We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bas P

Exceptional hotel bar one member of concierge desk team

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 5, 2024
The hotel is exceptional across the board. The grounds and pools are lovely and facilities excellent. Rooms are great quality as well. We felt very welcome with the exception of the concierge person (a lady whose name I am sorry I cannot recall) on 26.12.23 who was terribly grumpy, seemed to struggle with my English accent (hello this is meant to be a hotel taking people from around the World!) and was really rather unhelpful to us. In contrast the older gentleman I spoke with on 27.12.23 was absolutely delightful, as was the front desk staff and pool staff.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Jan 16, 2024
We sincerely appreciate your glowing review, highlighting the exceptional qualities of our hotel, from the charming grounds and pools to the excellent facilities. Your commendation of the rooms is truly gratifying.

However, we regret to learn about the less-than-pleasant experience you encountered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. We are committed to providing a welcoming environment that transcends linguistic barriers, and it is disheartening to hear about the challenges you faced with the communication. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will address this matter promptly.

On a brighter note, we are delighted to hear of the positive interactions, as well as the commendable service from our front desk and pool staff. We value your feedback immensely and will use it as a catalyst for continuous improvement.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even more memorable stay in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$435
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$435
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$412
  • Expedia.com
    C$434
19.0 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$467
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$467
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$414
  • Expedia.com
    C$466
17.7 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Beachfront
C$210
C$164
  • Booking.com
    C$194
  • Priceline
    C$194
  • Expedia.com
    C$184
20.1 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
C$266
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$266
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$231
  • Official Site
    C$234
12.1 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
C$476
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$476
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$382
  • Hotels.com
    C$474
18.5 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
C$224
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$246
  • Agoda.com
    C$181
  • Hotels.com
    C$246
19.8 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$283
  • Vio.com
    C$198
  • Hotels.com
    C$264
21.0 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$142
  • Priceline
    C$178
  • Agoda.com
    C$119
  • Hotels.com
    C$181
11.8 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$584
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$584
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$551
  • Hotels.com
    C$582
25.6 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (2,380)
Filter reviews
2,381 results
Traveller rating
2,034
201
69
42
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,034
201
69
42
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amaya restaurant adult pool prado suite chocolate covered oreos four seasons tennis courts family pool star resort pool staff turn down service beautiful property southern california lobby bar rooms are large self park fitness center addison
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,381 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2024

Are beautiful property with great staff. It has large rooms and well-kept grounds.

The lobby bar is excellent, with attentive bartenders who mix excellent cocktails.

The spa is also a superb experience.

I highly recommend the Fairmont Grand Del Mar.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CSBelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2023

The rooms are spacious and beautiful. We had a balcony looking at a center grassy area. It was quiet and lovely!
Enjoyed the holidays and the ambiance! We were given a ride to their club house restaurant and the waiter was very attentive. I highly recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2023

It was our first time staying at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. We were welcomed by Jim at the gate when we first arrived. He was such a warm hearted gentleman. He informed us that we should expect the best and if anything less to let them know. Once we got to the hotel, we were promptly greeted by Neil at the front desk. He was very pleasant and so welcoming as well. Throughout our entire stay, Neil made sure that we were enjoying our stay and if there was any hiccup, he made sure it was corrected and took care of us. We took advantage of the adults pool, where it was nice and quiet. The grounds were well taken care of and so lovely to take a stroll. The Clubhouse Grill was amazing. We sat outside the patio for lunch and the views of the fairway were spectacular. The spicy Margarita made by Anakaren was on point with the fish tacos. We were able to talk to Neil and Kai, the manager, before we departed back home. It was really good to know they listened and cared about our stay. We felt like family. We will definitely come back again, especially because of Neil, who went above and beyond his great customer service. Thank you so much again for everything! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank theoneSaeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2023

This review covers the Spa, not the hotel. I set up a special massage for my girlfriend and specifically told the spa to use my card for payment. Instead they charged my GF's card. I left a message for the manager and never heard back. Embarrassing all the way around. You expect more from this place.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Thank you for your valuable review, as well as the very detailed notes we can take back to our leadership team to look into. Our Director of Guest Experience would like to chat with you and has sent you a private message about your stay. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to being able to host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2023

We spent 3 days at the Fairmont Grand Del Mar and had a fantastic time. The condition of the facilities are excellent as well as the service. Breakfast at Amaya was excellent as well as room service. We took advantage of the hot tub one afternoon, but it was a little too cool to lay out or swim in the pool. We went up to the golf course and sat in chairs above the 18th green to watch the golfers finish their round and take in the scenery of the canyon. The Christmas decorations were nice too.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dthunder2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews