dining experience which is outstanding (with a few caveats which I will get to later). The rooms are fantastic, clean and offer views which are quite memorable. The Spa is great as well, earning a well deserved listing as one of the best in the country.

Of course, nothing is perfect unless you ask my wife. So here goes:

1. It's pricey. I guess if you hadn't guessed it you will when you sit down and enjoy a rather good, but rather expensive, glass of wine. Everything here is that way. Get over it, if you want cheap downtown San Diego isn't that far away. Hint: Go to the GRILL which is at the 18th hole - much less expensive.

2. What if you don't golf? Well, the pools and the adult hottub is great (salt water no less) but I tried out the hiking trails. There are several to choose from but you can access the Canyons State park from the resort and hike theirs. Now I was warned NEVER to do this by the staff there as "too many people get lost" but I am in Search and Rescue and we treat such warnings as dares. Anyhow, the trails are just fine but one thing they don't tell you is that the golfers DON'T KNOW YOU ARE THERE. Golf ball dodging is now a sport, apparently.

3. Food: The cafe is "blah" to be honest, and a bit surly to boot.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger patio
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for the review and constructive feedback from your recent stay with us. We are happy to have provided you with fond memories and the feeling of opulence, for which our resort certainly eludes. We hope to welcome you back for another stay to enjoy the numerous hiking trails and luxurious spa visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully decorated in the tradition of Fairmont, located on lovely grounds, and the Amaya restaurant has very attentive staff and management.
After a visit at Amaya in December 2017 when things weren’t as “Fairmont perfect” as expected, today we tried Amaya again, for my mom’s birthday, and we had a wonderful time.
Everything was perfect, down to the smallest detail, and so representative of Fairmont’s culture of excellence in customer service.

Our server Adan was very professional, helpful, and attentive, he made excellent coffee, hitting the spot, took the order impeccably well, and made sure our entire experience was wonderful to the last detail. He checked on us multiple times to make sure everyone in our group was well taken care of.

The hotel was as beautiful as ever, with tasteful decor and amazing flower arrangements. It makes your heart happy to be in such lovely surroundings.

We are thrilled to see that Fairmont Grand Del Mar and Amaya’s management pay attention to, and care enough about, customers’ comments, to make things exquisite for their customers. It truly shows that the Fairmont culture of excellence and high quality customer care are more alive than ever!!

It is clear that Adan and his management take great pride in taking those dining at Amaya to a new level of excellence!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ploosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for the kind review and kudos to Adam and our team. We are thrilled to have welcomed you back to Fairmont Grand Del Mar and Amaya for your Mom's birthday celebration and are happy to hear you fully enjoyed your time. We take great pride in providing our guests with excellent service and are happy to know it was felt throughout you visit. We hope to welcome you and your family back for many more celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

Expensive. This cameraman could never pay the price of a night for two people, with meals, at the Del Mar Grand Fairmont.

I calculated the room cost with three meals at a $1,000 a day/night.

Beyond the luxury of the room and world-class meals, the Fairmont offers golf, a spa, swimming, and horseback riding.

Trails lead through a canyon and fragments of coastal sage. The highway goes west to the shopping of Del Mar and the warm water beaches.

An international destination, Americans who can afford this luxury will see visitors from all over world. The staff speaks many languages.

To see a video I made of the room, copy this exact phrase --

The Luxury Of A Room At The Del Mar Grand Fairmont

Go to YouTube, search the phrase.

Room Tip: Study the room and views to decide -- golf greens, canyon, gardens, patio?
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VideoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are very proud of our diverse team and welcome visitors from all around the world to enjoy our little slice of San Diego heaven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the resort. While it was apparently completely full, we still felt like we had the place to ourselves! Wonderful suite, service, meals, spa and golf course. Will definitely return!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TulsaGal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

We are thrilled you were able to enjoy some of the San Diego sun during your recent winter getaway. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for more fun in the sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018

I absolutely adored staying here; I wanted to move in and live here forever. Completely stunning hotel, gorgeous rooms, impeccable customer service. I cannot recommend this place enough! It's also close to a range of local sights, like the San Diego Zoo and you must go to La Jolla, a local town, it's beautiful. Plus, you can see sea lions and seals relaxing on the shore and swimming in the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pink-star-355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! We agree... the hardest part of the stay is the departure. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews