We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John N

VIP experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 14, 2024
Very inviting room. Very quiet.all the amenities you would expect from a stay at a Fairmont Hotel. Beautiful golf course and challenging. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent!! The staff was very attentive to your every need. From the greeting upon arrival, to transport to the golf course and back and checking out. I’ll be back!
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Very enjoyable experience! The golf course is in excellent condition and challenging. The rooms...
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Jan 16, 2024
Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$374
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    C$375
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$358
  • Booking.com
    C$375
19.0 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$455
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$455
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$402
  • Official Site
    C$417
17.7 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Beachfront
C$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$299
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$215
  • Expedia.com
    C$284
12.6 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
C$433
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$433
  • Official Site
    C$385
  • Hotels.com
    C$431
18.5 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
C$237
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$260
  • Agoda.com
    C$199
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
19.8 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$164
  • Agoda.com
    C$113
  • Expedia.com
    C$154
11.8 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$287
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$229
  • Hotels.com
    C$257
21.0 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
C$367
  • Priceline
    C$354
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$210
  • Expedia.com
    C$353
26.3 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
C$398
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$398
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$386
  • Expedia.com
    C$398
25.6 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (2,379)
Filter reviews
2,379 results
Traveller rating
2,033
201
69
42
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,033
201
69
42
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amaya restaurant adult pool prado suite chocolate covered oreos four seasons tennis courts family pool star resort pool staff turn down service beautiful property southern california lobby bar rooms are large self park fitness center addison
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,379 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2024

Fantastic hotel, gorgeous grounds, and over-the-top beautiful holiday decorations! The staff was so kind and attentive, our rooms were lovely and well-appointed, and my SIL raved about how wonderful her spa treatment was. I’ve stayed at hundreds of hotels around the world, and this property is truly a standout. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2024

I stay at the Fairmont Del Mar in San Diego regularly. The experience is always fantastic. I find the hotel and the grounds very relaxing. The staff (especially the concierge team) are tremendous. I look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank highexpactations1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2024

The hotel is exceptional across the board. The grounds and pools are lovely and facilities excellent. Rooms are great quality as well. We felt very welcome with the exception of the concierge person (a lady whose name I am sorry I cannot recall) on 26.12.23 who was terribly grumpy, seemed to struggle with my English accent (hello this is meant to be a hotel taking people from around the World!) and was really rather unhelpful to us. In contrast the older gentleman I spoke with on 27.12.23 was absolutely delightful, as was the front desk staff and pool staff.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bhaskarp2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

We sincerely appreciate your glowing review, highlighting the exceptional qualities of our hotel, from the charming grounds and pools to the excellent facilities. Your commendation of the rooms is truly gratifying.

However, we regret to learn about the less-than-pleasant experience you encountered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. We are committed to providing a welcoming environment that transcends linguistic barriers, and it is disheartening to hear about the challenges you faced with the communication. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will address this matter promptly.

On a brighter note, we are delighted to hear of the positive interactions, as well as the commendable service from our front desk and pool staff. We value your feedback immensely and will use it as a catalyst for continuous improvement.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even more memorable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2024

Are beautiful property with great staff. It has large rooms and well-kept grounds.

The lobby bar is excellent, with attentive bartenders who mix excellent cocktails.

The spa is also a superb experience.

I highly recommend the Fairmont Grand Del Mar.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CSBelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2023

The rooms are spacious and beautiful. We had a balcony looking at a center grassy area. It was quiet and lovely!
Enjoyed the holidays and the ambiance! We were given a ride to their club house restaurant and the waiter was very attentive. I highly recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews